T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

lenzomaru

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby lenzomaru » July 31st, 2012, 12:37 pm

made in India?? I have a test drive this afternoon for the Versa - will tell ya'll how it went.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 31st, 2012, 2:07 pm

lenzomaru wrote:made in India?? I have a test drive this afternoon for the Versa - will tell ya'll how it went.

Doh study that. My Jetta made in Mexico :drinking:
Doesn't instill confidence and not even cool enough for a cool story bro but it still working.

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2012, 2:21 pm

To me it not too important where the car is manufactured as where it is designed.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 31st, 2012, 2:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:To me it not too important where the car is manufactured as where it is designed.

O'Realy :shock:

Postby cinco » July 31st, 2012, 2:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:To me it not too important where the car is manufactured as where it is designed.

guess you would buy a Fiat 124 made in russia called the lada niva?

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2012, 2:37 pm

We have cars assembled in some rural area in Trinidad 25+ years ago that still standing the test of time while in the 90's we had a series of euro and american designed and manufactured cars that worth more in scrap than on wheels.

cinco wrote:guess you would buy a Fiat 124 made in russia called the lada niva?
Well wont you buy a Suzuki SX4 which in Europe is a Fiat Sedici?

And dont lie and say no because you have a Kia Rio (not the 2012 one), which says plenty.

Postby cinco » July 31st, 2012, 2:48 pm

no i wouldnt buy an SX4
what does buying a rio has to do with a SX4

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 31st, 2012, 3:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:We have cars assembled in some rural area in Trinidad 25+ years ago that still standing the test of time while in the 90's we had a series of euro and american designed and manufactured cars that worth more in scrap than on wheels.

cinco wrote:guess you would buy a Fiat 124 made in russia called the lada niva?
Well wont you buy a Suzuki SX4 which in Europe is a Fiat Sedici?

And dont lie and say no because you have a Kia Rio (not the 2012 one), which says plenty.

:popcorn:

Postby cinco » July 31st, 2012, 3:04 pm

i dunno wat plenty it says besides it is what i could afford brand new and spent the money there rather than buy a foreign abused

Postby Habit7 » July 31st, 2012, 3:09 pm

Doh worry with me boss, rock your car hard and dont worry about the haters like myself ;)

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 31st, 2012, 10:30 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
tourniquet wrote:I asked the question before and didn't get a response, but does anyone know whether or not there is some kind of law which bans multiple authorized dealerships :?:

I do not believe that there is any statutory law that prevents multiple authorised dealerships. Amar and City Motors were both distributors for Peugeot vehicles in Trinidad at one time. I honestly cannot say if the Amar dealership was a Peugeot sanctioned dealership, but for the short period when Amar still sold automobiles, I heard of less complaints from his dealership than from the City Motors one.

Most likely the decision concerning multiple dealerships within a territory lies with the automobile manufacturer/regional representative and not the government of the territory. I cannot see why if a dealer is willing to agree to the terms of the dealership franchise (proper representation and support of the brand) why the automobile manufacturer/regional representative would not grant the dealer the franchise.

see this is what I don't get. At first I thought that perhaps they think we're too small of a market for having multiple authorized dealers, but as you rightfully said, if the various franchisee holders are adhering to the automaker's standards, it really shouldn't matter who sells the product :?
**shrugs**

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 1st, 2012, 6:34 pm

Nissan Versa - $149,000.00 Some might balk at the price but comparing this to something like a Yaris I guess it's not too bad a price especially if you gonna be carrying taller persons in the vehicle.

Interior shots only.

AC controls for rear passengers.

Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on August 1st, 2012, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 1st, 2012, 7:02 pm

^^interior is too "childish" for me with all those big round vents and centre controls. the previous tiidas had a better interior

Postby Stephon. » August 1st, 2012, 9:41 pm

The Elantra interior gets uglier with time.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 2nd, 2012, 6:55 am

trini mk5 wrote:^^interior is too "childish" for me with all those big round vents and centre controls. the previous tiidas had a better interior

Agreed. Childish indeed! It's kinda cool they have vents for backseat passenger though.. Well for a car of that class.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 2nd, 2012, 6:55 am

Stephon. wrote:The Elantra interior gets uglier with time.

I thought I was the only one :lol:

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » August 2nd, 2012, 8:37 am

I prefer the Skoda Octavia interior in that price bracket. Cyah stand all that alien lookin sheit in d elantra AND velostar.

Postby cinco » August 2nd, 2012, 9:20 am

how is the rear leg room? if its anywhere big enough to fit a 6'+ person the versa @149 is a great buy

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » August 2nd, 2012, 9:34 am

Yeah the Versa should fit taller individuals. It's a no frills practical car that isn't too bad on the eye.

Postby Stephon. » August 2nd, 2012, 10:03 am

The versa isn't as bad/ugly as everyone makes it out to be.
I didn't like it as first but its not hard to look at on the road

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 2nd, 2012, 12:32 pm

cinco wrote:how is the rear leg room? if its anywhere big enough to fit a 6'+ person the versa @149 is a great buy

It does. With ease.

Postby cinco » August 2nd, 2012, 12:45 pm

anymore specs on the Versa?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 2nd, 2012, 12:48 pm

^^^Thas manual winders in the Versa?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 2nd, 2012, 12:51 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^^^Thas manual winders in the Versa?

Yeah for the back windows.

Postby cinco » August 2nd, 2012, 2:44 pm

the march is similarly equipped

Postby Habit7 » August 2nd, 2012, 3:36 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^^^Thas manual winders in the Versa?

Its a common concept in economy euros, the idea is that they hardly get used anyway and it can bring down the price.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 2nd, 2012, 9:27 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:^^interior is too "childish" for me with all those big round vents and centre controls. the previous tiidas had a better interior

Agreed. Childish indeed! It's kinda cool they have vents for backseat passenger though.. Well for a car of that class.

scotty it is not actually an A/C vent or one with the aid of the electronic blower as in the dashboard. This one is simply a suction fan that pulls the fart I mean air from up front into the back..

The versa is a sea of cheap plastic with giant plastic moulds to form parts and panels. The HR15DE has lower HP and torque than those found in roro Tiida's. The interior is really something littletikes had a major contract to design it seems.

For $149k? Its full of fail not too mention the plastic seat adjuster/lever would not last long as it would break off sooner or later.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 2nd, 2012, 9:38 pm

lancer 1.6

GLX - $196k
GLS - $210k
GT - $267k
Focus - $235k

The Focus mind you is totally out of this world.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 3rd, 2012, 7:26 am

That's the 2012 models? They're here?! They do look like mini mondeos :lol:
Which is a good thing in my opinion! and the ST is simply remarkable.

Postby Habit7 » August 3rd, 2012, 9:44 am

scotty_buttons wrote:That's the 2012 models? They're here?! They do look like mini mondeos :lol:
Which is a good thing in my opinion! and the ST is simply remarkable.

I only seeing the sedans though which look more stylish than a Jetta and more reliable. But I dont expect them to be hot sellers are they are very late in the game and quite pricey.