Running Dex in Automatic....

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 18th, 2010, 8:02 am

chris1388 wrote:
blacktriple_s wrote:so then, shall i do a practice run with some1, 1st time on the course, who can probably gimme some hands-on pointers/tips?

I'd be willing to show you a bit of what i know....cant really help you with the automatic part tho...

chris1388, i'd appreciate fellow zuki help. we go talk on sat.

MG Man wrote:***ahem***
Step into my office
***kicks stupid CVT***

MG Man it seems that you're the automatic guru. how do i acquire some of this knowledge?

Postby SUPAstarr » March 18th, 2010, 8:13 am

three yrs in an out of dex in my auto have been great, really fun stuff, i'll get a stick shift someday

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 18th, 2010, 8:54 am

Hey all,

Hopefully, I will be in Trinidad sometime this year, and I would love to schedule it around a Dex.

I would be happy to take some auto cars around the track with the owners to give some helpful tips.

Someone volunteering a fast car for a fun run will be great too :D

Kirk

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 18th, 2010, 9:54 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:Hey all,

Hopefully, I will be in Trinidad sometime this year, and I would love to schedule it around a Dex.

I would be happy to take some auto cars around the track with the owners to give some helpful tips.

Kirk

:D nice.
Lookin fwd to it Kirk.

Postby MG Man » March 18th, 2010, 10:13 am

blacktriple_s wrote:

MG Man it seems that you're the automatic guru. how do i acquire some of this knowledge?

live, eat and breathe cars.
I read as much as I can, not just about racing, but technical analyses, bulletins, the mechanics of how different things work.....the CVT was new to me so I went back through years of tech articles and magazines to try to understand how they behave.
I used the first tow events this year to really try and figure out the best approach to using the CVT to keep the car in the right powerband. Without a dyno sheet to show me where my torque is coming in, I spent time launching the car at different RPMs to figure out the best rev-range

Other than that, talking to other dexers helps a lot. I learned a lot over the years from talking to guys like Karl, Kirk and Devi.....most of what I am doing now with the mini is directly form reading what Karl posts, and talking to him about momentum driving. Kirk has made amazing use of CVTs in the past as well, and I always paid attention when he spoke.....

Added to that, once you figure out how and where to keep the RPS up, you now need to adjust your lines to suit. My lines with the Mini are VERY different to what I cut with the MG or the HSR...it's a helluva mindset to break, going from RWD to FWD AND automatic

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » March 18th, 2010, 6:05 pm

Kirk

Let me know when you coming in and I'll try to make it back also.

Postby SUPAstarr » March 19th, 2010, 12:06 pm

Kirk

Kirk since you were a ek hatch driver, i wud love for you to teach me to handle my auto one

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 21st, 2010, 1:29 am

Not a problem.

If/when I make it down, I will probably just show up unannounced lol

Kirk

Postby MG Man » March 21st, 2010, 7:55 am

Corky's again orr? :mrgreen:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 21st, 2010, 1:49 pm

OF COURSE!! YOU KNOW DE PLAN LOL

But I would just turn up in ARC as a surprise :twisted:

Kirk

Postby MG Man » March 21st, 2010, 8:08 pm

lol well I was bloody well surprised when ah apparently random chinee behind me in traffic start shoutin meh name :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 22nd, 2010, 9:37 am

i buy a new auto car :) go try meh hand at dex in it in may

april is for energy suspension and suspension mods

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 22nd, 2010, 11:24 am

im glad to know that im not the first to run dex in an auto. :mrgreen:

Postby wagonrunner » March 22nd, 2010, 12:48 pm

blacktriple_s wrote:im glad to know that im not the first to run dex in an auto. :mrgreen:

:| ok

Postby MG Man » March 22nd, 2010, 1:23 pm

blacktriple_s wrote:im glad to know that im not the first to run dex in an auto. :mrgreen:

relax man
bring your car and just enjoy yourself
take it in stages
learn to navigate the courses, learn your car, learn about lines and braking zones etc
it will come together

evo8u

Re: Running Dex in Automatic....

Postby evo8u » March 23rd, 2010, 5:36 pm

weapon-X wrote:What i'm wondering, from the the more seasoned drivers, how to keep the RPM's up through the corners?

launch in 1st / shift to 2/nd ...forget the gearbox from there, look ahead and drive the course...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 23rd, 2010, 9:51 pm

it can be done in an auto vehicle but you will put alot of strain on the tranny!

Postby wagonrunner » March 23rd, 2010, 9:53 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:it can be done in an auto vehicle but you will put alot of strain on the tranny!

do tell.

Re: Running Dex in Automatic....

Postby MG Man » March 23rd, 2010, 10:07 pm

evo8u wrote:
weapon-X wrote:What i'm wondering, from the the more seasoned drivers, how to keep the RPM's up through the corners?

launch in 1st / shift to 2/nd ...forget the gearbox from there, look ahead and drive the course...

the key is how much speed you carry through the corner
entry and exit speed.............the more speed and momentum you can carry thru, the less you will need to rev hard to exit....with a cnventional tranny the best option is to leave it in 2

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 24th, 2010, 8:49 am

Strain on the tranny?

Many will tell you the kind of abuse I used to put my CVT through for many years (Drag Racing, Solodex and general abuse on the street) and trust me the tranny is least of your worries.

Once you do basic fluid changes to your tranny, and don't do the Neutral to Drive launches, you will be fine.

Kirk

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Hey MG man.

I heard those words before. Hmm.

Where could that have come from *scratches head* :)

Kirk

Postby eliteauto » March 24th, 2010, 10:16 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:Strain on the tranny?

Many will tell you the kind of abuse I used to put my CVT through for many years (Drag Racing, Solodex and general abuse on the street) and trust me the tranny is least of your worries.

Once you do basic fluid changes to your tranny, and don't do the Neutral to Drive launches, you will be fine.

Kirk

Kirk you hadda shout that at them, my automatic has done many dex, Toco/Mayaro/Maracas 5AM no brake runs, where I downshift for engine braking around corners allowing for RPM range and throttle response and all I did was a fluid change and transmission cooler install when I bought the car, the auto is still in perfect condition nearing 3 years later, get past the auto phobia and do basic maintenance and couple that with good suspension mods and you'll enjoy your car for what it is

Postby SUPAstarr » March 24th, 2010, 12:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Mr. Fixables wrote:Strain on the tranny?

Kirk

Kirk you hadda shout that at them, my automatic has done many dex, Toco/Mayaro/Maracas 5AM no brake runs, where I downshift for engine braking around corners allowing for RPM range and throttle response and all I did was a fluid change and transmission cooler install when I bought the car, the auto is still in perfect condition nearing 3 years later, get past the auto phobia and do basic maintenance and couple that with good suspension mods and you'll enjoy your car for what it is

co signed!!!!

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2010, 1:06 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:Hey MG man.

I heard those words before. Hmm.

Where could that have come from *scratches head* :)

Kirk

when Kirk talks, the smart ones listen

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 24th, 2010, 9:43 pm

*takes notes* :popcorn:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 25th, 2010, 8:45 am

WOW!!

I have never been accused of being Smart :mrgreen:

What drugs have you been taking lately?

Kirk

Postby MG Man » March 25th, 2010, 12:32 pm

I never called you smart, Kirk
read it again :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » March 25th, 2010, 12:39 pm

man confirm the theory yes. :lol:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 25th, 2010, 5:39 pm

Yeah. The truth hurts :(

At least I know my status has not changed LOL

Kirk

Postby MG Man » March 25th, 2010, 5:54 pm