T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » February 15th, 2015, 8:06 pm

SS is on crack ...
Mazda 3 with an old engine?
no mazda 3 with a 2.0 skyactiv even tho the sales people admit they getting calls about it every day.

Postby cinco » February 15th, 2015, 8:09 pm

j.o.e wrote:
cinco wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
Renaldo25 wrote:Happy Carnival guys. Any word on the new mazda miata (mx5) and whether trini will be getting it?

As long as southern sales is the dealer..i doubt it
yunno with the global 1.5 engine it could happen

Technically yes but in reality...no ( I could be wrong but I'm probably not) remember we talk about SS vehicle ordering method before cinco?

I HAVE A DREAM

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 16th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Navara or Dmax???
And why???

Postby Ted_v2 » February 16th, 2015, 1:31 pm

Nav.

Because more common

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 16th, 2015, 2:52 pm

The nav has good power.....Haven't driven the dmax though. The new dmax is of a more recent design newer. The nav has been upgraded but the older model is still being sold at the dealership. The dealership for the dmax is Southern sales. ...GL with parts.... On the other hand the nav is like the tiida amongst vans. ... lots of parts. . With a higher likelyhood of being stolen

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 16th, 2015, 2:53 pm

The nav has good power.....Haven't driven the dmax though. The new dmax is of a more recent design newer. The nav has been upgraded but the older model is still being sold at the dealership. The dealership for the dmax is Southern sales. ...GL with parts.... On the other hand the nav is like the tiida amongst vans. ... lots of parts. . With a higher likelyhood of being stolen

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 16th, 2015, 3:03 pm

D40 navara pros:

resale value
Nissan > Isuzu
Massy > SS
more on the road so parts outside dealer should be easier to procure
faster/more powerful
cheaper

DMAX pros:

bigger
better crash safety (stronger van)
more luxurious
newer design
relative exclusivity
less likely to be stolen

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 17th, 2015, 9:11 am

Heard people saying that the D-max is as fast as a dead horse...I mean it's a van so speed really shouldn't be a deciding factor but is it really that sluggish?
The 4x2 Manual that is

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 17th, 2015, 10:36 am

I remember the days when we got the mitsubishi l200 2.5 turbo pickup 20yrs ago and people were saying that is one fast van and it had the credentials to back it up because 200nm peak torque output was best in class back in those days. Then the 2nd l200 came out with the intercooler turbo increasing torque output to 240nm and people were saying these are fast vans. Not to be outdone was the arrival of the refreshed mazda b2500 with the wlt motor producing a whooping 280nm torque and the nissan d22 frontier 2.5 2wd had like 304nm torque which was the speed van of the day. Fast forward to the previous ranger in 3.0tdci trim with 380nm torque and the power junkies got happy. Now the least powerful jap branded Thailand made pickup we get is probably the toyota hilux with 343nm torque all the way up to the top of the power ladder belonging to the ranger/bt50 3.2 with 470nm and the chevy Colorado at 500nm from a diminutive 2.8 displacement. To say that the new 4x2 manual dmax with a torque range between 280 and 320nm is slow which far exceeds turbo pickups of yore it's either 2 things: 1 they can't drive and 2 they're comparing the performance of a van to something else....apples vs oranges so may not be a fair comparison for speed. To this day, I sometimes drive a non turbo b2500 with 174nm peak torque in a twin cab 4x4 body and it's good enough. When I imagine a lighter turbo van with more than 106nm torque on tap to play with I could imagine the fun associated with such. To each their own I suppose.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 17th, 2015, 5:59 pm

Now you mentioned power and that is all good but what really makes the difference is power delivery. The question is where in the rpm range is all this power being made... is it low down, at the top end or generally throughout the rev range... Also how quickly does the system react after you put your foot down.
The nav feels dead below 2000 rpm but between 2k to about 3.5k it hauls. I haven't driven the dmax but I know it can't be as dead as the 2.5 normal turbo lux. :smile:

Postby pete » February 18th, 2015, 9:28 am

I have a DMax and we have a Navara in the office as well. The Navara at least feels much faster with a closer ratio 6-speed manual gearbox vs the 5 speed in the DMax but I don't drive fast and much prefer the DMax on the highway. 6th gear in the navara is like 4th in the DMax. Navara gets 450km to $100 diesel vs 750km in the Dmax.

