Guarantees from a Cylinder Head porter !

rado

Guarantees from a Cylinder Head porter !

Postby rado » October 30th, 2010, 10:45 am

A customer recently asked me what guarantee do I give with my work?

I realized that this was a very appropriate question which I had not formaly addressed, so I'll use this thread to list and discuss the promises I make and keep. Please feel free to chime in with your opinions

IMHO, service expectation and promises should be communicated to customers explicitly.

1. Job timing.

If any job exceeds the time frame agreed with the customer, I will give a 20% discount on the job.

In general no job should take longer than one week, however, there are times when special tooling or parts must be ordered which extends the overall job time.

I also have a policy to only schedule one job at a time. This way all customers know that my focus is on thier cylinder head until the job is completed. My intention is to exceed customer expectation with regards to quality and timing.
Last edited by rado on October 31st, 2010, 3:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

moti

Re: Guarantees from a head porter !

Postby moti » October 30th, 2010, 11:49 am

rado wrote: my focus is on thier head until the job is completed.

sound like a barber there :lol:

but nice to see people still believe in pleasing their customer and not just in it for the cash.

rado

Postby rado » October 30th, 2010, 12:43 pm

2. Parts Damages

All customer parts and equipment will be returned to the customer in the same, or better condition than provided. This applies to all valves, seals, and springs. Should any damages be incurred, the component will be replaced by Precision Performance.

rado

Postby rado » October 30th, 2010, 12:46 pm

moti wrote:
rado wrote: my focus is on thier head until the job is completed.

sound like a barber there :lol:

but nice to see people still believe in pleasing their customer and not just in it for the cash.

:lol: fixed it!

rado

Postby rado » October 30th, 2010, 12:48 pm

3. Head Damage

At Precision Performance we observe best practice in head porting guided by flow and velocity data. All heads will be re-worked within these safety parameters. Should any water passage be compromised during porting, or any other damage to the head casting, all repair work will be completed at the expense of Precision Performance.

rado

Postby rado » October 30th, 2010, 3:29 pm

4. Performance

We guarantee that each customer head will flow more air [CFM] than stock, with no greater than a 5% loss of velocity. These parameters guarantee the increased performance potential of the head casting. Individual engine configurations will yield varying WHP on a dynamometer.

Material removal will stop when data indicates there is no further performance improvement to be had.

(This guarantee is absoloutly impossible for anyone without access to flow data to give)

rado

Postby rado » October 30th, 2010, 7:21 pm

5. Claims

We encourage all customers to thoroughly examine engine heads and parts on completion of a job. All claims must be made at the time of delivery / pickup of a job. No claims will be entertained after delivery of a completed job.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » October 30th, 2010, 10:42 pm

As soon as I get a job (assuming I nail the interview next two weeks. lol) I gonna have this done to my SR.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 30th, 2010, 10:56 pm

You know, when i saw the name of this thread I thought u wuz a supervisor at a train station.....

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » October 31st, 2010, 12:26 pm

What is your approximate price on head porting ( well jus to port no valve work ) on a twin cam head ?

rado

Postby rado » October 31st, 2010, 2:55 pm

djaggs wrote:You know, when i saw the name of this thread I thought u wuz a supervisor at a train station.....

.... or one of those guys who carry your bags at a hotel! LOL

rado

Postby rado » October 31st, 2010, 2:56 pm

shadowbird wrote:What is your approximate price on head porting ( well jus to port no valve work ) on a twin cam head ?

$400 per cylinder for just the porting alone. I'll put up a list of services later. PM with your e-mail address for more info.

shadowbird

Re: Guarantees from a Cylinder Head porter !

Postby shadowbird » November 1st, 2010, 8:02 pm

Word tanx !!! very reasonable !!!

rado

Postby rado » November 1st, 2010, 8:31 pm

shadowbird wrote:Word tanx !!! very reasonable !!!

Thank you Sir.

Here's the list of services I promised

1. Disassembly & Cleaning of Head
2. Flow Calibration Intake
3. Flow Calibration Exhaust
4. Basic Head Porting (intake & exhaust)
5. Polish valves
6. Valve re-facing
7. Prepare and Re-assemble Head (inclusive of valve seal change )
8. Multi Angle Valve Seat
9. Velocity Mapping (pre & post porting [Intake only] )
10. Fitting oversized valves (limited by the OD of the valve seat)
11. Valve guide replacement

nigie

Postby nigie » November 1st, 2010, 10:04 pm

very reasonable ???
so to do a set of v8 heads that would be $3200.00 below is BPE in the US pricing chart...

