Hyundai Accent Turbo Diesel

Postby sliderz1 » August 11th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Hyundai launched the 2012 model Accent recently @ N&M with a couple executives promoting the brand........what caught my attention was the availability of the 4door sedan in 1.6 Turbo Diesel @126hp
http://worldwide.hyundai.com/showroom/p ... tions.html

anyone did a test drive??

i'm not one to trade in my Frontier for one of these................. but a Diesel car = awesome!!

will need to get a price quote.......................

zcarz

Re: Hyundai Accent Turbo Diesel

Postby zcarz » August 11th, 2011, 10:26 pm

jeez that looking nice, and with the low end torque it gonna rell pull, the horsepower figure not bad either !

Postby Morpheus » August 12th, 2011, 12:18 am

That is a spot in itself>>A nice Accent!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 12th, 2011, 11:46 am

diesel car..bleh!!
Looks good tho

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 12th, 2011, 12:35 pm

It's got 126hp and about 195 ft-lbs of torque :shock:

I was interested in the Elantra but this package is sounding better. Now if only the Elantra came with the diesel

Postby cinco » August 12th, 2011, 2:16 pm

saw one of these in tobago of all places dont know if it was diesel
but i thought it was the elantra until i got close
really HUGE looking vehicle

Postby sliderz1 » August 12th, 2011, 7:05 pm

trini mk5 wrote:diesel car..bleh!!

its a turbo diesel.........maybe no navara pace but economy for long distance commuters will hold .......besides diesel @ $1.50 or super/premium @ $2.70/4.00 per litre

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 12th, 2011, 7:16 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:diesel car..bleh!!

its a turbo diesel.........maybe no navara pace but economy for long distance commuters will hold .......besides diesel @ $1.50 or super/premium @ $2.70/4.00 per litre

I was never a fan of a diesel car, a van yes not a car.
But thats just me :|

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 12th, 2011, 9:20 pm

^why, i'm sure it's gonna be impressively powerful and pretty quiet, the turbodiesel is always a good option.. dont know why japanese manufacturers dont start implementing this.. in england half of the cars are turbo diesel

Postby sliderz1 » August 18th, 2011, 9:46 pm

Postby Morpheus » August 18th, 2011, 10:26 pm

Damn... everybody tiptronic now. 6 speed auto? :)

Never thought I would give an Accent a thumbs up. But I think I would take this over a Yaris..... depending on price of course :twisted:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 19th, 2011, 6:42 am

Morpheus wrote:Damn... everybody tiptronic now. 6 speed auto? :)

Never thought I would give an Accent a thumbs up. But I think I would take this over a Yaris..... depending on price of course :twisted:

Hehehe... daiz nutting man.
The new 3.0L V6 commonrail turbo diesel Navara in the UK has a 7-speed auto gearbox.
Pushes 200hp (our local navara's make 170HP) and 550Nm torque (local nav's make 400Nm, 3.0L ranger makes 380Nm, 3.0L Hilux makes 356Nm and 3.2L Sportero makes 353Nm).

The accent isn't gonna pull and haul load like a pickup - but that 196lb/ft torque will come in VERY handy when overtaking, and imagine the astonishing fuel economy.

I think I remember reading an article in Car & Driver mag a few years back, about how the Korean car manufacturers goal was to either equal or outdistance Japanese manufacturer's standards by the end of the decade.

I'd say that they reach!

Postby Morpheus » August 19th, 2011, 7:43 pm

lighthammer wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Damn... everybody tiptronic now. 6 speed auto? :)

Hehehe... daiz nutting man.
The new 3.0L V6 commonrail turbo diesel Navara in the UK has a 7-speed auto gearbox.
Pushes 200hp (our local navara's make 170HP) and 550Nm torque (local nav's make 400Nm, 3.0L ranger makes 380Nm, 3.0L Hilux makes 356Nm and 3.2L Sportero makes 353Nm).

The accent isn't gonna pull and haul load like a pickup - but that 196lb/ft torque will come in VERY handy when overtaking, and imagine the astonishing fuel economy.

I think I remember reading an article in Car & Driver mag a few years back, about how the Korean car manufacturers goal was to either equal or outdistance Japanese manufacturer's standards by the end of the decade.

I'd say that they reach!

