Monday, May 20th, 2013

- It is currently Sun May 19, 2013 8:10 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 747 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 25  Next
moti
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 1:25 pm 

ok, so i know it's long over due.
this is my low budget project
not so low budget now that you think about it (i thought of this - 7/12/11)

i started off wanting a car dedicated for solodex but got taken up with drifting as well :oops:

after looking around for a home for my 4AGE and not wanting to cross breed.

and most KE30's were rotting or like a PX or PZ so replacing my KE30 was just going round in circles (not switching chassis numbers to use my PAA plates)

and though i love the KE70's, finding one in good condition and getting the owner to part with it was like getting an erection while watching a woman give birth.
(if you can do this then we need to talk cause i eyeballing a S13)

while searching i ended up coming across a AD in the express classifieds for a SR5 shell.
called and made arrangements to view the car not knowing what it looked like at first.

after viewing i went back home and google the chassis code (TE71) and found to my liking a car that i can work with.

this is what she first looked like when i brought her home back in June 2009.

notice the KE30 just sitting there in the back fading away.

thats my next project there, a short based patrol gas l2? engine (4WD working) with a 4FWD gear box.

engine bay shot of the SR5 shell :oops:

now after working on some life priorities and other stuff the work began in late 2009.
stripped the entire front of the car and found rust/holes in places i didn't even think of.
but after 2 gallons of paint stripper :x and a couple of wire brushes later :x i ended up priming :)
so as to not have it rusted while i waited for the Christmas holidays to end.

next step was to find a good mig welder to come at the location and weld the front.
so while the welding was taking place, it was time to work on the oil leaks on the engine.
after taking out the seals my then car (p11 primera) wanted some parts from bamboo.

here is where i came across a FWD 4AGE 16V.
purchased on the spot and carried it home.
i ended up scraping the idea of looking for seals for the old engine and focused on
transferring the carbs and gearbox to the new one.

the below pictures the one with the red covers was the old engine (no longer in my possession).

transferred carbs and gearbox to new engine

so the welding was completed and paint arrived (i painted it myself :oops: )
one Sunday i was bored and the wife was watching lifetime (a show i saw already)
so i decided to install the engine that day.

this was how it looked

so with the engine bay repaired and painted and the engine and gearbox in
i got me a set of ole skool rims, but these are staggered and with a sweet offset.
i opted to stay in the same size as the originals so 13'' was the size of the day.
front: 13X7
rear: 13X8.5

now i love the look of the stretched tyres and i can do with all the help it gives
on breaking traction fast as the contact area will be small.

so i fitted some 165/70/13 so i can achieve my desired look.

left rear

right rear

now was time to re install the front suspension and fenders to prepare it for driving again
not that i ever drove it since i bought it as a shell (no engine/gearbox).

i've since then removed the engine, rebuild it (you would read more of this later down in the thread) reinstalled it and changed to R1 carbs.
Used her to get to work on the 12/10/11 from longdenville chaguanas to port of spain then back in the evening.

been at the DEX event on the 30/10/11.
ran and she did well

however due to extreme rust at the entire rear of the car i choose the easy way out :? and got rid of the shell.... sold the engine .... and have aquired Chelsea :P

Last edited by moti on Fri May 17, 2013 8:22 am, edited 47 times in total.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

BANzai Rastafarai
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 1:44 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

X2Board
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:28 pm 

Nice Work!
reminiscent of project Suprolla there boy ... anybody could dig up them old pix?

Bezman
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:39 pm 

love the carburetors!!!! just love them!! makes me more and more want to ditch my ca18det and put in a A15 with drafts!!

nice work.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:49 pm 

i wish i could get my hands on one of these

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:57 pm 

off to a nice start man.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:02 pm 

Very Nice!!

BANzai Rastafarai
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:06 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

Bezman wrote:
love the carburetors!!!! just love them!! makes me more and more want to ditch my ca18det and put in a A15 with drafts!!

nice work.

WOuld sound sooooooooooooooooooooooo much sexier!!!

Yofoot
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:58 pm 

Where de HELL you get that ae71 from in Trinidad!!!!!

I have a few here in Jamaica... one day man, one day...

very nice, keep the updates coming.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:47 pm 

this thread is gonna be good

greiggystyle
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:10 am 

sweeet ride ....i know some frenchies that would be jealous

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:29 am 

subscribed

AYE_SOLDIER
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:03 am 

great ched here meng.
suscribed!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:32 am 

loving the work thus far Moti!

*bookmarks*

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:58 am 

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhahahahhahahahahhahahahahahahah!!!!!

i now seeing this?? nah man!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

"BIGGS!! AH WEY YAH DEAL WID!?!? yuh come lik a pestilence inna mih life" ahahahahahahhahahahh!!!

moti ah sorry :lol: but this REAL bad!

Midnight_Demon
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:26 pm 

Nice progress so far! cant wait to see the final product

moti
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:46 pm 

note that i won't be doing anything to the body until later this year.
want to have her driving by month's end and then sort out any mechanical issues.

once the mechanics are sorted out then and only then will the rest of the body be taken care of.
oh and do you need a dash to have a car road worthy?
what if i just zip tie the gauge cluster right behind the steering wheel, will i get a ticket for that?

Bezman
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:32 pm 

I dont think so, but whats wrong with the dash?

moti
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:55 pm 

some how i cant seem to find it now (wonders if it got thrown away with Christmas cleaning) .
took it off to get rid of the AC components and anything that goes with it like the blower ETC.
want this car to just have the basics, plus i kinda like the feel of not having the dash there as
you know that with these old cars the space is limited for tall people.

the interior is already totally stripped as when i first got her some interior parts were missing
and finding them to replace it would of just wasted my time, not to mention that i may have wanted to fully restore the interior if i ever went that way.

at present all the car has in it now is a pair of seats, a pair of 4 point harness, rust and the battery
(relocated it to the front passenger side to help with weight distribution)
a bunch of wires that needs some attention and did i mention rust already ?

no back seat, sun visors, door upholstery as this was also in a bad condition, no floor mat
no hood upholstery etc.

moti
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:03 am 

re installed the fender mirrors to keep with the ole skool theme.
(plus i love fender mirrors :oops: )

blackberry pictures sucks. need to stop using my phone to take pics.

luke skywalker
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:21 pm 

nice..........................

Bezman
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:53 pm 

soooooooo what ya doing with the next engine :D

Bezman
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:54 pm 

hey they have some nice AE86 fender flares that would look sick on this, PM me and we can organize to get them

moti
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:12 pm 

bex, i don't have it anymore.
i got my friend to sell it when i was not here last year (bad decision made) as i would of loved to keep it for spares. what urks me the most about that decision is that the old engine had the BIG port head.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:09 pm 

true friends would not have let you sell it :lol:
between you and bez i am being inspired to start something

moti
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:43 pm 

Bezman wrote:
hey they have some nice AE86 fender flares that would look sick on this, PM me and we can organize to get them

watching these:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/AE86-JB- ... ccessories

what you think, i can order them but waiting until the car gets on the road first.

Bezman
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:59 pm 

those the dam things self!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:21 pm 

subscribed........soon enuff i will have my own thread.....with or without the haters......

Hook wrote:
like yuh never skate tackle yuh woman right after spin awha? :lol:

BANzai Rastafarai
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:45 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

cinco wrote:
true friends would not have let you sell it :lol:
between you and bez i am being inspired to start something

do eeeeet!!!

real talent here man!!!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:56 pm 

well done man moti!!!!

Sober since 9/12/2010

Teana JK stuff For Sale

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 747 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 25  Next