Very Amateur LCD Monitor Install

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 26th, 2011, 6:38 pm

*BACK STORY*

Well I wanted to install a rear view camera in the teana but didn't want any obtrusive looking monitors mounted on the dash or hanging from windscreen or headliner. So I went about searching for something that would fit in the space above the glovebox...the height of that space at it's widest is 3.75" and gradually gets narrower as it sweeps from centre towards the left a/c vent.

Eventually got something on Amazon that suited the size but Amazon sent me the wrong thing....I decided to keep it and re-order but again they sent me the wrong thing....

I now had a pair of these monitors for which I had no use, put them up for sale here but no one seemed interested.

So after 8 months or so I said fck it, if I'm gonna be stuck with them I might as well see what's inside and so decided to scrap the monitor.....

I happily saw that the actual lcd screen was the right size to fit in the space and that the controls could have been removed....so I cut the original housing to match the space and cut off the control buttons panel to mount back at the base of the finisher
to make it look like the original....Many times the ribbon cable joining the controls to the screen broke off from the control circuit board and I had to re-solder back onto very tiny spots with my crappy eyesight....but worked out eventually...

Some lil errors in the process but I'm 75% satisfied with the outcome....

Crappy part is that the instrument panel actually slants away from the driver and is more focussed onto the passenger....so I actually am looking at a screen that is facing away from me...still adequately viewable for the purpose though....

Some pics of the work done...that's after I cut the hole in the instrument pad and already glued the frame finisher onto the pad...(didn't bother to take pics initially but the maxima guys in Aussie land wanted to see wtf I was doing...)

some cleaning needed and some spaces to fill...

The destruction of the panel pad....

Side by Side comparison of the original monitor size (left) to the modified one (right)

Re: Very Amateur LCD Monitor Install

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 26th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Some pics of the final product....

notice in this pic I also chopped up the centre console and installed a USB deck.....that also took some belly to make up my mind to do...

BTW- THE OTHER MONITOR IS STILL VERY MUCH NEW....NOTHING WAS DONE TO IT - OTHER THAN the side by side comparison...so the sale for it still applies!!!!

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2011, 7:24 pm

looking good man.

cow-bat

Postby cow-bat » July 26th, 2011, 7:45 pm

not bad at all

Postby Ted_v2 » July 26th, 2011, 9:17 pm

question

where did you get the cam and where did you mount it?

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 26th, 2011, 9:47 pm

Whats the little thingy on the dash?

Beautiful install man, only thing that kills it is the "pyle" logo,if it were me, Id have put some paint over it... Nice job doh, the dash looks like hell to remove

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » July 26th, 2011, 10:00 pm

looks nice

i would just change the HU... Get 1 from a 200jk with the Analogue Controls and put a DDIN
will look sumting like that

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 26th, 2011, 11:26 pm

^^^thanks for encouraging me to post this.... :D

sound boy 64 wrote:question
where did you get the cam and where did you mount it?

haven't gotten a camera yet...still looking.

kurpal_v2 wrote:Whats the little thingy on the dash?

Beautiful install man, only thing that kills it is the "pyle" logo,if it were me, Id have put some paint over it... Nice job doh, the dash looks like hell to remove

Thanks....all done with a kitchen knife, soldering iron, a cutlass file, some sandpaper and some plastic weld.....and plenty patience.

That little thingy is one of two internal field disturbance sensors that goes with the car's security system...came that way....and yeah I need to black off the pyle logo..still some neatning up I want to do.
The dash isn't all that hard to remove....once one follows the steps outlined in the service manual...it is time consuming though.

Mobile-Authority wrote:looks nice

i would just change the HU... Get 1 from a 200jk with the Analogue Controls and put a DDIN
will look sumting like that

I honestly prefer the push button, compare that pic with the first one I posted... that's why I chose this car, in addition to the dual zone climate control, ambient temperature, clock, etc all seen on the lcd display, which the 200jk doesn't have .....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 26th, 2011, 11:49 pm

looking good ....

Postby 3stagevtec » July 27th, 2011, 1:13 am

To chop up that panel must have been real pressure! one mistake and is real tears!

Why didn't you just install a double DIN deck with the capability of handling a camera?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 27th, 2011, 2:39 am

^^^no place to do it.....mind you I did consider this....however there was electronic circuitry in the place where the double din would have gone in the centre console where I did install my current deck (yellow).....this circuitry is needed to adjust the brightness of the oem lcd screen together with the time....and even if I was able to re-locate the buttons I would have had to fill the holes left by the two big round buttons (red markings) and I wasn't entirely certain about being able to match the colour black that I would have to paint the filler with, to the console colour-- (and to paint the entire console would have meant scrapping out that entire a/c control board and I wasn't going there)..... and a fold out screen, single din would have been sticking out too much....

