The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Re: Official Old School Spotters Thread

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2012, 11:35 am

MG Man wrote:yup.........no post fancy biz too

Foreign body on a local chassis

did we ever get the no post locally?

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:40 am

dunno but all the ones I knew were 'K's

triniboy13b

Postby triniboy13b » July 26th, 2012, 12:51 pm

The no posts came foreign assembled in the PAH to PAK series there were also foreign assembled hard top sedans in the PAE, PAH and PAK series as well. They came with the bench and bucket seat configurations.

Postby eliteauto » July 26th, 2012, 7:43 pm

triniboy13b wrote:The no posts came foreign assembled in the PAH to PAK series there were also foreign assembled hard top sedans in the PAE, PAH and PAK series as well. They came with the bench and bucket seat configurations.

my family had 2 of each,both our no posts were bucket seats, our 2 regular sedans were bench, one of the regular sedans was local assembled and began to rust in under 2 years, Massy took it and gave us a foreign assembled one and a set of golf clubs :P

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 26th, 2012, 8:03 pm

cinco wrote:
MG Man wrote:yup.........no post fancy biz too

Foreign body on a local chassis

did we ever get the no post locally?

Yes, triniboy13b is correcto.

A few of these did come in locally new as "Cedrics" back in the day. I think they were "foreign" assembled units. They came in around the same time as a couple of Bluebirds...also foreign. The "foreign" assembled bluebrids came with black interiors (unlike the blue or beige of locally assembled ones).

If I'm not mistaken, 2 two-door bluebirds (with the twin SU carbs) also came in around that time. PAK plates....one was beige IIRC.

Postby eliteauto » July 26th, 2012, 10:08 pm

only 2 door Bluebird I ever saw locally was a white one with 4 wheel disc brakes and a "NAPS Z" engine in Penal, it had "Calsonic" decals and a roll cage so I suspect it was an ex-Japanese circuit car, would love to know where that ended up

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:44 pm

there was an orange one in princes town a few years back....dunno where it gone now tho

Postby cinco » July 27th, 2012, 7:15 am

allyuh watch the price on dat 280?
Price: TT $60,000
Manufacturer: Nissan
Vehicle Listing Type: Local Used
Model: Nissan 280C (No Post)
Vehicle Type: Sedans
Vehicle Listing #: AL638467

i wouldnt mind buying it but at that price he hadda be on something

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 27th, 2012, 7:43 am

We had a Cedric back in the day, a silver,PAJ 7322 i think was the plate,bucket seats infront. The guy my dad bought it from kept it in immaculate condition.We sold it a couple years after for 75k as well,around this time, PBA series now came out.I had no idea which engine it had in it,but damn was it quick,it also had 4 wheel disc brakes.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2012, 9:20 am

id say around 35 should be a fair price for that 280c not so?

moti

Postby moti » July 27th, 2012, 9:31 am

if that 280C has the turbo l28 engine then it's a f/u shell.
sean had one that looks just like this one chrome rims and all but was a f/u car with a turbo l28 fuel injected engine.

drove it and it was ok, i think the auto tranny should have been changed to manual and it would have pulled alot better.

moti

Postby moti » July 27th, 2012, 9:33 am

never mind, just saw the pictures on trini cars
wrong car i guess

triniboy13b

Postby triniboy13b » July 27th, 2012, 9:35 am

sound boy 64 wrote:id say around 35 should be a fair price for that 280c not so?

I agree it seems to be a bit over priced.
But the owner knows what he has. He knows that good a car like this in this condition is very hard to find now.
And you have to admit (chrome rims and barrel aside) it looks almost as good as the day it left Neal and Massey.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2012, 9:37 am

i stole it from a buddy fb, its his dad car

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2012, 9:40 am

triniboy13b wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:id say around 35 should be a fair price for that 280c not so?

I agree it seems to be a bit over priced.
But the owner knows what he has. He knows that good a car like this in this condition is very hard to find now.
And you have to admit (chrome rims and barrel aside) it looks almost as good as the day it left Neal and Massey.

yup my buddy has 2 of these

and another with a kinda purple with a mild green with glitter, ill see to link some pics either today or tomorrow

moti

Postby moti » July 27th, 2012, 9:42 am

i think they may have been posted before but hey; it shows that they are still here i guess

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2012, 9:48 am

how old is old school? i have some pics of a mint e23 maxi :oops: so thats close to 25-27 years

Postby cinco » July 27th, 2012, 10:17 am

moti wrote:Image

i think they may have been posted before but hey; it shows that they are still here i guess

nice pics moti
that is one rusty ATM tho :lol: :lol: :lol:

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » August 1st, 2012, 11:56 am

eliteauto wrote:only 2 door Bluebird I ever saw locally was a white one with 4 wheel disc brakes and a "NAPS Z" engine in Penal, it had "Calsonic" decals and a roll cage so I suspect it was an ex-Japanese circuit car, would love to know where that ended up

:shock: me 2 if u get more info on it plz let me kno :(

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 1:24 am

Ford Cortina TC Mark III
Production 1970-1976 1,126,559 units

525isport

Postby 525isport » August 2nd, 2012, 10:57 am

Last edited by 525isport on August 2nd, 2012, 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

525isport

Postby 525isport » August 2nd, 2012, 10:59 am

Cortina looks MINT

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 6:41 pm

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 9:25 pm

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 9:35 pm

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 9:36 pm

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 9:37 pm

1964 Bedford TJ bus, Trinidad by Angelo Bissessarsingh, on Flickr

1964 Bedford TJ bus, Trinidad

These were assembled locally be Neal and Massey. These were a popular means of transportation in Trinidad as well as across the third world. It is in great shape, and starts in one bounce with very little body rust. It has a Perkins P4 diesel engine from a Commer truck capable of pulling up to 10 tons. There are no seats in the bus as it was used for transporting oranges for the past two decades. It is for sale at 25 grand.

Incidentally, these were assembled locally using the Bedford cowl and chassis and a CKD body. After Bedford left the market in 1987, the remainder of the bus bodies were put on the road with Nissan Diesel UD chassis and engines.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 9:38 pm

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 2nd, 2012, 9:39 pm