De Ole Car Posse

NOMOSS

De Ole Car Posse

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 6:47 pm

This is the thread for bangers and old cars ,For those of us who have cars with points and/or carburetors. Post pictures of your daily drivers and talk about your car issues.
Dont be ashamed pretty and pretty ugly cars welcomed.

Last edited by NOMOSS on December 14th, 2011, 11:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

d spike

Re: De Ole Car Posse

Postby d spike » December 14th, 2011, 7:31 pm

When loggers destroyed the road home, I had to get a way to get home. I also needed to transport materials through one and a half miles of axle-deep mud and clay.
I got a Datsun 720 pick-up, stripped it down to chassis, drivetrain and suspension. The tray (for want of a more accurate word which might border on the obscene - but then, so did the tray) was lightened, and a frame was mounted forward (glibly referred to as a roll-cage). This frame provided a work platform on which were mounted a seat, toolbox, a tiny instrument panel, and protected the engine from 'bush-lash'.
I abandoned the steering column shifter and instead ran two gear levers through the floor attached directly to the two shift-arms on the gearbox. An open-minded person, aware of how a 720 gearbox works, would understand how easily this system could operate. One stick was low/high gear and the other was low/high range. 1st and 2nd were in the low range, 3rd and 4th were in the high range. However, most people who saw this vehicle, were either not acquainted with 720 gearboxes, or not open-minded, and viewed the contraption with alarm. The "forest-used" was the most favourable name - I won't print the others.

Apart from windshield wipers (duh) everything else worked : lights, front and rear (front lights were fogs, rear lights mounted on the 'roll bar'), horn. She had a seatbelt and a fire extinguisher (mounted forward), radio and a CB set.

The additional power gained from no longer having to drag around excess weight, and the 720's fantastic low 1st gear enabled me to use her like a tractor, dragging logs (and Betsy, my 120y, who got stuck or slid off the road with alarming frequency).

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 14th, 2011, 11:08 pm

d spike wrote:Image
When loggers destroyed the road home, I had to get a way to get home. I also needed to transport materials through one and a half miles of axle-deep mud and clay.
I got a Datsun 720 pick-up, stripped it down to chassis, drivetrain and suspension. The tray (for want of a more accurate word which might border on the obscene - but then, so did the tray) was lightened, and a frame was mounted forward (glibly referred to as a roll-cage). This frame provided a work platform on which were mounted a seat, toolbox, a tiny instrument panel, and protected the engine from 'bush-lash'.
I abandoned the steering column shifter and instead ran two gear levers through the floor attached directly to the two shift-arms on the gearbox. An open-minded person, aware of how a 720 gearbox works, would understand how easily this system could operate. One stick was low/high gear and the other was low/high range. 1st and 2nd were in the low range, 3rd and 4th were in the high range. However, most people who saw this vehicle, were either not acquainted with 720 gearboxes, or not open-minded, and viewed the contraption with alarm. The "forest-used" was the most favourable name - I won't print the others.

Apart from windshield wipers (duh) everything else worked : lights, front and rear (front lights were fogs, rear lights mounted on the 'roll bar'), horn. She had a seatbelt and a fire extinguisher (mounted forward), radio and a CB set.

The additional power gained from no longer having to drag around excess weight, and the 720's fantastic low 1st gear enabled me to use her like a tractor, dragging logs (and Betsy, my 120y, who got stuck or slid off the road with alarming frequency).

There's no argument that Forest -used belongs on the old car posse
I love it .Love it, Love it
Add a v8 and we just might have the makings of a RAT ROD .

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2011, 1:38 am

spike, one day it should be returned to it's former "glory" eh. :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2011, 9:09 am

is de dog u talkin abuot, right?

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 15th, 2011, 7:43 pm

MG Man wrote:is de dog u talkin abuot, right?

Allyuh notice it have license plate .It have insurance too

d spike

Postby d spike » December 15th, 2011, 8:15 pm

NOMOSS wrote:Allyuh notice it have license plate .It have insurance too

"Had", lad. "Had".
wagonrunner wrote:spike, one day it should be returned to it's former "glory" eh.

Afraid not. One dry season, I converted a storeroom at the base of a hill below the house into a garage. This worked well until the rains came. The hill turned to slush before I could get her out. Unable to climb the hill, she stayed in that garage until people wanted the parts more than I wanted her. Not much is left of the old girl.
Last edited by d spike on December 15th, 2011, 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » December 15th, 2011, 8:20 pm

Found old pics, faded, yellowed... .
This is the original "Old Car Posse" (or "OCP" as the group was called).

