Why is it that cars are no longer made with Glass Head Light

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2011, 3:30 am

Always wondered this.

What ever happened to cars and even them hilux that had glass lights and steel bumper and solid steel body?

Cars now when it get a lil hit is like the whole thing mash up.

Re: Why is it that cars are no longer made with Glass Head L

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 25th, 2011, 6:02 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Always wondered this.

What ever happened to cars and even them hilux that had glass lights and steel bumper and solid steel body?

1) Plastic headlights are cheaper to manufacture
2) Modern vehicles have front and rear crumple zones which absorb the impact in a crash by deforming in a controlled manner under the load. If the vehicle's structure was totally rigid, then the impact forces will be transferred to the passengers, resulting in more severe injuries.

Postby turbosingh » October 25th, 2011, 7:00 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

1) Plastic headlights are cheaper to manufacture
2) Modern vehicles have front and rear crumple zones which absorb the impact in a crash by deforming in a controlled manner under the load. If the vehicle's structure was totally rigid, then the impact forces will be transferred to the passengers, resulting in more severe injuries.

Well so the engineers say.

Postby cinco » October 25th, 2011, 7:10 am

glass headlights are also a risk to pedestrians

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 25th, 2011, 8:33 am

Advantage Plastic headlights are lighter than Glass and the manufactures has more flexibility with plastic than glass.

The disadvantage of plastic headlight is that the UV coating on the headlight fad overtime. But that said I have a new system that can resurface the headlight with a UV coating designed specifically for your headlights and it has the same longevity as the OEM UV coating.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » October 25th, 2011, 8:54 am

Karim Khan wrote:Advantage Plastic headlights are lighter than Glass and the manufactures has more flexibility with plastic than glass.

The disadvantage of plastic headlight is that the UV coating on the headlight fad overtime. But that said I have a new system that can resurface the headlight with a UV coating designed specifically for your headlights and it has the same longevity as the OEM UV coating.

What's the cost for this kit please Pm cost

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 25th, 2011, 9:06 am

This is a professional kit that does multiple cars and you need special training to use it. If you want your headlights resurfaced i can do it for you. The cost starts at $650.00 up. Cost is determined by size of headlights and the condition.

Call me if you are interested in my Headlight Restoration Services.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » October 25th, 2011, 9:09 am

Thanks will contact you soon

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2011, 11:57 am

Karim that sounds good. Didn't realize you can fix those yellow aweful looking lights i taught I might have to buy a new pair.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 25th, 2011, 12:52 pm

^^^ HLR is the affordable way to go !!!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 25th, 2011, 10:13 pm

This is a vehicle that i did tonight. The headlights were badly off. After i worked my magic on them the customer was truly happy here are some before and after shots.

Right Headlight Before

Right After

Left Before

Left After

Front Before

Front After

Guy this Headlight restoration included a NEW UV coating that replaced the OEM one. The new coating has the same lifespan as the OEM coating. The customer was going to replace the pair of headlights, when she told me the cost to replace them i told her i can resurface and re-coat the the existing ones for a fraction of the new ones.

She was quite happy with the finished product
Last edited by Karim Khan on October 27th, 2011, 6:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2011, 10:18 pm

nice work there man^^

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 26th, 2011, 10:50 pm

Thanks man!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 27th, 2011, 3:40 am

impressive work karim

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » October 27th, 2011, 8:12 am

so yuh hadda re-coat the UV thing after a while? cuz i fed up buff an polish headlights :lol:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 27th, 2011, 8:54 am

^^^ thats right. You need to replace the OEM UV coating. If you just buff and polish it, the plastic will revert to the latter condition.

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » October 28th, 2011, 3:32 am

so... uhh what is this UV coating? you clear coat it then? cause that's what most paint shops do and they look brand new! They sand it to get off the oxidation and crap then clear coat it using automotive paint and it wonderfully new again! would really like to have them last as long as they did from new though...

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 28th, 2011, 6:45 am

^^^ its not automotive paint- This UV coating is specifficallt designed for Headlights and the Manufactures claims that it will give you the same life expectancy or even longer than the OEM UV coating.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » October 28th, 2011, 1:03 pm

Headlight shows some signs like scape and light cracking marks when light is on only, will the UV coating help seal of these when the light is on?

Postby cinco » October 28th, 2011, 2:28 pm

868newtrini wrote:Headlight shows some signs like scape and light cracking marks when light is on only, will the UV coating help seal of these when the light is on?

if its plastic lenses then they are pretty much done for

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 28th, 2011, 5:09 pm

Karim, where you located buddy?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 28th, 2011, 7:29 pm

^^^ I am mobile I will come to you at no cost. This HLR is done only on weekends . Call me to make arrangements .

Postby ronsin1 » October 29th, 2011, 9:06 am

NXTREME wrote:so yuh hadda re-coat the UV thing after a while? cuz i fed up buff an polish headlights :lol:

The is the main reason Headlights get the yellow film on it. When you buff and polish the head light the UV coating comes off.

When I am having my vehicles polished or buff I ensure and tell the guys who doing it DO NOT tough the light

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » October 30th, 2011, 7:46 am

holy smokes, well i kno what not to do now wen i get new headlights :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 2nd, 2011, 11:43 pm

Lets say headlights go for $3000 a pair on average.

How much it would it sell for if it was glass? I just wanna get an average on how much more expensive glass headlights are.

beric

Postby beric » November 4th, 2011, 3:00 pm

HI there,
In addition to all that has been said re 'plastic headlights', just to add my two-cents worth: The main reason, as was said be a few, is that it is much easier to form than glass, and obviously, much more expensive to produce as well.
I am picking up that some people feel that when you 'clear coat' it, after removing the oxidation etc., it is 'good to go'. But we have to remember, guys, that clear coat IS paint; just without the pigment (colour). It is not a sealant or UV protectant as such.

So once the lens are not sealed and UV protected, you're gonna be yellow again in a short time. As a matter of fact, it will faster than the first time because the original uv protectant is then gone. So don't get too blown away with the 'new' look of a clear coat LSP. The body shop man is doing his best, but that's not his expertise. Of course, the quality of the job, if properly done by going through the various grits and polishes, would lie in the quality of the sealant/UV protectant. Not many persons can produce the whole shebang.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2011, 8:08 pm

yeah that makes sense because those new headlights are so fancy it might take to much money and time to make them out of glass.

But I should point out that the ministry of forestry has some of them old model Toyota land cruiser in plates like PCB etc but they are brand new with solid steel bumber / body and glass head lights.

Wonder where they getting these from and if so then can you get those old model TAY Hilux brand new the same way you can get the land cruiser brand new?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » November 18th, 2011, 8:16 am

No Maths in it, Do It Yourself, has everything you need and last considerably longer than anything local. Comes with UV protectant also.
Glassylite,
http://www.amazon.com/GlassyLite-Premiu ... B001CYC2ZY

Xplode

Postby Xplode » November 24th, 2011, 11:41 am

plus shipping is concern glass is much more weight than plastic.