De Ole Car Posse

roadracer7

Re: De Ole Car Posse

Postby roadracer7 » January 21st, 2012, 7:50 pm

looking for a MSD 6,6AL,6BTM.
or CRANE HI-6 ,HI-6S, HI-6R

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 24th, 2012, 12:46 am

holley jets anyone 68, 70.,72's

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 24th, 2012, 12:53 am

HERE WE GO AGAIN

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 24th, 2012, 2:40 pm

NOMOSS wrote:MY FELLOW OLD CAR ENTHUSIASTS SPEEDWAY HAS A CLEARANCE SALE FOR OLD SCHOOL AND NOT SO OLD SCHOOL PARTS I SAW DODGE AVENGER INDICATORS AND TAIL LIGHTS,SUNNY ,ESCORT CORTINA MK 1 TO 5 ,HUNTER AND A HOST OF ASSORTED JAPANESE AS WELL AS EUROPEAN PARTS .IFYOU ASK NICELY THEY WILL EVEN LET YOU GO DOWNSTAIRS AND LOOK FOR YOUR PARTS .I CANT BEGIN TO DESCRIBE THE AMOUNT OR PARTS THEY HAVE DOWNSTAIRS.I EVEN SAW TWO COSWORTH V6 TWIN CAM ENGINES(ONLY 20 MADE WORLDWIDE),and carry a torchlight downstairs kind of dark

Fellow ole school owners,

I recently acquired an Mazda 323 (GLC) RWD (1978 FA4TS - the bugeye version) :evilbat: with the original engine and 5 speed gearbox (1.3 TC carbureted SOHC)...will post pics when I get the chance! I'm considering to keep the original engine for some time until funds are available (trying to complete house as well) then do a conversion (keeping it 4 cylinder and RWD :mrgreen: ). Do you guys know of anyone who has or had one of these cars? What kinda experiences? Where have parts and such? What kinda engine conversions were done besides rotary conversions? Any info would be appeciated! :twisted:

NOMOSS, do you know if they still have this sale ongoing? I would be very interested to visit this place. Where is this located, San Juan area on the EMR?

Can a Ford Pinto fit in it? :idea: How much for a pinto with gearbox? Would this engine be too heavy?

Any thoughts? Also looking at the ole school Toyota engines possibly the 2A or RWD 4AGE...Also, do you guys think a Toyota KE70 carb can work on the original Mazda 1.3 TC engine?

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 24th, 2012, 2:52 pm

Oh, a brief info on the car:
The body is in ok condition, some rust spots here and there - need to remove a small part of the engine bay and patch. The engine runs great! The windscreen wiper linkage was bad, went by a parts place and luckily got the entire linkage set up with wiper motor. Recently changed the oil though and it may seem that the previous owner negelcted this simple task as the oil was ivory black! Checked braking system (rotors upfront and drum brakes in the rear), everything ok. I checked the suspension upfront and changed the stabilizer bar rubbers and the left track arm bushings and rubbers. I have to get teh ball joint but parts places are asking me to take it out and bring to measure size. Other than that, haven't gotten the time to do anything else.
My intention is to ensure the engine and suspension is working properly before attempting any body work - function before form!

Thats about it for now. Hopefully I will get some time this weekend to work on the car!

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 12:10 am

Kongorealm wrote:
NOMOSS wrote:MY FELLOW OLD CAR ENTHUSIASTS SPEEDWAY HAS A CLEARANCE SALE FOR OLD SCHOOL AND NOT SO OLD SCHOOL PARTS I SAW DODGE AVENGER INDICATORS AND TAIL LIGHTS,SUNNY ,ESCORT CORTINA MK 1 TO 5 ,HUNTER AND A HOST OF ASSORTED JAPANESE AS WELL AS EUROPEAN PARTS .IFYOU ASK NICELY THEY WILL EVEN LET YOU GO DOWNSTAIRS AND LOOK FOR YOUR PARTS .I CANT BEGIN TO DESCRIBE THE AMOUNT OR PARTS THEY HAVE DOWNSTAIRS.I EVEN SAW TWO COSWORTH V6 TWIN CAM ENGINES(ONLY 20 MADE WORLDWIDE),and carry a torchlight downstairs kind of dark

Fellow ole school owners,

I recently acquired an Mazda 323 (GLC) RWD (1978 FA4TS - the bugeye version) :evilbat: with the original engine and 5 speed gearbox (1.3 TC carbureted SOHC)...will post pics when I get the chance! I'm considering to keep the original engine for some time until funds are available (trying to complete house as well) then do a conversion (keeping it 4 cylinder and RWD :mrgreen: ). Do you guys know of anyone who has or had one of these cars? What kinda experiences? Where have parts and such? What kinda engine conversions were done besides rotary conversions? Any info would be appeciated! :twisted:

NOMOSS, do you know if they still have this sale ongoing? I would be very interested to visit this place. Where is this located, San Juan area on the EMR?