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 15th, 2011, 8:44 pm

d spike wrote:Found old pics, faded, yellowed... .
This is the original "Old Car Posse" (or "OCP" as the group was called).

the original OCP ..Old Car Posse.Those were good times,getting 40 to 60 miles to the quart of oil ,Sling shot brakes,bazooka in the trunk, a battery with only 5 good working cells and the sixth blowing bubbles like a cream soda,and 4 foreign used tyres , 3 slicks and one cutting the second ply of canvas with 2 more to go before it gut right through.Memories oh the memories

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 16th, 2011, 6:39 am

nigie

Postby nigie » December 16th, 2011, 8:02 am

NOMOSS wrote:Image

You did this ...or is this a foreign pic?

d spike

Postby d spike » December 16th, 2011, 5:13 pm

What happened to this condenser? It looks like something hit it from above... or was something heavy resting on it with the cap off?
Those points real small... what engine is this off of?

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 16th, 2011, 5:24 pm

nigie wrote:

You did this ...or is this a foreign pic?
foreign ,but I know where One will look really cool

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 16th, 2011, 5:25 pm

d spike wrote:

What happened to this condenser? It looks like something hit it from above... or was something heavy resting on it with the cap off?
Those points real small... what engine is this off of?
some british car cant say for sure

d spike

Postby d spike » December 16th, 2011, 7:29 pm

My name is Spike and I am an old car addict. Finding an old heap, fixing it up and giving the owner of a newer car a run for his money – that’s a thrill all its own...
Face it, a newer ride outruns you, he can’t brag without looking silly – you whip his tail, he looks worse.

The story started with Betsy, a 210B 120y, in which I put an A15 engine, modifying it over time. After many fun years I started dexing, but by then, illegal loggers started destroying much of the 4 mile long road to my home through the forest. That was the end of the road, that was the end of Solodex participation, and after a year and some, that was the end of Betsy.

I then acquired a Vauxhall Viva shell and put Betsy’s engine in it. Other modifications followed. A young, inexperienced fool, full of empty words in an emptier head, referred to it as a “Frankenstein car” due to the multiple sources of parts used: Datsun engine, Vauxhall body, Cortina suspension, Nissan B13 rear disc brakes. His idea of modifying a car seems to be limited to putting on a turbo and changing wheels. Frankenstein, huh? I’ll scare the crap out of him if I ever meet him on the road. (Remarkable thing, most of those remark-makers don’t own cars..)

Here is a shot from that first makeover...

here's a shot of ol' Betsy's heart - A15 polished, ported, shaved, "4 into 1" headers...

Then for a dex in Wallerfield, I tried on a 32/36 Weber. Didn't take it off afterwards. Ever.

then it turned out that the paint job (this one)
was only meant to look good as long as it took the ink on the cheque to dry (that I swore was the last time I ever paid anyone to do anything to any of my vehicles) and the old girl started looking like she had alligator in her ancestry. When I couldn't stand the badly sunburned look anymore, and with a Solodex coming up in a few days' time, I cursed the Bling gods and their acolytes, then whipped out the brush and the red Chinese lacquer. It was the precise colour I had wanted - the peeling paint had looked orange in bright sunlight. However, after viewing the sore's bandage, I put old Nick on the bonnet...
That way, after viewing the unholy thing on the bonnet, the paintwork might seem less hideous.

Then later, a high-compression, Burton-modified Kent went in, 1600cc of sheer joy. Good lord, that engine could run...
Even though the Datsun A15 (modified by yours truly) had a grand kick (and I will always love that engine) the Burton-modified Kent was like lighting a fire with gasoline when you're accustomed to starting a fire with gazette paper...
(It used to reside under NOMOSS' Escort's bonnet before he started running a 2-litre Pinto in his Escort. It was dropped into another Escort, which I acquired in order to get my greasy paws on that particular Kent - the Escort is still hiding in the back of the garage... a future project car...)
The Kent came with factory-built extractors and ran a 32/36 Weber. (NOMOSS' original manifold for the Kent was replaced by the following owner with a manifold that used the single-throat Weber. Thanks to metal scavengers, this beautiful piece of aluminium is now a crude pot or plateen somewhere - "tawa" fuh dem dat eh know wat ah "plateen" is :lol: - I built a plate to run the 32/36 Weber, and later acquired an early model "T-type" intake manifold (Cortina Mark II era), but neither manifold flowed as well as the original :( . )
The torque of this engine was remarkable and the headers put the power-band right where I needed it... driving it in Solodex (after running the A15) was crazy for a while - I'd stick it in 2nd gear and leave it there until the race was over, just using the accelerator to control the car!
(Sadly, no pics of this engine... :cry: )

She was picked, along with some really grand cars, to appear in the background of a movie set in Trinidad in the 70's. (She is only in two scenes, driving past Country Club with a green Hillman Minx coming in the opposite direction as a yellow Toyota drives into the Club, and driving past a white convertible Parisienne in St. Anns.)
I had to spray-paint Old Nick off the bonnet, and remove the plastic wing-mirrors in order for the car to take part in the filming.
A very good friend, hearing that the Viva was in need of era-correct wing-mirrors, gallantly offered me a pair. They now make the car look great! :mrgreen:

Then I replaced "Old Nick" with "Ben Spannerman" (my name for him) as he seemed to fit the persona of the car far better than the tribal horned skull of Old Nick.
This red ghoul was actually part of a logo for a 1960's hot-rod group.