Generic Porting Prices

STAGE I - COMPETITION VALVE SEATS, BLEND, & POLISH BOWL AREAS, REMAINDER OF PORTS INSPECTED & SEMI-POLISHED.*

STAGE II - COMPETITION VALVE SEATS, BLEND, & POLISH BOWL AREAS & VALVE GUIDE BOSSES, PORT MATCH INTAKE AT
FLANGE, CHAMBERS SMOOTHED AND POLISHED, REMAINDER OF PORTS INSPECTED & SEMI-POLISHED.*

STAGE III - COMPETITION VALVE SEATS, PORTS ENLARGED & RESHAPED. VALVES UN-SHROUDED IN CHAMBERS. FULLY PORTED
& POLISHED PORTS & CHAMBERS. FLOW TESTED & EQUALIZED.*

STAGE IV - COMPETITION SEATS, PORTS & CHAMBERS ENLARGED FOR MAX FLOW (LOSS OF SOME CYLINDER HEAD RELIABILITY
ON PRODUCTION HEADS, RECOMMENDED FOR RACING ONLY), FULLY POLISHED, FLOW TESTED AND EQUALIZED.*

ENGINE VALVES STAGE I* STAGE II* STAGE I* STAGE IV*
DESIGN PER CYL

INLINE 4 2 $130.00 $195.00 $295.00 $395.00 $545.00 $660.00 $820.00 $975.00
INLINE 4 3 $160.00 $225.00 $325.00 $425.00 $575.00 $690.00 $850.00 $1,005.00
INLINE 4 4 $190.00 $255.00 $355.00 $455.00 $605.00 $720.00 $880.00 $1,035.00

INLINE 6 2 $170.00 $260.00 $430.00 $570.00 $800.00 $970.00 $1,205.00 $1,430.00
INLINE 6 4 $250.00 $340.00 $510.00 $650.00 $880.00 $1050.00 $1,285.00 $1,510.00

V 6 2 $170.00 $260.00 $430.00 $570.00 $800.00 $970.00 $1,205.00 $1,430.00
V 6 4 $250.00 $340.00 $510.00 $650.00 $880.00 $1,050.00 $1,285.00 $1,510.00

V 8 2 $215.00 $325.00 $540.00 $715.00 $1000.00 $12,15.00 $1,505.00 $1,790.00
V 8 4 $315.00 $425.00 $640.00 $815.00 $1,100.00 $1,315.00 $1,605.00 $1,890.00

V 10 2 $315.00 $425.00 $640.00 $815.00 $1,100.00 $1,315.00 $1,605.00 $1,890.00

rado

Postby rado » November 2nd, 2010, 8:30 am

^^ That's the beauty of living in a free society!

Everyone is free to have their opinion on "reasonable" or "unreasonable" and everyone is also free to choose whatever service privider they wish.

IMHO, more options are always better. As we continue to raise the bar on standards, service and pricing value, consumers, and motorsport in Trinidad will benifit.

I welcome it :D

Postby 16 cycles » November 2nd, 2010, 9:19 am

you've done work on ej20 heads?

rado

Postby rado » November 2nd, 2010, 10:19 am

16 cycles wrote:you've done work on ej20 heads?

Not as yet, but I'd love the opportunity to work on a set! The turbo legacy is one of my favorite cars :)

nigie

Postby nigie » November 2nd, 2010, 10:26 am

rado wrote:

Not as yet, but I'd love the opportunity to work on a set! The turbo legacy is one of my favorite cars :)

i admire your honesty....u dont get that from many a trini machinist...anyway when im ready to port we shall discuss the introductory discount... :mrgreen:

rado

Postby rado » November 2nd, 2010, 11:42 am

nigie wrote:
rado wrote:

i admire your honesty....u dont get that from many a trini machinist...anyway when im ready to port we shall discuss the introductory discount... :mrgreen:

Absolutely :!:

Postby A172 » November 4th, 2010, 2:58 pm

nigie wrote:

very reasonable ???
so to do a set of v8 heads that would be $3200.00 below is BPE in the US pricing chart...

Generic Porting Prices

STAGE I - COMPETITION VALVE SEATS, BLEND, & POLISH BOWL AREAS, REMAINDER OF PORTS INSPECTED & SEMI-POLISHED.*

STAGE II - COMPETITION VALVE SEATS, BLEND, & POLISH BOWL AREAS & VALVE GUIDE BOSSES, PORT MATCH INTAKE AT
FLANGE, CHAMBERS SMOOTHED AND POLISHED, REMAINDER OF PORTS INSPECTED & SEMI-POLISHED.*

STAGE III - COMPETITION VALVE SEATS, PORTS ENLARGED & RESHAPED. VALVES UN-SHROUDED IN CHAMBERS. FULLY PORTED

STAGE IV - COMPETITION SEATS, PORTS & CHAMBERS ENLARGED FOR MAX FLOW (LOSS OF SOME CYLINDER HEAD RELIABILITY
ON PRODUCTION HEADS, RECOMMENDED FOR RACING ONLY), FULLY POLISHED, FLOW TESTED AND EQUALIZED.*

DESIGN PER CYL

send yuh head across dey and lewwe know de final bill when yuh geyit back

kthxbai

nigie

Postby nigie » November 4th, 2010, 8:45 pm

A172 wrote:
nigie wrote:

very reasonable ???

