T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 12th, 2012, 12:38 am

aidan wrote:Anyone know the pricing for Ssangyong vehicles?

Dem things free.

Postby Habit7 » May 12th, 2012, 7:47 pm

check the first page, if there is an increase it aint much of of it

Ssangyongs are ugly but they ride great

jason3000

Re:

Postby jason3000 » May 18th, 2012, 1:08 pm

r3iXmann wrote:the price of them shitz still too high :shock:

why buy a camry or accord for $500k when i could buy a bmw? :|

Keep in mind though that the TOYOTA CAMRY has been the number 1 selling sedan in the USA for the past decade and right behind them is the accord, so much for BENZ n BMW.......no one can argue their superior engineering but the Japanese Know how to make a PRACTICAL vehicle...which explains why TOYOTA is the No.1 auto exporter in the world......and theres nothing the europeans can do to stop their dominance of the auto industry....TOYOTA>>>HONDA all the way!!!!

Re: Re:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 18th, 2012, 2:06 pm

jason3000 wrote:

Keep in mind though that the TOYOTA CAMRY has been the number 1 selling sedan in the USA for the past decade and right behind them is the accord, so much for BENZ n BMW.......no one can argue their superior engineering but the Japanese Know how to make a PRACTICAL vehicle...which explains why TOYOTA is the No.1 auto exporter in the world......and theres nothing the europeans can do to stop their dominance of the auto industry....TOYOTA>>>HONDA all the way!!!!

Just cause it sells in the US doesn't mean it really works here. Camry is #1 seller in the US based on price as well. Not necessarily because it's a better car than say a 5 series. Camry here we pay essentially for engine tax. When engine tax bumps a cheaper vehicle into the price realm of the usual luxury vehicles I see no problem in thinking about price shock and legitimately looking at buying the luxury vehicle once one can afford it.
If given the choice between a BMW 5 series and a Toyota Camry I'd easily take the 5. I don't care about how it sells in the US.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 18th, 2012, 2:50 pm

just picke dup my elantra... well wifes elantra... really freaking gorgeous car dreedddd

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 18th, 2012, 4:37 pm

MadCrix wrote:just picke dup my elantra... well wifes elantra... really freaking gorgeous car dreedddd

Congrats

Postby Stephon. » May 18th, 2012, 4:40 pm

MadCrix wrote:just picke dup my elantra... well wifes elantra... really freaking gorgeous car dreedddd

Congratulations man! Picking up a new car is really a fun experience.

Re: Re:

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2012, 7:42 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
jason3000 wrote:

Just cause it sells in the US doesn't mean it really works here. Camry is #1 seller in the US based on price as well. Not necessarily because it's a better car than say a 5 series. Camry here we pay essentially for engine tax. When engine tax bumps a cheaper vehicle into the price realm of the usual luxury vehicles I see no problem in thinking about price shock and legitimately looking at buying the luxury vehicle once one can afford it.
If given the choice between a BMW 5 series and a Toyota Camry I'd easily take the 5. I don't care about how it sells in the US.

Plus the Camry that they sell here aint the same that they sell there.

The 5 series that they sell here though, is very close if not the same, GPS and all.

Postby cinco » May 18th, 2012, 9:45 pm

come on man its the internet
pics or you lie!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 19th, 2012, 1:45 am

some reasons why u should not compare a camry with a 5-series (usdm):

1) its a fwd japanese economy mid-size sedan
2) it cheaper
3) it has less features
4) it has smaller engine options

for TTDM:

1) Camry is a Toyota
2) its one of the approved official vehicle of the GORTT
3) it have a 3.5 v6 option for the price of a 4-cylinder 5-series
4) it have resale value
5) trunk spoilers look good in them as well as imported chinese black coloured reverse sensors (can be installed separately)
6) its basically a lexus without the badge
7) camry in injun world = you've made it big despite the frozen $5M account in CIB....I mean FCB

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 23rd, 2012, 5:21 pm

I visited the NM Showroom and checked out the Versa and March.

My thoughts:

The Versa is priced at $153k. Previously, the Tiida sedan were priced at $149,500. and $153k the latter having alloy rims.

Well this Versa comes with the HR15DE engine instead of the HR16DE in the Tiida. The 1.5 unit now produces less HP than the JDM roro Tiida’s and Wingroads imported into this country. At 99ps and 134Nm of torque, I must say this is disappointing.

The vehicle has a very narrow equipment listing which is:
Dual airbags, abs/ebd/eba brakes, wheel covers, power windows in the front only, no center console instead it has a dual van suction system pulling air from the front to the back. It has steering wheel mounted audio controls for the double DIN CD/MP3 deck with aux input connected to 4 meager speakers.

The vehicle dashboard and door panels (inserts) are all full of retrograde plastics that are hard and shiny to the eyes. The door panels and most if not all of the plastic components inside the cabin feel extremely cheap and it doesn’t look like it will last long as the door handles (both on the outside and inside) seems like it can easily break off. Infact, I did not like the way the handle operated whilst opening the door so I actually had to double check it to make sure I actually did not break the thing.

Interior room is unimpressive for a vehicle boasting a 2600mm wheel base and the puffy dashboard full of hard plastic feels like it was swollen over time in the sun doesn’t offer any degree of spaciousness in the front. The seat adjustment handle felt so flimsy I did not bother to adjust the seat for fear of breaking it off.

