Thursday, June 20th, 2013

- It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:17 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
blacktriple_s
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:02 am 

chris1388 wrote:
blacktriple_s wrote:
so then, shall i do a practice run with some1, 1st time on the course, who can probably gimme some hands-on pointers/tips?

I'd be willing to show you a bit of what i know....cant really help you with the automatic part tho...

chris1388, i'd appreciate fellow zuki help. we go talk on sat.

***ahem***
Step into my office
***kicks stupid CVT***

MG Man it seems that you're the automatic guru. how do i acquire some of this knowledge?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:13 am 

three yrs in an out of dex in my auto have been great, really fun stuff, i'll get a stick shift someday

Mr. Fixables
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:54 am 

Hey all,

Hopefully, I will be in Trinidad sometime this year, and I would love to schedule it around a Dex.

I would be happy to take some auto cars around the track with the owners to give some helpful tips.

Someone volunteering a fast car for a fun run will be great too :D

Kirk

2010 SCCA Autocross DSP Champion, Atlanta Region.

blacktriple_s
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:54 am 

Mr. Fixables wrote:
Hey all,

Hopefully, I will be in Trinidad sometime this year, and I would love to schedule it around a Dex.

I would be happy to take some auto cars around the track with the owners to give some helpful tips.

Kirk

:D nice.
Lookin fwd to it Kirk.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:13 am 

Location: Heeeey...this rag smells like chlorof...............
blacktriple_s wrote:

MG Man it seems that you're the automatic guru. how do i acquire some of this knowledge?

live, eat and breathe cars.
I read as much as I can, not just about racing, but technical analyses, bulletins, the mechanics of how different things work.....the CVT was new to me so I went back through years of tech articles and magazines to try to understand how they behave.
I used the first tow events this year to really try and figure out the best approach to using the CVT to keep the car in the right powerband. Without a dyno sheet to show me where my torque is coming in, I spent time launching the car at different RPMs to figure out the best rev-range

Other than that, talking to other dexers helps a lot. I learned a lot over the years from talking to guys like Karl, Kirk and Devi.....most of what I am doing now with the mini is directly form reading what Karl posts, and talking to him about momentum driving. Kirk has made amazing use of CVTs in the past as well, and I always paid attention when he spoke.....

Added to that, once you figure out how and where to keep the RPS up, you now need to adjust your lines to suit. My lines with the Mini are VERY different to what I cut with the MG or the HSR...it's a helluva mindset to break, going from RWD to FWD AND automatic

Red Dawg
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:05 pm 

Mr. Fixables wrote:
Hey all,

Kirk

Let me know when you coming in and I'll try to make it back also.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:06 pm 

Mr. Fixables wrote:
Hey all,

Kirk

Kirk since you were a ek hatch driver, i wud love for you to teach me to handle my auto one

Mr. Fixables
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 1:29 am 

Not a problem.

If/when I make it down, I will probably just show up unannounced lol

Kirk

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:55 am 

Corky's again orr? :mrgreen:

Mr. Fixables
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 1:49 pm 

OF COURSE!! YOU KNOW DE PLAN LOL

But I would just turn up in ARC as a surprise :twisted:

Kirk

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:08 pm 

lol well I was bloody well surprised when ah apparently random chinee behind me in traffic start shoutin meh name :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

MadCrix
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:37 am 

i buy a new auto car :) go try meh hand at dex in it in may

april is for energy suspension and suspension mods

Torque: How far you take the wall with you.

blacktriple_s
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:24 am 

im glad to know that im not the first to run dex in an auto. :mrgreen:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:48 pm 

Location: Relishing the "loss" of the kid gloves, because cowardice.... COWARDICE EVERYWHERE!!!!
blacktriple_s wrote:

:| ok

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:23 pm 

blacktriple_s wrote:

relax man
bring your car and just enjoy yourself
take it in stages
learn to navigate the courses, learn your car, learn about lines and braking zones etc
it will come together

evo8u
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:36 pm 

weapon-X wrote:
What i'm wondering, from the the more seasoned drivers, how to keep the RPM's up through the corners?

launch in 1st / shift to 2/nd ...forget the gearbox from there, look ahead and drive the course...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:51 pm 

it can be done in an auto vehicle but you will put alot of strain on the tranny!

*3NE2NR BiG ReeLers
*TRAIL BLAZERS OFF-ROAD CLUB

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:53 pm 

Location: Relishing the "loss" of the kid gloves, because cowardice.... COWARDICE EVERYWHERE!!!!
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
it can be done in an auto vehicle but you will put alot of strain on the tranny!

do tell.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:07 pm 

evo8u wrote:
weapon-X wrote:
What i'm wondering, from the the more seasoned drivers, how to keep the RPM's up through the corners?

launch in 1st / shift to 2/nd ...forget the gearbox from there, look ahead and drive the course...

the key is how much speed you carry through the corner
entry and exit speed.............the more speed and momentum you can carry thru, the less you will need to rev hard to exit....with a cnventional tranny the best option is to leave it in 2

Mr. Fixables
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:49 am 

Strain on the tranny?

Many will tell you the kind of abuse I used to put my CVT through for many years (Drag Racing, Solodex and general abuse on the street) and trust me the tranny is least of your worries.

Once you do basic fluid changes to your tranny, and don't do the Neutral to Drive launches, you will be fine.

Kirk

Mr. Fixables
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:51 am 

Hey MG man.

I heard those words before. Hmm.

Where could that have come from *scratches head* :)

Kirk

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:16 am 

Mr. Fixables wrote:
Strain on the tranny?

Many will tell you the kind of abuse I used to put my CVT through for many years (Drag Racing, Solodex and general abuse on the street) and trust me the tranny is least of your worries.

Once you do basic fluid changes to your tranny, and don't do the Neutral to Drive launches, you will be fine.

Kirk

Kirk you hadda shout that at them, my automatic has done many dex, Toco/Mayaro/Maracas 5AM no brake runs, where I downshift for engine braking around corners allowing for RPM range and throttle response and all I did was a fluid change and transmission cooler install when I bought the car, the auto is still in perfect condition nearing 3 years later, get past the auto phobia and do basic maintenance and couple that with good suspension mods and you'll enjoy your car for what it is

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:25 pm 

eliteauto wrote:
Mr. Fixables wrote:
Strain on the tranny?

Kirk

Kirk you hadda shout that at them, my automatic has done many dex, Toco/Mayaro/Maracas 5AM no brake runs, where I downshift for engine braking around corners allowing for RPM range and throttle response and all I did was a fluid change and transmission cooler install when I bought the car, the auto is still in perfect condition nearing 3 years later, get past the auto phobia and do basic maintenance and couple that with good suspension mods and you'll enjoy your car for what it is

co signed!!!!

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 1:06 pm 

Mr. Fixables wrote:
Hey MG man.

I heard those words before. Hmm.

Where could that have come from *scratches head* :)

Kirk

when Kirk talks, the smart ones listen

blacktriple_s
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:43 pm 

*takes notes* :popcorn:

Mr. Fixables
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:45 am 

WOW!!

I have never been accused of being Smart :mrgreen:

What drugs have you been taking lately?

Kirk

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:32 pm 

I never called you smart, Kirk
read it again :lol: :lol: :lol:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:39 pm 

man confirm the theory yes. :lol:

Mr. Fixables
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:39 pm 

Yeah. The truth hurts :(

At least I know my status has not changed LOL

Kirk

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:54 pm 

doh study it
drinks on me nex time :mrgreen:

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next