Like I buy d wrong car: "Japanese cars most reliable..."

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 8:16 am

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-18973775

Like I shouldna buy Euro :(

"Japanese carmakers Honda, Toyota and Lexus have been named the most reliable used car brands in the UK in a survey by What Car? and Warranty Direct.

Suzuki and Subaru, also Japanese, were ranked fourth and fifth respectively in the survey of cars between three and 10 years old.

South Korean carmaker Hyundai shared sixth place with Japan's Mazda and Mitsubishi.

By contrast, Land Rover was the least reliable marque surveyed.

Other luxury car brands, including Audi, Jaguar and Mercedes, were also among the 10 least reliable.

"They need to do better," said What Car?'s editor in chief, Chas Hallett, insisting these marques' poor reliability would be "surprising to many".

"Reliability is so important to motorists, especially when times are tough."

'Increasingly complex'
Owners of used Hondas have a 10% chance of their cars suffering a breakdown, according to the survey of 50,000 Warranty Direct policies.

"Japanese carmakers really do deliver on reliability and Honda is exceptionally good at this," said Mr Hallett, pointing out that this was the seventh year in a row when Honda topped the ranking.

US carmaker Chevrolet was the only non-Asian marque to rank as one of the 10 most reliable used cars.

Some 22% of Chevrolets break down at least once each year.

By comparison, the worst performing Japanese brand was Nissan, with a failure rate of 25%, just ahead of South Korea's Kia at 26%.

By contrast, seven in 10 Land Rover owners will experience a breakdown in any given year, the survey said.

Failure rates for other luxury marques was better at between 41% and 45%, while most mainstream European brands had failure rates of between 31% and 55%.

"Cars have become increasingly complex, with lots of gadgetry on board, especially on executive models, where buyers expect more and more bang for their buck," said Warranty Direct's managing director, Duncan McClure Fisher."

Re: Like I buy d wrong car: "Japanese cars most reliable..."

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2012, 8:23 am

so u didnt know that?
Land rover Audi and Volkswagen have had some of the most dismal reliability ratings over the years even in JD Powers ratings

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 26th, 2012, 8:29 am

cinco wrote:so u didnt know that?
Land rover Audi and Volkswagen have had some of the most dismal reliability ratings over the years even in JD Powers ratings

LR/ audi yes but I always thought the VW's were like tanks?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 26th, 2012, 8:35 am

My Chevrolet optra is 3 year's old. Had one breakdown since. Once the battery was dead, my fault for not checking that one.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 8:53 am

I doh really care. Was just being melodramatic :(
I would rather take slightly more problematic but exciting to drive car over one that is reliable but boring.

Re: Like I buy d wrong car:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 8:58 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:My Chevrolet optra is 3 year's old. Had one breakdown since. Once the battery was dead, my fault for not checking that one.

Good stuff. Sadly these types of one by one stories don't always paint a clear picture. Surveys like this one and say Top Gear's are pretty much are the only way to get a clear idea of who is really reliable.

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2012, 9:04 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

I would rather take slightly more problematic but exciting to drive car over one that is reliable but boring.

exciting and u bought a VW???
if u want exciting and problematic buy an Alfa

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 26th, 2012, 9:06 am

heard some horror stories with older audis and the electrical. i never really seen the sense in buying a used euro unless you really "always wanted one" of a certain type of car. older M3 etc.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 26th, 2012, 9:06 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:My Chevrolet optra is 3 year's old. Had one breakdown since. Once the battery was dead, my fault for not checking that one.

Good stuff. Sadly these types of one by one stories don't always paint a clear picture. Surveys like this one and say Top Gear's are pretty much are the only way to get a clear idea of who is really reliable.

I think about two to three times servicing every year could help.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 9:07 am

cinco wrote:

exciting and u bought a VW???
if u want exciting and problematic buy an Alfa

LOL well a certain level of problematic then. Plus who is d dealer for Alfa here? And trust me. The TSI Jetta is exciting compared to other new cars in that price bracket.

Re: Like I buy d wrong car:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 9:08 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

I think about two to three times servicing every year could help.

Good point. To me that should be a given but I not sure if these surveys take this into account.

