Page 2 of 2

Re: Best place for foreign used R Tyres?

Posted: June 18th, 2010, 5:40 pm
by soo
lol aite thanks. i tried out my car for the first time at the bycc that just went. the tyres (sumitomo htr200) held ok. but could be better. then again i am fwd.

Posted: July 1st, 2010, 3:15 pm
by X_Factor
i'll hav a pair of Potenzas RE-01R's to sell soon
will post pics when i get back in the country next week

Posted: July 1st, 2010, 9:55 pm
by MG Man
soo wrote:lol aite thanks. i tried out my car for the first time at the bycc that just went. the tyres (sumitomo htr200) held ok. but could be better. then again i am fwd.

I was never impressed with those (RWD)
ok for daily driving, but for dex, back end was all over the place

Posted: July 1st, 2010, 10:43 pm
by wagonrunner
MG Man wrote:I was never impressed with those (RWD)
ok for daily driving, but for dex, back end was all over the place

but enough about you, what's your opinion on the RWD car's handling?

Posted: July 2nd, 2010, 8:19 am
by pete
X_Factor wrote:i'll hav a pair of Potenzas RE-01R's to sell soon
will post pics when i get back in the country next week

What sorta price u looking at?

Posted: July 2nd, 2010, 8:58 am
by X_Factor
500.00 but tentatively sold already yes

Posted: July 2nd, 2010, 1:20 pm
by pete
No probs man.

Posted: July 21st, 2010, 12:53 pm
by Conrad
Anyone have any other suggestions besides Chippy's? Used to go to John's but finding a good pair is becoming harder everytime as the boys are playing hide and seek.

Posted: April 14th, 2011, 11:53 am
by idlemind
Anyone willing to try BigZ's Kuhmos for Dex?

Saw his stickier tyres wasnt priced that badly.. viewtopic.php?f=6&t=359292

Thinking bout the KU15 in particular

Posted: April 14th, 2011, 1:38 pm
by Rudman
17" in the KU15s? I say go for it!

Posted: April 15th, 2011, 12:05 am
by drinker41
went chippys last week and got 4 potenza re050 for like 800 tires seem to be good .. we will see sunday

Posted: April 15th, 2011, 12:16 am
by drinker41
ohh and there is some kumho racing tire by the rim place in st joseph right after the bridge 900 for one didnt find out the exact name or anything

Posted: April 15th, 2011, 7:21 am
by pete
What size you got the potenzas in? I got a pair of turanza er50s at chippy's but they're more a comfort tyre than a performance summer tyre so even though the treadwear is 140 I don't find they had too much grip. Could just be a mental thing though. I gonna have to go back to chippy's before solodex 3 to see what I can find.

Posted: April 15th, 2011, 7:25 am
by Rudman
^Please don't.....yuh sharing enough cutarse as it is already. Dem Turanzas wuckin.

Posted: April 15th, 2011, 7:37 am
by pete
I switched from the turanzas back to the sumitomos for the last two runs. But now one is completely smooth so I don't think I can use that again.

Posted: April 15th, 2011, 10:37 am
by Rudman
Crap! yuh mean is dem HTR 50Z that took the last run last dex? Sounds like yuh should fine some more of those. They were $525 when last I saw them.

Posted: April 19th, 2011, 11:34 am
by MadCrix
got some nice 245 45 17 re050 from johns on thursday

chipps only had continental tires and those are 280 tw vs re050 is 180

Posted: April 19th, 2011, 2:02 pm
by pete
How much John's charge for those tyres? From my last experience going there I will never be back. Not helpful at all and they don't know wtf they have. I guess the problem is just my tyre size 205/45R16 and 205/50R15 they didn't have any good tyres in those sizes at johns.

Posted: April 19th, 2011, 2:20 pm
by MadCrix
i paid 500 for a pair

at first he tell me go look for my own tire

i went lookign and when a worker pass by i hail him and say help me nah i lookign for blah blah blah

i always tip them a 40 or so when i leaving. next time i come by they always sort me out nice nice
rememebr tip them and they will keep the tires for u :)

Posted: April 20th, 2011, 8:53 am
by Dave
does terry/tony by the firestation in santa cruz still deal?

in the day, always found some great tyres by him

Posted: May 1st, 2011, 12:06 am
by drinker41
madcrix watch them re050s ....... mine missing a chunk in the centre ( like a tear) after bycc n the ones i got were 235/45 r17 i believe one more dex and they done paid 200 a tire

Posted: May 2nd, 2011, 11:56 am
by MadCrix
been using reo50's about 2 years now from chippys and johns.
never had a bad set and they last bout 3 dex. infact since i doh dex anymore, they last REALLY long on the street. tire never miss a beat in rain or sun. my alternative tire is michellin sport pilot 2 but that is a 220 tw tire.

Posted: May 3rd, 2011, 12:54 am
by drinker41
im now trying them out they seem good for dex but ruff on the road compared to the toyos i had before

Posted: May 8th, 2011, 2:14 am
by NST
pete wrote:How much John's charge for those tyres? From my last experience going there I will never be back. Not helpful at all and they don't know wtf they have. I guess the problem is just my tyre size 205/45R16 and 205/50R15 they didn't have any good tyres in those sizes at johns.

pete if you find anything decent in the 16" dept..gimme a shout plz..i fighting the same battle you are

Posted: March 7th, 2018, 8:19 am
by alexx7x
Whats the best place for used tires?

Re:

Posted: October 8th, 2018, 3:24 pm
by nailsmagnet
r3iXmann wrote:
chris1388 wrote:where chippy's is exactly ??

chaguanas...before jack's tyres if you're heading east..there's an insurance company right on the corner as well,i think is maritime

Thanks for the link.