Dmax the turbo spools by 1700rpm and kinda runs out of breath between 2.5 and 3k but as I'm normally taking my time I shift at 2.5k

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 18th, 2015, 6:49 pm

pete wrote:I have a DMax and we have a Navara in the office as well. The Navara at least feels much faster with a closer ratio 6-speed manual gearbox vs the 5 speed in the DMax but I don't drive fast and much prefer the DMax on the highway. 6th gear in the navara is like 4th in the DMax. Navara gets 450km to $100 diesel vs 750km in the Dmax.

Dmax the turbo spools by 1700rpm and kinda runs out of breath between 2.5 and 3k but as I'm normally taking my time I shift at 2.5k

450km vs 750km on $100?? That's a huge difference man. You sure about that?

Meanwhile I get 350km on $300. [FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » February 18th, 2015, 6:53 pm

pete wrote:I have a DMax and we have a Navara in the office as well. The Navara at least feels much faster with a closer ratio 6-speed manual gearbox vs the 5 speed in the DMax but I don't drive fast and much prefer the DMax on the highway. 6th gear in the navara is like 4th in the DMax. Navara gets 450km to $100 diesel vs 750km in the Dmax.

450km vs 750km on $100?? That's a huge difference man. You sure about that?

Meanwhile I get 350km on $300 if I lucky [FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY]

Postby Morpheus » February 18th, 2015, 6:56 pm

De heck you driving? A Veyron

I eh feeling so bad again with my 340kms on $260 premium. LoL

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 18th, 2015, 7:20 pm

Evo, sti, rx-7 ????
I remember a man at the gas station with an rx7 filling premium. ... First time I see over $400 going into a car

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2015, 7:43 pm

I does do just under 1000km with just under $100.00 in fuel

Postby Morpheus » February 18th, 2015, 8:01 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I does do just under 1000km with just under $100.00 in fuel

Who ask you dat? Steups..... :-x

*single tear

Postby DVSTT » February 18th, 2015, 8:08 pm

What vehicle?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 18th, 2015, 8:14 pm

Wtf. Eff you.
What vehicle tho? :lol:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 18th, 2015, 8:17 pm

Morpheus wrote:De heck you driving? A Veyron

I eh feeling so bad again with my 340kms on $260 premium. LoL

Lol. Na. I just boost happy. [SMILING FACE WITH OPEN MOUTH AND COLD SWEAT]

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2015, 8:40 pm

Nissan Frontier.

TD27 engine, 5 speed gearbox.

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2015, 8:43 pm

Nissan Frontier.

TD27 engine, 5 speed gearbox.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 19th, 2015, 12:40 am

2016 Hyundai Tucson (1).jpg
2016 Hyundai Tucson (2).jpg
2016 Hyundai Tucson (3).jpg
2016 Hyundai Tucson (4).jpg
2016 Hyundai Tucson (5).jpg
2016 Hyundai Tucson (6).jpg
The 2015/2016 Hyundai Tucson looks good!

Postby DVSTT » February 19th, 2015, 5:09 am

Looks like the Santa
Fe

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 19th, 2015, 7:23 am

I can't wait to see what the sister vehicle (Sportage) would look like.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 19th, 2015, 10:23 am

that is gorgeous

Postby Morpheus » February 19th, 2015, 1:04 pm

Looks good. They keep improving. Noice

Postby DVSTT » February 19th, 2015, 1:29 pm

Morpheus wrote:Looks good. They keep improving. Noice

I'm waiting for the day the veloster turbo lands.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 19th, 2015, 1:39 pm

The veloster was one of the worst vehicles I've driven

Postby S_2NR » February 19th, 2015, 1:58 pm

I can't even stand to look at the veloster. Far less for drive it.