Postby Habit7 » July 26th, 2012, 9:39 am

I have always said that Japanese cars are more reliable because of the lack of complexity. Euros tend to have more moving parts and intricate electronics that gives a greater chance for failure but greater luxury and performance. Obviously my turbocharged electronicly control fuel injected engine will have a great chance of breakdown than your 1990's normally aspirated carburetor engine.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 9:59 am

Habit you going hard. Men gonna come kicking and screaming they have 90's fuel injected engine.

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:15 am

I have to say, I was disappointed when my sis 2 year old A4 blew a coil pack........then blew the trunk solenoid, then blew a door window regulator..........granted the parts were not particularly expensive when compared to Toyota, but you'd expect better

We had better luck with the MINI, even though ours is the 2002 'glitchy' model...........we expected power steering failure but it took 8 years to occur........not bad imo.......

Still rather buy a european car............once you drive one, Japanese cars feel like sheit..........

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 11:18 am

How did the dealer treat with the A4 issues? I'm guessing all those solenoids and regulators are warranty issues and replaced for free? By the way I'm assuming it's the Trinidad dealer we talking about here.

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:22 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:How did the dealer treat with the A4 issues? I'm guessing all those solenoids and regulators are warranty issues and replaced for free? By the way I'm assuming it's the Trinidad dealer we talking about here.

yup, local, company car, so the dealer treats them well.......but I believe the company was billed......maybe that stuff happened after 3 years, not 2.........but imo those things should nt have gone bad.......I mean, our 11 year old cheapass local Corolla has had no issues whatsoever, even when treated with neglect........still feel safer in the MINI tho.....she took a lash from a truck like a bauce

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 11:25 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:How did the dealer treat with the A4 issues? I'm guessing all those solenoids and regulators are warranty issues and replaced for free? By the way I'm assuming it's the Trinidad dealer we talking about here.

yup, local, company car, so the dealer treats them well.......but I believe the company was billed......maybe that stuff happened after 3 years, not 2.........but imo those things should nt have gone bad.......I mean, our 11 year old cheapass local Corolla has had no issues whatsoever, even when treated with neglect........still feel safer in the MINI tho.....she took a lash from a truck like a bauce

I agree them things shouldn't have gone so early but when it's a company car noone cares about minor repairs like a personal owner would.

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:27 am

nah you care when it's your life and you stranded on the side of the road..........she treated that company like it was her own..........when she sold it, the new buyer never even drove it.........he just saw the condition and agreed to buy it........not everyone abuses company vehicles

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 11:28 am

What did she end up buying afterwards?

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:30 am

her new company car is a RAV4............the price ceiling remained the same, and the RAV barely even made it onto the list.........when she got the A4 it was listed at 230k (base model)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 11:31 am

So amm...japanese win again then.

Postby Habit7 » July 26th, 2012, 11:31 am

My Fiat Bravo 2 months into having it got a air bag warning and I had to change the airbag ECU. My Mazda 3 which is around the same age, never had a problem.

Which one is cheaper, more refined, more fun to drive, more powerful, more frugal, more tech (bluetooth, infotainment sys, etc)? The Euro.

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:35 am

fiat is stress

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2012, 11:36 am

not to sound like Stephon eh
but fiat bravo more fun to drive than a mazda 3?
i find that very hard to believe

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:39 am

well technically the 3 issa euro anyway ;p

Postby Habit7 » July 26th, 2012, 11:56 am

cinco wrote:not to sound like Stephon eh
but fiat bravo more fun to drive than a mazda 3?
i find that very hard to believe

Well that is why I could tell Stephon he is going overboard.
But I wont get into a lengthy debate just read if you want to
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/2011/11/27 ... nd-wind-4/
http://issuu.com/ZORCE/docs/zorce13/21

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2012, 12:03 pm

i dont understand why you are posting articles :?
it is called an opinion and similar to arseholes everyone has one

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 12:14 pm

yup
I have an arsehole

Postby Habit7 » July 26th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Well I just thought you might want an informed opinion the next time you try countering experiential accounts with one.

MG Man wrote:fiat is stress

Actually Fiat beat Mini and MG in the same survey

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 2:08 pm

By d way cinco wha u consider as "fun" to drive?