Can a Ford Pinto fit in it? :idea: How much for a pinto with gearbox? Would this engine be too heavy?

Any thoughts? Also looking at the ole school Toyota engines possibly the 2A or RWD 4AGE...Also, do you guys think a Toyota KE70 carb can work on the original Mazda 1.3 TC engine?

Speed way sale is still on in San JUan and there are a host of japanese engines that will fit into that car easier than a pinto and im talking bolt ins as regards the carb you may want to run that by road racer 7

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 25th, 2012, 7:33 am

What type of engines would be bolt-ins?

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 6:38 pm

Kongorealm wrote:What type of engines would be bolt-ins?

mazda 626,929 fit easily ,nissan 120y ,and bluebird with a little shoehorn .Roadracer7 do you
have any ideas about any modern efi engines that will fit in the bugeye 323

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 26th, 2012, 12:00 am

post the engine bay,i'll tell you.not familiar with the names

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 26th, 2012, 1:32 pm

roadracer7 wrote:post the engine bay,i'll tell you.not familiar with the names

roadracer7, the pictures below show the original engine in the RWD Mazda 323 (GLC) hatchback:

Given NOMOSS comments above regarding the nissan engines, I looked at the Z18et from the 910 bluebird, I wonder if I can get this in T&T? What other options do I have? I'm looking for something affordable and reliable. How difficult would it be to install pne of these or any nissan engine of this type?

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 26th, 2012, 1:51 pm

there is a lot of space in the engine bay .
roughly 2" at the rear,eliminate engine driven fan, eliminate the 2'' radiator extension.
install crossflow radiator.
you can fit any 4 cyl. engine in the bay, depending upon the oil sump location.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 26th, 2012, 2:16 pm

^^ I agree with your comment regarding the application!
What of the Z18et? any experience or comments with respect to this application difficulty to source and install? The 135hp output of this engine will suit me just fine or are they any other NA engines that can give me a stock 100hp? The key here is cheap and reliable. I know the Miata 1.8 RWD would work, any rotary engine, I have even seen pictures of an s13 or s14 sr20 installed in this engine bay but the cost is a factor on this project also with those applications it makes the DIY aspect much more difficlut, well for me i.e.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 26th, 2012, 11:01 pm

any engine that you get from that era, is going to absorb some finances.
if you are not much of a diy'er,then the cost can only escalate.
one of the things that i'd like to impart to anyone attempting to negeotiate an engine transplant is to look at what you need to accomplish the project vs what you want.

d spike

Postby d spike » January 28th, 2012, 11:19 am

Kongorealm wrote: or are they any other NA engines that can give me a stock 100hp? The key here is cheap and reliable.

120yA15 engine.
Talk done.

(It bess.)

Seriously, with a shaved head, extractors and a 32/36 Weber, you will frighten the crap out of many other "newer" cars... with a pair of side-draughts, you will frighten yourself. Put in a hot cam and go have fun.
Sorry I cannot tell you where to look. :( Since I converted to Pinto, I stopped stalking Datsun parts. My A15 is still sitting in the back of the garage and mutters rude things when I come near... but, in time, she will be going into a Super 7 - when I ever get around to building it :roll: By the way, I was quite satisfied with her stock cam performance, but better is available.)

Postby MG Man » January 28th, 2012, 1:12 pm

d spike, please do not shave your head
We'll take your word for it that it will frighten the others

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 28th, 2012, 1:48 pm

MG Man wrote:d spike, please do not shave your head

Have you seen dspike's head lately .I swear the barber forgot his seeing eye dog.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 28th, 2012, 11:09 pm

d spike wrote:
Kongorealm wrote: or are they any other NA engines that can give me a stock 100hp? The key here is cheap and reliable.

120yA15 engine.
Talk done.

(It bess.)