^^I agree :shock:

Postby sliderz1 » August 19th, 2011, 8:02 pm

lighthammer wrote:Hehehe... daiz nutting man.

u and i both know the Navara is in a class by itself 8-) 8-)

lighthammer wrote:The accent isn't gonna pull and haul load like a pickup - but that 196lb/ft torque will come in VERY handy when overtaking, and imagine the astonishing fuel economy.

remem the curb weight of a 'compact' car is significantly less than any given pickup

the gasoline engine is rated at 40mpg highway with diesel being 33 1/3% more efficient than a gas engine (1.6gas vs 1.6TD)............means it should be just over 50mpg :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby bushwakka » September 4th, 2011, 11:08 pm

i did a test drive of this just for so.....i must say i was impressed by the pickup of the car, its a 4 spd auto, the 1,2,3 gear ratios are well thought out and it gives the car very good take off acceleration. feels like a dream to drive. however as my test drive consisted of going over the hill an round the savannah, i didnt get a chance to run out the 3rd gear or chk out 4th really so i dont know the top speed of the car

overall, the build quality of the car seems pretty standard (cheap - u get what u pay for a vehicle of that class) and thats my one gripe with buying a car like that for $180. Is it gonna last? i dunno.....too many interior components and finishers made with that cheap plastic that u know is jus gonna fail/break with time.

comes with some other nice features like steering controls for audio, integrated bluetooth, 4 wheel disc brakes (14"rims tho) etc etc

Postby sliderz1 » September 5th, 2011, 6:29 pm

4speed auto in a diesel?? hmmm...........

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 8th, 2011, 11:14 pm

...its not a van, dosen't have to pull heavy load, dosen't need short gear rations etc..

nice hp figures though...what's the torque like?

Postby sliderz1 » September 9th, 2011, 3:14 pm

madaz

Postby madaz » September 10th, 2011, 8:22 pm

I got me one! $60 tank full!

$10 to mayaro and back, from p/town!

Bess thing since slice bread

features great! USB, Btooth! Big Big trunk! Spacious interior seats 4 comfortable!

not too nice around corners, but thats all good!

Bess is the look on all them van man face when yuh pull up by the pump in the gas station!

Postby sliderz1 » September 10th, 2011, 8:36 pm

^^nice
saw quite a few today as well.......
....not sure which was diesel maybe thats a good thing!! :D

madaz

Postby madaz » September 11th, 2011, 10:10 am

there's the badge to the side on the fender i think! CRDI thats all!

Postby cinco » September 12th, 2011, 7:12 am

madaz wrote:I got me one! $60 tank full!

features great! USB, Btooth! Big Big trunk! Spacious interior seats 4 comfortable!

Bess is the look on all them van man face when yuh pull up by the pump in the gas station!

sweet !!!! i will wait 3 years and pay you 30k for it :lol: :lol: :lol:
failed trini perception ftw

madaz

Postby madaz » September 12th, 2011, 1:55 pm

^^^^^^^ you there! good one, did i say i bought it? Ummmm NO!

failed trini perception ftw

:D

Postby cinco » September 12th, 2011, 2:09 pm

well you said you have one
but dont matter the ones that are out there now i will sure find a seller in 3 yrs

srnoth

Postby srnoth » September 13th, 2011, 3:52 pm

How much is N&M selling the diesel version for?

gundelero

Postby gundelero » September 14th, 2011, 8:05 pm

wow...looking good.
the kia cerato koup 1.6L rated at 124hp

Postby teems1 » March 11th, 2012, 9:33 pm

madaz wrote:I got me one! $60 tank full!

got mine a week now, got it with full tank @ n&m, and after driving 620km tank went from 12/12 bars to 2/12 bars (gas gauge is one of those electric thingys now, no longer a needle)

put in 40 dollars diesel, thing went back up to 11/12. i was like dayum!!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 12th, 2012, 8:28 am

wow this looking like a nice buy, any details about the costing and details about the cost of maintenance at n&m?

Postby MG Man » March 12th, 2012, 10:33 am

my only issue with the Accent is when u put two people in the back, it hangs down like it have no springs....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 12th, 2012, 1:03 pm

MG Man wrote:my only issue with the Accent is when u put two people in the back, it hangs down like it have no springs....

Stop putting mampies in the back seat then.

I never had that problem with the Accent (1996 model) that I used to drive.