The trunk is more or less the same size of the Tiida and now for my most disappointing report:

The vehicle seems as though it was flash painted under a mango tree somewhere in a remote village in Rio Claro because the edging was poorly done and the bonnet (the underneath) remained in the natural base white colour with red paint spray scattered unevenly across the underside. Even the engine bay is white with paint spray on the left and right apron as well as the shock towers. The radiator panel does not connect to the to fenders it seems, it is a short panel that abruptly ends which is above the bumper re-inforcement. The setup in the engine bay is weird.

Overall, this car is another clear indication of the rippoff we have to settle for in sweet TnT since this car should actually cost less than the outgoing Tiida but it is priced the same or it is actually priced more versus the wheel cover Tiida sold previously for $146k approx.

Postby noshownogo » May 23rd, 2012, 7:26 pm

Versa (Tiida) ugly! Didn't look twice

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » May 23rd, 2012, 9:53 pm

that is the versa right?

allon4

Postby allon4 » May 23rd, 2012, 10:44 pm

What the heck is that? a car?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 23rd, 2012, 11:17 pm

Its indeed a step back in design for Nissan. Perhaps as huge as the step forward made by Hyundai with their new model designs last year!
Kinda looks like a cramped up bluebird sylphy :lol:
Not mentioned the third world feature pack that comes with it.. :?
I don't understand why though.. Why would N&M bring such a lacking vehicle here.. For sale... In the year 2012.. Seriously.. I think a B14 super saloon probably has more features.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 24th, 2012, 9:16 am

huyndai really stepped up their game about 5 years ago

great cars... still breaqkign in my elantra but so far so good. will update if anything unusal pops up

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 24th, 2012, 10:48 am

I was told the Versa was imported from India. We get the North American name but yet it is imported from India where it is known as the Sunny. In addition, Singapore has the same car but calls it the Almera.

I checked the VIN and it declared “N17” which means this is the successor to the N16 (almera). The confusing thing is, the Tiida replaced the B15 and the Versa/Tiida is a line by itself since in essence the Versa we get is actually the 2nd gen Tiida. Now the Sylphy which is actually the successor to the N16 Almera is still selling in Japan alongside the first gen Tiida/Latio. So Nissan effectively is selling two models now alongside each other which is the successor to the Almera and first gen Tiida. How odd is that?

The Juke and the March are equally as disappointing as the Versa especially the March which has a 1.2L engine but packed with 6 airbags and the only thing I am sure is of quality in that car is the lug nuts on the wheels because it is yet another horrendous story to tell and at $133k, I think not.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » May 24th, 2012, 2:02 pm

^^exactly

nex time i buy new, i wah bring it dung mehself. anyone know how?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 24th, 2012, 2:12 pm

only good thing in them showroom is de elantra :)

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » May 24th, 2012, 2:36 pm

^^ sir, surely you jest :D

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 24th, 2012, 3:55 pm

lol i serious and biased at teh same time lol

Postby honda hoe » May 25th, 2012, 8:56 am

crix is a fanboy lol

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 25th, 2012, 9:12 am

gasp... he lives!!!!

scene ho?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 25th, 2012, 11:02 am

the elantra is excellent but it still have some cheap materials inside and very unimpressive interior space for a compact vehicle (pretty much the only one) boasting a 2700mm wheelbase. That is mid-size car territory before. I guess that is the trade off you get but for 209k I would buy it. How is the fuel economy crix?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 25th, 2012, 11:51 am

well i got about 500k to a tank but tht was varying speeds due to recommended engne break in, it is rated at 40mpg so i will know after the first 1000k

btw elantra rated in teh top ten best interiors 2012 USA
http://www.thetorquereport.com/2011/04/ ... 10_be.html

Postby Habit7 » May 25th, 2012, 2:14 pm

Ssangyong Actyon Sports - $223,000

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 25th, 2012, 6:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

Ssangyong Actyon Sports - $223,000

First one that I have seen that didn't make me look the other way. Any specs on this model?

Postby Habit7 » May 26th, 2012, 7:46 am

Metallic Paint
Fabric Upholstery
Maximum Power: 114 kW @ 4,000 rpm
Maximum Torque: 360 Nm @ 1,500 – 2,800 rpm
2.0 Litre, 4 Cylinder Turbo Diesel Engine – 155 hp
Part-time 4WD with High and Low Gear Mode
Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS)
Driver and Passenger Airbag
6 Speed Automatic Transmission
Power Steering/Mirrors/Windows
18” Alloy Rims with 255/60 Tyres
Disc Brakes in front and rear
Central Locking System with Speed Sensing
Manual Air-Condition
AM/FM Radio CD Player with 4 Speaker System with Controls on
Steering Wheel for Audio and Bluetooth Phone System
USB and Auxiliary Port
Front and Rear Fog Lamps
Side Door Impact Beams for Optimal Protection from Side Collisions
Audible reminders to release Parking Brake, Shut off Small Lamps, Fasten Seatbelt and remove Key from Ignition
Double Wishbone Front Suspension System with Coil Springs
Five Link Rear Suspension System with Coil Springs
Ultra Rigid Frame for Greater Strength, less Vibration and Noise
Full size Spare Tyre & Original Alloy Rim
Original Floor Mats
Original Tray Liner

http://sterlingserviceltd.com/?page_id=50

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 26th, 2012, 12:17 pm

^^ sounds nice .... coil spring rear suspension should have a better ride quality

aidan

Postby aidan » May 26th, 2012, 1:44 pm

^^Went an check out the new Actyon, very nice! Actually considering it.