CARS AUTOCROSS 1 - Sunday 17th March (Results added)

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

CARSTT SoloDex

CARS AUTOCROSS 1 - Sunday 17th March (Results added)

Postby CARSTT SoloDex » March 10th, 2013, 9:30 pm

Hey folks,

The day is getting closer! Come join us for our First Autocross Competition event for 2013 on Sunday March 17th, 2013.

Event details are as follows:

Registration - 8:00am to 10:00am
Late Registration - 10:01am to 10:15am
Scrutineering - 8:00am to 10:15am
Late Scrutineering - 10:16am to 10:30am
Course Walking - 9:00am to 10:10am
Driver and Marshal briefing - 10:15 to 10:40
Drive Through - 10:41am to 10:55am
Competition start - 11:00am

Late registration will be at an additional cost of $50.00 and ALL
registration will be closed promptly at 10:15am

Tents can be booked by email to carstt@gmail.com or by phone call to Trevor
at 753-1700 or Ramon at 354-2226 by no later than Thursday
14th March. The cost for the rental of a 20'x20' tent is $325.00 and can be
shared by two persons.

Non Member gate entry fee : $20.00
Members gate entry fee: Free
Non Member Driver Registration $150.00
Driver Registration for Members $120.00.
Helmet rental at $45.00 each.

A special deal for rally drivers.
Gate fee will be waived to all rally cars competing in Rally Trinidad 2013. (will allow only car and driver entry).
Rally drivers who wish to compete, will be charged 1/2 price. so $70 if not a CARS member, $60 if they are.

#Course added
pete wrote:Image

Please be reminded that Trophies for those who have won their class but have not claimed it on race day have up to two months to collect them from the executive board or before the next event.As such if they are not collected they will be Recycled.
Competitors are reminded that our dress code does not allow sleeve-less
tops, short pants (3/4 included) or open toe shoes or slippers for drivers
or passengers while on the course and the wearing of helmets is mandatory.

We look forward to seeing you all there for Autocross 1 on Sunday March 17th at the
Arima Race Club car park!

Results: Please forgive the tardiness.

Last edited by CARSTT SoloDex on March 21st, 2013, 11:33 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Re: CARS AUTOCROSS 1 this Sunday !! 17th March

Postby MG Man » March 11th, 2013, 11:24 am

course map?

Postby Razkal » March 12th, 2013, 9:32 am

looking forward to this event, looking even further forward for the course map :P

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2013, 11:04 am

it hit fazebok and it eh reach here yet?
:-\

Postby pete » March 13th, 2013, 2:21 pm

From Facebook.

It's 6 runs now? I have too much work to do on my car and no time with my new personal commitments. Hopefully from the next event I can have the car ready.

Postby wagonrunner » March 13th, 2013, 3:54 pm

MG Man wrote:it hit fazebok and it eh reach here yet?
:-\

could it have anything to do with tuner being down?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 13th, 2013, 4:00 pm

i confused.... where the container located?

Postby wagonrunner » March 13th, 2013, 4:08 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:i confused.... where the container located?

my guess would be behind the timing tent, if map is drawn with top as north as usual.

María

Postby María » March 13th, 2013, 6:46 pm

anybody in ES??

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 14th, 2013, 8:03 am

María wrote:anybody in ES??

yup

whizpig

Postby whizpig » March 14th, 2013, 12:00 pm

and stock swift sport supposed to be in ES, heck even with no back seat and 10hp extra i was supposed to be in ES last year

Postby pete » March 14th, 2013, 12:55 pm

:| What?

How allyuh come up with that?

whizpig

Postby whizpig » March 14th, 2013, 3:05 pm

My bad, i didn't use BHP

Postby pete » March 14th, 2013, 3:11 pm

No problem man. I can't find the rules for the last few years online though. I do know my swift was pretty borderline in ES so another 12hp with not much more weight would definitely push to ESP

Postby MG Man » March 14th, 2013, 4:54 pm

Maria if ah bring the plastic car, yuh go run in ESP wid mih?
Anybody else in ESP?
PETE STAY OUT OF ESP...YOU ALREADY EMBARRASS ME IN AN ES CAR

Postby MG Man » March 14th, 2013, 4:59 pm

just my humble suggestions:
a chicaine to slow down the fast cars before the hard corner, just in case, and instead of a tyre killing roundabout, maybe a Roxy-roundabout instead?
dexmod.jpg

Postby Razkal » March 14th, 2013, 8:04 pm

great idea mg, that roundabout had me on a mission to get four extra tires for sunday yes :|

if its gonna be six runs, mg's two suggestions have just been seconded :)

Postby wagonrunner » March 14th, 2013, 9:23 pm

i hear allyuh, but while the roundabout is a small circle, the width you choose to go around is your option. tighter would be slower.

