Running Dex in Automatic....

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Postby MG Man » April 23rd, 2008, 12:13 pm

MG Man wrote:you should be beaten with your own car :mrgreen:

says the fella with a SR18-DET in his HSR :poke:

funny u shud say that
jus last nite Hammond was like 'buy yuh too blasted harden...yuh hadda get ah engine wid parts yuh cud find dong here...........doh worry, ah Vauxhall logo go work up real nice on de SR cam cover an look normal normal...' :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 23rd, 2008, 12:19 pm

MG, you really put a SR20 engine in the HSR ??

Dat sucks.

Postby wagonrunner » April 23rd, 2008, 1:10 pm

MG Man wrote:jus last nite Hammond was like 'buy yuh too blasted harden...yuh hadda get ah engine wid parts yuh cud find dong here...........doh worry, ah Vauxhall logo go work up real nice on de SR cam cover an look normal normal...' :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

hahahaahaahahah
and make sure it mount at a 45 degrees.......... :rofl:
btw, when hammond getting out d hospital? :lol:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » April 26th, 2008, 8:23 am

I could share the secret to success, but not everyone can drink as much rum as me :D

Kirk

Postby wagonrunner » April 27th, 2008, 12:08 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:I could share the secret to success, but not everyone can drink as much rum as me :D
Kirk

sigh, since 2006 i have had to compete without meh competitive advantage. :( :( :(

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 30th, 2008, 3:08 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:I could share the secret to success, but not everyone can drink as much rum as me :D

Kirk

Hmmmm.......a title for the next chinee kick-up?

"39th chamber of the drunken racer"........ :shock:

Postby eliteauto » May 1st, 2008, 11:09 am

ran mine in auto last weekend, keeping it in "2", my problem was coming into a corner and decelerating resulted in the car dropping into "L" so on exit the car was out it's powerband, if I could keep it from doing so it would be nice :mrgreen:

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » May 1st, 2008, 11:54 am

^^^^x2

I'm suffering with the same problem.

Postby SUPAstarr » May 1st, 2008, 3:04 pm

^^^^ i had that problem once, but im no great driver, i was flooring it midway through the corner

Postby wagonrunner » May 1st, 2008, 3:19 pm

diving cl101's car, the problem wasnt from flooring it.
i don't know where it would try to downshift, so was unable to dpress pedal further without it staying in 2.
cl101, only thing could help us there is practice.
drivie the car slowly, let the shift into 2, and then observe at what rpm / throttle position it wont downshift. same should apply next time its cornering, oho, and tell me, so i can try to prevent it if i get to drive it again. :mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » May 2nd, 2008, 9:56 am

wagonrunner wrote:diving cl101's car, the problem wasnt from flooring it.
i don't know where it would try to downshift, so was unable to dpress pedal further without it staying in 2.
cl101, only thing could help us there is practice.
drivie the car slowly, let the shift into 2, and then observe at what rpm / throttle position it wont downshift. same should apply next time its cornering, oho, and tell me, so i can try to prevent it if i get to drive it again. :mrgreen:

makes sense will do 8-)

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » May 6th, 2008, 4:45 pm

Secret to success in dexing an auto is:

MOMENTUM, MOMENTUM, MOMENTUM AND MOMENTUM.

Any questions?

Kirk

Postby MG Man » May 6th, 2008, 6:26 pm

Kirk, do you think momentum has anything to do with doing well at dex?

Postby X2 » May 7th, 2008, 2:01 pm

What is momentum ?

Does it have anything to do with fermentation ?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » May 7th, 2008, 4:37 pm

^Actually, depending on the situation, yes :lol:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 8th, 2008, 8:03 am

^^Hmmm......that's it right there!

Waggonrunner and Mr. Fixables are both avid consumers of the products of fermentation and they are both good momentum drivers!..... :lol:

Postby eliteauto » February 20th, 2009, 9:51 pm

bump for the '09 auto drivers

Postby honda hoe » February 25th, 2009, 11:44 am

MG Man wrote:manual FTW

Postby X_Factor » March 1st, 2009, 4:19 pm

so for the auto ppl
does keeping it in "2" for so long damage the tranny?
im guessing an external tranny cooler would be a great advantage here?