Generic Porting Prices

DESIGN PER CYL

send yuh head across dey and lewwe know de final bill when yuh geyit back

kthxbai

I already hook up my discount..so i dont have 2 send anything.... :mrgreen:

nigie

Postby nigie » November 4th, 2010, 8:46 pm

rado.... how much to do a ford cortina 2000 head

rado

Postby rado » November 5th, 2010, 8:27 am

^^ my pricing is structured to suit 4 or 5 valve per cylinder modern engines. Anything that falls outside this scope will need to be negotiated on a one on one basis.

Some jobs may require special tooling which will have to be considered. In short, when you are ready to bring the head, we will talk in person.

Thanks for the inquiry.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 15th, 2010, 11:26 pm

Doing headwork is a lot of painstaking work, when i wuz a teenager back in the 1980s i used to do some head work but mostly cast iron Ford 4 cyls. I did it as a hobby so i never charged money to do it. It was a long process, especially working with cast iron, so i dont think its fair to knock the guy's prices, I know the work involved.

I have a head to do and im considering chekking you out, my only concern is that porting and modifying a head is somewhat of an art and is learned by experience, Im not too sure how much experience you actually have but I would like to come and chek out your setup and see what youre doing.

Its so easy to ruin a head.

rado

Postby rado » November 16th, 2010, 12:28 am

djaggs wrote:Doing headwork is a lot of painstaking work..., I know the work involved.

I have a head to do and im considering chekking you out,....

Its so easy to ruin a head.

You're welcome to visit, schedules permitting. But don't rule out the option of completing the porting yourself, and just getting the head flowed at my place! Almost any of the services I offer can be had independantly of the others.

I'm really glad you shared an appreciation of what is involved. Having the flow bench changes the process dramatically. The learning curve is accellerated, because you dont have to test each configuration on the dyno to see if it works.

My first head ported using the bench was Suzuki M15A piece. It was a "sacrificial" piece so I experiemented with different configurations on each intake port... testing to see what worked! That one head was the equavalent of 5 engines!

Tonight I was fine tunig a race honda B18C turbo head. A few days ago I did the standard port with the bowl and seat work; massaging the short turn radius and I was able to gain 40+ cfm. BTW Trying to get the air to navigatge the short turn is really an art. One common approach is the to turn some of the kenetic energy of the fast moving air (laminar flow) into pressure energy just behing the valve.

But anyway, for this application I had greater expectations so using the pitot tube, I searched for the areas of greatest air speed and massaged each one in turn. Removing small amounts each time, and testing on the bench after each iteration. Four hours later and after about 5 mappings on the bench, I was able to pick up and additional 10 CFM with no loss in velocity! 8-)

Its a good thing this customer is a close friend, because no one could pay me for that type of effort....and without a bench..., well let's just say you would have a better chance of winning the lotto!

dlittlelion

Postby dlittlelion » November 16th, 2010, 4:15 pm

rado wrote:5. Claims

We encourage all customers to thoroughly examine engine heads and parts on completion of a job. All claims must be made at the time of delivery / pickup of a job. No claims will be entertained after delivery of a completed job.

Can all problems / issues associated with head work be detected by a customer upon receipt with just a visual examination?

rado

Postby rado » November 16th, 2010, 5:15 pm

^^ Good point. Of course all issues cannot be detected by a visual examination. Concordantly, that risk is also born by me. Say for example, a customer brings me a cracked head to port. I cannot detect that visually, so I do the job and return the customer's head. When he builds the engine the problem appears!

I'm sure you see where I'm comming from. In essence, this is part of a "good faith" promise that If I do anything to damage your property I'll fix it, but there must be some limit to the risk I expose myself to also.

I would welcome any alternative suggestions.

rado

Postby rado » November 28th, 2010, 8:37 pm

Just completed a Turbo B18C head. This head is specifically designed for a race motor with all new valve guides and new Black Nitrided oversized valves, and every opportunity to increase flow exploited! Many, many hours on the flow bench went into creating this head.

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=345188&p=4947099#p4947099

In conjunction with this new product I've started special "Stage" pricing. This turbo head is the Stage 3 ptoduct.

rado

Postby rado » January 17th, 2011, 2:00 pm

dlittlelion .... did I miss something?