Seriously, with a shaved head, extractors and a 32/36 Weber, you will frighten the crap out of many other "newer" cars... with a pair of side-draughts, you will frighten yourself. Put in a hot cam and go have fun.
Sorry I cannot tell you where to look. :( Since I converted to Pinto, I stopped stalking Datsun parts. My A15 is still sitting in the back of the garage and mutters rude things when I come near... but, in time, she will be going into a Super 7 - when I ever get around to building it :roll: By the way, I was quite satisfied with her stock cam performance, but better is available.)

''WALLAH" and there 's the answer to the problem.

THERE ARE NO PROBLEMS, ONLY SOLUTIONS.

Postby MG Man » January 28th, 2012, 11:27 pm

NOMOSS wrote:

Have you seen dspike's head lately .I swear the barber forgot his seeing eye dog.

the seeing eye dog IS his barber

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 29th, 2012, 12:02 am

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 29th, 2012, 12:08 am

COULDN'T RESIST

d spike

Postby d spike » January 29th, 2012, 1:31 am

NOMOSS wrote:

the seeing eye dog IS his barber

Allyuh jus' jealous...

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 29th, 2012, 10:09 am

^^lol

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 29th, 2012, 11:08 pm

hairy business

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 29th, 2012, 11:17 pm

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 29th, 2012, 11:34 pm

found a msd 6al, working excellent.

nigie

Postby nigie » January 30th, 2012, 7:59 am

YEPPERS....SPEEDWAY SALE WAS OLD SCHOOLERS DREAMS COME TRUE...SALE STILL ON...CASH ONLY>>NO LINX...

dungeon....know what u looking for & have torchlight...

bunch of escort bumpers

looks racy

off course i couldnt resist...hunter carb..heh heh

me snatch these 4 me pardna..

hummmm perfect

SALE STILL ON..... :P

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 30th, 2012, 3:29 pm

d spike wrote:

120yA15 engine.
Talk done.

(It bess.)

This sounds awesome, I will research this engine further as it relates to cost and availability...according the wiki, they still manufacture this engine in Malaysia! I don't know of the availability locally though especially for one in good condition. Anyhow, will be looking at sourcing one in the future when funds are available.

Thanks all for the assistance so far!

d spike

Postby d spike » January 30th, 2012, 8:12 pm

Kongorealm wrote:
d spike wrote:

120yA15 engine.
Talk done.

(It bess.)

This sounds awesome, I will research this engine further as it relates to cost and availability...according the wiki, they still manufacture this engine in Malaysia! I don't know of the availability locally though especially for one in good condition. Anyhow, will be looking at sourcing one in the future when funds are available.

Thanks all for the assistance so far!

Malay...what!
Nahhhhhh man.
Just eyeball a few 120ys for sale... yuh bong tuh fin' one fuh ah lil' change. Just pull a plug or two and watch it for oil-burning, listen to it run, etc.

You get a complete running power-train plus a few 'can-be-easily-modified' spare parts (radiator, seats, and such-like) If it has one or two good doors, then the resale of these and the rear windscreen will probably cover whatever you spent.

Offer to buy it for "spares" (that means you won't be transferring the car number) and it will be cheaper - most likely it is being sold because someone doesn't want to "keep it on the road"...
If you buy it "transfer-ready", then try and locate some 120y freak who has a 'foreign-used' shell who wants to put it on the road - he will gladly buy "the body" off your hands... (I don't have to spell out the rest of this option, right?)

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » January 30th, 2012, 9:59 pm

^Hey d spike,

I didn't mean it like that! I was just indicating that Malaysia still manufactures these engines up to this date as a sign that the engine has to be good based on that fact. My apologies if it was interpreted differently. I will be taking your advice into consideration as I believe this is the application I am looking for i.e. cheap to maintain and reliable. Also, I believe 100 to 110hp should be fairly easy to acquire with few mods like your suggestions mentioned above.

BTW, I was lucky as I met someone who has one (Bugeye Mazda 323 Hatch) while taking the car for a spin tonight. He stated that 120y parts are interchangeable with this car!

I desperately want to check out the ongoing sale at Speedway but time is not being friendly to me. Maybe I can find something at a bargain that will make me dig into my pockets although money is tight at the moment.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 31st, 2012, 10:18 pm

ah wonder if speedway have a payment plan package
or is if you like d package ,pay for it.