My First Generation RX7 Project

Bezman

Re: My First Generation RX7 Project

Postby Bezman » February 3rd, 2014, 1:03 pm

Yup!! That's why if you notice that fc knuckle has a custom lowered tie rod mount. This helps a bit. But also looking into all adjustable spherical joints for all these mounting points. Try to dial back in the best geometry.

handsomeRob2837

Postby handsomeRob2837 » February 3rd, 2014, 3:41 pm

hindian wrote:Is it me or in the pic above the car supported on the tow eye :shock:

Looks very safe. Lol

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 4th, 2014, 12:20 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391530729.541486.jpg

Lots of learning material.

Original 82 rx7 Factory service manual and wiring diagrams, Haynes service manual, mazda trix rotary rebuild DVD and street rotary tuning and engine building.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 8th, 2014, 6:20 pm

As you're second guessing the Mariah kit...

When I do get around to a 7, this is what I'm gonna be going for:

My dad says he's not a fan of that front dam though. Thinks it spoils the 'wedge' look.

Not a fan of this chin spoiler though. But the rest of the car looks tight, I think. Even the super low drop.

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2014, 9:53 pm

that last pic!!!!!

btw doh forget to send me the stuff u wrote :)

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 8th, 2014, 10:26 pm

MG Man wrote:that last pic!!!!!

btw doh forget to send me the stuff u wrote :)

Will do, MG!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 8th, 2014, 11:01 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391914872.980461.jpg

Best ZG flared first gen IMHO

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 8th, 2014, 11:17 pm

Yunno, I saw that pic Bez, and it looks good, but a couple things bother me a bit. I don't know if it's the angle of that pic but the spoiler looks a bit bigger than the usual wrap around ducktail. The wheels look a bit too big (17s?) and it seems a bit high. And I'm a big fan of red and black combo colour scheme but it just doesn't seem to work in this pic. I don't think I like that front spoiler either.

Any new pics of yours?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 9th, 2014, 12:22 am

Yeah but nothing really worth posting. In the process of completely stripping out the interior to put away in my new rx7 room :)

Gonna be doing the brake/suspension swap after carnival and lots of other things and will prob post kore updates then

Just tripped out by the loss of Rawle. He was a fellow rota head and was now completing his first gen, that I almost bought from him last year. We were always in touch and he planned to pass and and check the car soon. Just spoke to him last month. So sad.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 14th, 2014, 5:14 pm

Might be going to check out one tomorrow :mrgreen:

moti

Postby moti » February 14th, 2014, 10:15 pm

Sweet, keep us posted.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » February 23rd, 2014, 12:42 pm

Subbed!

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » February 27th, 2014, 7:39 am

Bezman wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391914872.980461.jpg

Best ZG flared first gen IMHO

Those rims are very similiar to patterns in either xxr or rotas if i remember correctly, in case you wanted to get a set like it.
Shopboy from claxton bay on the forums may have one right now similar colour scheme. Don't remember hole pattern. But it was wide.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » March 4th, 2014, 11:07 am

Subscribed

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 6th, 2014, 11:33 am

ok firetruck dat, we going boosted. looking for a Series 5 TII or Series 6 REW motor... time to kick this project into a gear.

moti

Postby moti » March 6th, 2014, 11:37 am

Hahaha, know this was not going to be an NA build.

Not much people go the NA route anymore, too much power to be made I guess.
And some just don't have the balls to stay N/A.

I know however, this will be one hell of a build though.
What numbers you looking to get out of it.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 6th, 2014, 11:42 am

i decided to keep the kit so not going na as the kit just looks like the car should be fast

going for 350whp, will post parts list later, have it on my ipad.

moti

Postby moti » March 6th, 2014, 11:45 am

Yes!

That kit really would be silly with only 150 at the wheels and would make it more like rice than performance.

But 350whp is just playing figures though.
That will be increased somewhere in the build, I mean it's you we talking about.

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » March 6th, 2014, 12:47 pm

Thank you!

Postby Ted_v2 » March 6th, 2014, 12:50 pm

Excellent news

Postby black start » March 6th, 2014, 12:52 pm

In for power updates...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 6th, 2014, 7:05 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394146982.312949.jpg

Pulled down the front suspension this afternoon. Going to install the FC 2nd gen rx7 5 lug big brake swap this weekend also going to pull the rear axles to have them drilled to 5x114.3 as well.

moti

Postby moti » March 6th, 2014, 7:11 pm

^^ No IRS?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 6th, 2014, 7:27 pm

Why would I put in irs from another car with different geometry in my rx7 when ppl been racing first gens for decades with the original setup?? C'mon Moti. Don't expect that from you :lol:

moti

Postby moti » March 6th, 2014, 8:28 pm

Bezman wrote:Why would I put in irs from another car with different geometry in my rx7 when ppl been racing first gens for decades with the original setup?? C'mon Moti. Don't expect that from you :lol:

Eh eh, look here. :oops:

Also not too sure with the upgrades for that chassis for a solid rear axle.

But you do seem to be on point there.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 7th, 2014, 5:22 pm

Rear setup is almost identical to the AE86 and early mustangs. Got solid axle with upper and lower control arms with a watts linkage and sway bar.

Lots of ppl weld the watts link and add an pan hard bar. Others leave it. Run a bigger sway bar and coilovers. Lots of options out there. Rx7club.com has a 1st gen specific racing section with lots of racing suspension setups from scca and IMSA race cars.

moti

Postby moti » March 7th, 2014, 9:03 pm

Cool Bez.

Can't wait for this car to reach to a state where you will drive it to an event or two.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 9th, 2014, 6:56 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394405212.422916.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394405243.307568.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394405283.489534.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394405305.008639.jpg

Started the FC brake/hub swap, got the hubs and brakes from rotary brain this morning. Thanks again bro..

I also drained the gas tank and prepped it to take down this week and send off to clean etc.

Finished gutting the interior (except for the dash, can't decide if to remove or not). I also installed the new rear wiper motor I got. Can't find the rear wiper now lol. It's somewhere in my parts room which is not almost full and I can't get to the back.

Ordered new power antenna, windscreen clips/trim, also got a mint pair or power mirrors off eBay for $640 TTD (normally go for 350++ usd)

Also went and saw couple engines, things coming to come. Hadda make some decisions on what to do.

Just want to get the suspension in and the car rolling again. Will order my new wheels as the suspension is in and once the car is rolling, and now that I have all the trim pieces and the car is pretty complete, I'll prob send it to paint one time and build engine while car painting etc

More updates soon when parts start coming in.

Postby MG Man » March 11th, 2014, 10:12 am

this ched makes me tingle in inappropriate ways

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 11th, 2014, 8:03 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394582550.298992.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394582563.633218.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394582576.780464.jpg

Someone order some big brakes on their first gen?? This guy did!!

Fabricating my Coilovers next!