good idea / bad idea?

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

good idea / bad idea?

Postby wagonrunner » April 10th, 2008, 11:21 pm

Should / could "snow tires" be used (BYCC)?
Turns out i have a set of these (175/70/14) in storage, and am contemplating exhausting them, as opposed to obtaining another set.

<iframe src="http://www.bfgoodrichtires.com/overview/winter-slalom/37.html" height="1000" width="600"> </iframe>

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » April 10th, 2008, 11:39 pm

R&D anyone???? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby wagonrunner » April 10th, 2008, 11:52 pm

kes_vtec,
if it comes to that.............................. :lol:
hoping someone with experience with those type of tires can share the info.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 11th, 2008, 8:13 am

Didn't Brian (a.k.a Mitsu Exec) dex on Alaskan tyres? Check his location under his avatar.

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 11th, 2008, 9:35 am

y the hell not, use de dam ting, oui!! Go through hard!

Postby wagonrunner » April 11th, 2008, 1:35 pm

Rudman,
thanks for d reminder.
he was having serious wheelspin in corners. (granted his libero was :( more powerful).
guess i wont be the fastest, but it will bump my learning curve.

snow tires it is. 0X
*hopes reyos is not too pissed, and rudy is not too overjoyed. :lol: *

Postby Maserati » April 11th, 2008, 2:05 pm

nah boy Karl doh use them...they wear very very quickly on dry asphalt.. Winter tires use a softer rubber compound and due to tread design they also tend to be noisier and depending on the aggressiveness of the pattern it can give you slightly poorer gas mileage.

Postby wagonrunner » April 11th, 2008, 4:22 pm

Maserati,
i hear you. but i the plan was to only abuse them at the BYCC.
drive up on normal street tires, put on these. abuse them for the day, take them off / put back on streets, and head home.

depending on how much life in them after, as well as "handling", may use them again for such.
I have no intention of using them for daily driving.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 15th, 2008, 7:58 am

tire way to small ....... poor traction ....and tons of side wall wear ......

free always beats buying another set ..... but if yuh want to win ...i would advise against it

Postby wagonrunner » April 15th, 2008, 8:18 am

Ignorant Ignis,
not about winning really.
more about adapting to a different situation. if i'm still competitive, just it's another bonus. and it is only for BYCC use really..

BTW, before I put the 14"s rims on, i dexed with 185/70/13 street tires.

TREX

Postby TREX » April 15th, 2008, 8:43 am

If they free try them and see.
One thing about shitty tyres is that it they will force you to improve your technique remember you are looking for smooth steering inputs and transitions on the X and brake pedals.

The ultimate IMO is to compete on Streets and win against R's (its been done before).
So use them for practice at the BYCC.

Postby Razkal » April 15th, 2008, 11:35 am

i still trying to find some decent 16" tires yes... :|
Nowhere i called has ANY that are even close to what i'm looking for...
allyuh keep ah eye out for some: 255/40/16 and 235/45/16 nah :)

Postby wagonrunner » April 15th, 2008, 1:13 pm

TREX wrote:The ultimate IMO is to compete on Streets and win against R's (its been done before).
already done :lol: :mrgreen:, and the driver sold the car, and racing in something faster *knocked out with bottle of H2O2*

that is the plan. tires already on rims.

TREX

Postby TREX » April 15th, 2008, 5:52 pm

TREX wrote:The ultimate IMO is to compete on Streets and win against R's (its been done before).
already done :lol: :mrgreen:, and the driver sold the car, and racing in something faster *knocked out with bottle of H2O2*

that is the plan. tires already on rims.

Congrats then
That is the best and only a hardcore Dexer will understand.
How about an LSD and rear bar then

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » April 15th, 2008, 6:27 pm

The winter tires are generally a softer compound and will grip well, but the soft side walls may negate that.

I have used them before. Try them, nothing to lose!!

Kirk

Postby wagonrunner » April 15th, 2008, 7:00 pm

TREX wrote:How about an LSD and rear bar then

a rear bar? :lol:
to replace the one one that runs from left rear wheel to right rear wheel? :mrgreen:
i don't have independent rear suspension. :lol: <a href="http://www.carbibles.com/watermark.php?image=images/solidaxlecoilspring.jpg">Solid axle coil spring goodness</a> :oops:
as for LSD, if i find it, and the price / timing is right............sure.
other than that, i enjoy my car the way it is. with all its lack of performance and luster. 0X

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 16th, 2008, 9:11 am

other than that, i enjoy my car the way it is. with all its lack of performance and luster.

Blah, blah, blah...........then you coming and whopping men arse.....who U fooling?.... :lol:

TREX

Postby TREX » April 16th, 2008, 9:17 am

Rudman wrote:
other than that, i enjoy my car the way it is. with all its lack of performance and luster.

Blah, blah, blah...........then you coming and whopping men arse.....who U fooling?.... :lol:

Rudman - He is becoming a better Driver, recall its 90% skill,10% car.

Wagon- u probably ready for something with more power, try the Evo again for size at the BYCC

Fix - u was de man who come to dex with no less than 4 DIFFERENT tyres (on one car) and whoop everybody ass!

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » April 16th, 2008, 8:17 pm

I vaguely remember there was a red VW Golf in that class too...... :D

Postby wagonrunner » April 17th, 2008, 1:19 am

TREX wrote:Wagon- u probably ready for something with more power, try the Evo again for size at the BYCC

thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you

:mrgreen:

saltydog,
could we run the same course from last dex?

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 17th, 2008, 9:07 am

^^^^the same course? Nah man wagonrunner, it cud be easy like they wanted, but change it up ah lil....

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”