Postby crazybalhead » March 15th, 2013, 10:42 am

Correct, the cones are just a broad suggestion. :lol:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » March 15th, 2013, 2:31 pm

Where are the DRS detection zones?

Postby wagonrunner » March 15th, 2013, 3:10 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:Where are the DRS detection zones?

yuh faced away from a mirror and bent over?

:lol: :lol: It's friday fella, tugs up. :lol:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » March 15th, 2013, 6:02 pm

I hope my KERS doesnt fail me...

María

Postby María » March 17th, 2013, 10:53 pm

great event. always good to see so many newcomers participate and do well...next competition - April 7th!

ng357

Postby ng357 » March 17th, 2013, 11:15 pm

must say it was a lot of fun! glad i came

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 18th, 2013, 8:10 am

María wrote:great event. always good to see so many newcomers participate and do well...next competition - April 7th!

Had fun. See u guys on the 7th 8-)

Regards
Back2Studio

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 18th, 2013, 9:16 am

I thoroughly enjoyed myself at the first competition event of 2013 after having not driven for over a year. It's also always great getting feedback and advice from the experienced drivers and come out with even better times when you listen and implement their advice.

I'm also content with the increased number of runs to 6 since I do have more fun (4 runs come and go too quickly) and it also allows to have more 'practice' runs to learn the course properly which should allow improved times and less DNFs.

However, with 6 runs and two laps on the course, each run group yesterday took approximately 1hr and 20 mins to complete their runs, with about 12 cars per group.

Some marshals would find it difficult to stay out there this long in sometimes harsh weather. The only suggestion I have is that marshaling duties are switched halfway through to provide relief. The next problem though is that there VERY FEW members that are willing to marshal which has always been a problem for the club, as was evident yesterday. Therefore providing 'relief marshal's' may not be an option at this point.

Thank you very much to the dedicated executive, members and novices who gave up their time yesterday to plan, execute and marshal for Autocross 1. Without you, these fantastic events can not take place.

Postby pete » March 18th, 2013, 9:55 am

Suggestion: I know its probably not a big deal to others but could marshals be given refreshments before/after their marshalling? Like.. when you pick up the flag you also get a cold bottle of water to take out with you.

Especially for an hour and a half in the sun, you really do start to get thirsty and not want to be out there.

Being a marshal you get the best view of the course and the newcomers especially should take the time to go out to see the best lines. I don't know what other incentive could be put in place to encourage people to go out there..

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 18th, 2013, 1:50 pm

was one of best events i've been to in years ...great fast and technical course with great competition....... the new guys pushed me to my limit. looks like im gonna have to turn up the power before the next event

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 19th, 2013, 8:37 am

so where the times and pics ?

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » March 19th, 2013, 8:55 am

pete wrote:Suggestion: I know its probably not a big deal to others but could marshals be given refreshments before/after their marshalling? Like.. when you pick up the flag you also get a cold bottle of water to take out with you.

Especially for an hour and a half in the sun, you really do start to get thirsty and not want to be out there.

Being a marshal you get the best view of the course and the newcomers especially should take the time to go out to see the best lines. I don't know what other incentive could be put in place to encourage people to go out there..

This will be a great help for lending one's assistance. It still may not encourage new persons to marshal though, but at least those who are out there will be a little more comfortable.

I really don't know how else we can encourage participants to marshal. Perhaps some see it that if they pay their entry fee and competition fee, then why should they also have to go help marshal in the hot sun/pouring rain? Also, some may be of the opinion that the club should be responsible for providing marshals at an event.

IIRC, wasn't there some sort of system in the past where competitors were awarded additional points if they assisted during the event?

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”