Then, halfway through 2010, the Kent started suffering from a serious blow-by problem - oil had taken to gushing up out of the dipstick line. It got so bad that my last trip up to ARC for Solodex blew more than one quart out.
When on my second run, she started losing power and threatening to stall every time my right foot touched the accelerator, that was the last straw.
When I checked later, it turned out that the check-valve wasn't pleased with it's position, and was in the process of unscrewing itself.

While that wasn't the fault of the Kent, she did need a rebuild... so, after considering the evidence before me. I passed sentence.
The time had come to give the Viva a 2-litre Pinto.

The Burton-modified Kent will get a rebuild and a sabbatical while the Escort is completed. Then she will return to her original ride.

This is where she has reached:
I have a set of RS 2000 type extractors for this engine but I have to re-shape a couple of bends in the headers to fit, so the original manifold is still in place.

All I can say is that the torque of the stock 2-litre is wild... and a bit addictive. The end result is that I now have to replace ALL the bushings on the rear suspension.
:( :twisted:
God knows how she will behave with a shaved head and extractors...
Last edited by d spike on December 16th, 2011, 8:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby MG Man » December 16th, 2011, 7:36 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 17th, 2011, 3:11 am

d spike I hope you dont mind but the yellow pic was urking me so I tried this:

Hope its no problem.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 17th, 2011, 4:20 am

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 17th, 2011, 6:41 am

jnqaz wrote:Image

SLOW?? what the car or the project.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » December 17th, 2011, 8:24 am

his signature is "slow." NOMOSS.

Good stuff guys, keep it coming.

d spike

Postby d spike » December 17th, 2011, 12:23 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:d spike I hope you dont mind but the yellow pic was urking me so I tried this:

Hope its no problem.

:D :D :D
Not at all! The black & white looks great.
That roll of shots was lost to me for about ten years... :( bagged with garbage and left to weather the elements... found it and had it transferred to a CD... this was the best they could do.
(I had given the original members of "the OCP" larger "picture-frame" sized copies of this same shot for Christmas that very year... I guess if I could prise one of those copies from a member's grasp, I could get another copy made for myself... HINT, HINT, HINT, NOMOSS... HINT, HINT, HINT... :wink: )

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 17th, 2011, 1:43 pm

NOMOSS wrote:
jnqaz wrote:[img]http://fastcache.gawkerassets.com/assets/images/12/2011/05/topshot.jpg[img]

SLOW?? what the car or the project.

both lol
Thats not my car though. Someone else "rat rod" a new camaro :lol:

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 17th, 2011, 7:34 pm

Paullct wrote:his signature is "slow." NOMOSS.

Good stuff guys, keep it coming.

OK i came across like a real Einstein there

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 17th, 2011, 7:36 pm

d spike wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:d spike I hope you dont mind but the yellow pic was urking me so I tried this:

Hope its no problem.

That roll of shots was lost to me for about ten years... :( bagged with garbage and left to weather the elements... found it and had it transferred to a CD... this was the best they could do.
(I had given the original members of "the OCP" larger "picture-frame" sized copies of this same shot for Christmas that very year... I guess if I could prise one of those copies from a member's grasp, I could get another copy made for myself... HINT, HINT, HINT, NOMOSS... HINT, HINT, HINT... :wink: )

I still have it but its a bit degraded but nothing that cant be fixed

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 19th, 2011, 11:10 pm

This is driving

Last edited by NOMOSS on December 19th, 2011, 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 19th, 2011, 11:12 pm

OLD vs NEW

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 19th, 2011, 11:18 pm

OLD vs NEW

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 19th, 2011, 11:25 pm

[b]Classic old car racing: Vauxhall 2300CC vs ford escort 1600CC vs Chevy Camaro 350CID[/b]

Last edited by NOMOSS on December 20th, 2011, 6:18 am, edited 3 times in total.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 19th, 2011, 11:32 pm

Ford 4 cyl. 1700 cc turbo ..8.8 secs.

Last edited by NOMOSS on December 20th, 2011, 6:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2011, 2:08 am

d spike wrote:

Hope its no problem.

If you have more you would like to get rid of the yellow tint off just pm me. Id gladly help out :D