Postby eliteauto » March 1st, 2009, 4:26 pm

I run an external cooler and I've run dex in both 2 and L ,each car is different but I can use L because my car normally hits 83/8500 rpm on the highway in "D" so I have a little more play before I shift, I'd suggest checking the fluid after every event, I rub some between my fingers and smell it to see if it smells burnt and I change the fluid on average every 12-15 months

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 17th, 2010, 2:16 pm

*bump* for this thread. i'm a n00b to dex. been to 2 for the year so far and a bycc. interested in learning more about dexin and wanna take my auto swift sport for a run at sometime at a next bycc event. any tips :?:

Postby Razkal » March 17th, 2010, 3:22 pm

2008 NE1(or 2..) 1st place with auto ae111 corolla WITH an audio install....BOOM! :lol:

only a novice class win so i don't really count it but learned alot competing with an auto, alot more time to actually focus on being a better driver and learning the vehicle dynamics than shifting like a madman, mostly at the wrong points i'm sure....now i figure..i might be more prepared and have more use for a gearbox...

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2010, 3:23 pm

I been dickin around with the manual mode on the Mini
seems to work well enough....only challenge is keeping my eye on the gear light so when it shifts itself up to 3, I can drop it back to 2.....sometimes it just flashes past 2, straight up to 3....the key, as Wagonrunner said, is to keep momentum up..and as Fixables said, trail brake instead of diving deep into a corner and standing on the brake

Postby Razkal » March 17th, 2010, 3:30 pm

^yeah...i realised unless you have some brembo type clampers and some sticky icky tires...late braking is more prone to fail than success on the dex course....or maybe too much human error?

imo, the late braking kills off too much momentum that you can't make up with the average joe car running dex...

MG, i may need to contact you for some pleh sorting out the rx suspension, got the rear converted to irs with lsd....but it still acts finicky...the car doesn't put down staggering power so imo getting it efficiently to the ground shouldn't be that big of a problem...the old live axle setup was MURDER to drive spirited :?

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2010, 3:37 pm

late braking can work if you have the torque and traction to pull you out
it worked with the MG because I never had the traction to carry momentum thru the corners....so I used to brake late into the corner, drop a gear to get the car to turn tight and power out (using the word 'power' VERY loosely here)

Raz, the problem may not necessarily be the car eh...sometimes it's your established driving habits that need to adjust, like me with the Mini

With thew HSR, it performs better with a soft rear end and firm front. The soft rear allows you to load up the rear tyres with traction as you exit a corner.....

In terms of your setup, first thing to determine is what happens to your camber under hard cornering...

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 17th, 2010, 4:48 pm

so then, shall i do a practice run with some1, 1st time on the course, who can probably gimme some hands-on pointers/tips?

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » March 17th, 2010, 8:31 pm

X_Factor wrote:so for the auto ppl
does keeping it in "2" for so long damage the tranny?
im guessing an external tranny cooler would be a great advantage here?

How long.
the average solodex run is less than a minute, if you tranny overheating in that time then a cooler will not help you.

The march I ran last weekend is bone stock with the exception of the tires. I just put it in drive.
Kirk is right, keep it smooth and maintain your momentum up.
next time I will remember to turn off the AC.

Postby wagonrunner » March 17th, 2010, 8:43 pm

Red Dawg wrote:next time I will remember to turn off the AC.

Why? comfort and traction control = win.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » March 17th, 2010, 8:49 pm

blacktriple_s wrote:so then, shall i do a practice run with some1, 1st time on the course, who can probably gimme some hands-on pointers/tips?

I'd be willing to show you a bit of what i know....cant really help you with the automatic part tho...

Postby MG Man » March 17th, 2010, 11:51 pm

chris1388 wrote:
blacktriple_s wrote:so then, shall i do a practice run with some1, 1st time on the course, who can probably gimme some hands-on pointers/tips?

I'd be willing to show you a bit of what i know....cant really help you with the automatic part tho...

***ahem***
Step into my office
***kicks stupid CVT***

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”