Believe me, I have been thinking about this thing for over 3 years, observing what some of the other teana men did, internationally, trying to figure out what would be the best and neatest way to go.....

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » July 27th, 2011, 10:17 am

good effort.i will not attempt that.right now im looking for a way to install my tweeters for my component set and don't want to cut anything.how about you vinyl off the panel for a cleaner finish or use carbon fiber vinyl.just a suggestion!good job though!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 27th, 2011, 11:13 am

^^^you got a teana? if so why not use the stock tweeter location? my dls tweeters fitted quite nicely in there and the wiring is already there for it.....

Postby 3stagevtec » July 27th, 2011, 12:34 pm

I was looking at the pic Mobile Authority posted when I was commenting, didn't realize your was not designed for a double DIN.. Then that's really the best place for it..

Oh, Top Gear plugs FTW!

Postby wagonrunner » July 27th, 2011, 12:40 pm

excellent job vega

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » July 27th, 2011, 8:34 pm

no, I have a wingroad,using jbl p660c so im looking at making a little pod or something.have a dvd screen too in it but it came with the car and sticks out of the dash.yours is fixed so much better.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 27th, 2011, 10:19 pm

nicely done man.....

just a couple of questions.

1) do you use the buttons on the screen or do you have full control from elsewhere?

2) is the screen removable from the frame?

you could have removed the screen from the frame and flushed it into the factory panel. should have given a "nicer" finish.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 28th, 2011, 9:00 am

^^^thanks.

1) The buttons on the screen are used....also have a remote that also has full control.

2) The frame was mounted on the instrument panel pad (front), whereas the monitor was stuck on to the rear of the instrument pad.....this was done so that it would have been a bit further inside in order to reduce external light interference.

3)With some effort the screen ought to separate from the rear of the instrument pad....however I plastic welded the frame (made up of the 2 sides and the top, which is one whole piece) onto the front of the pad so that may be a beyotch to remove....the control section was screwed onto the pad, from the back of it, but to remove it, the screen must come out.....
It went like this- line up everything, mark where the mounting holes for the control panel are, on the IP, use soldering iron and burn the holes in IP for the mounting screws, screw it into place and then plastic weld other frame onto front of IP, remove control panel frame and install the circuitry, then mount it back on and then finally stick on lcd monitor at rear......

The initial plan was to flush mount it but the control pad would have caused a problem, in that if I had to flush mount that as well, then, because of the height of the instrument panel pad, the pad would have to be cut, leaving a very thin strip at the bottom (or maybe none at all) keeping them together, and also a thin strip at the base of the screen (as that would have to cover the metal around the lcd ...and I didn't want that.....in this way I still have some strength in the IP, and allows for better IP installation without the possibility of breakage or warping......hope you understand my thoughts.....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2011, 9:04 am

vega this is much more than an amateur install,nicely done man.

jose123

Postby jose123 » August 24th, 2011, 11:03 pm

That is some skills! Real cool!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 4th, 2011, 6:14 pm

^^hey much thanks all.....I also just recently completed the rearview camera install....that was some drama in terms of wiring up a switch....but eventually got through....looks pretty much stock.

A-M

Postby A-M » October 4th, 2011, 6:45 pm

amateur my foot! U should open a business and come do my installation for me :P

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 23rd, 2011, 10:22 am

^^^LOL, thanks man...... really think that I need to get one of those mini router things for if I'm gonne be chopping up my plastics then I need something a bit more efficient than my soldering iron and a knife.....

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 27th, 2011, 6:44 pm

nice work vega!

A-M

Postby A-M » January 4th, 2012, 8:59 am

Got my cefiro a couple months ago. Indeed the interior is bland. I too want to have some sort of installations jus to spice up the look of the interior. However, I don't have that type of courage or skill to perform such an operation. I also dont want any random devices protruding from the dash board.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 4th, 2012, 12:47 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^LOL, thanks man...... really think that I need to get one of those mini router things for if I'm gonne be chopping up my plastics then I need something a bit more efficient than my soldering iron and a knife.....

A dremel is best for that type of work

Sent from my MotoA953 using Tapatalk

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 27th, 2012, 5:13 am

^^^Ah yes that is what I need indeed....

A-M wrote:Got my cefiro a couple months ago. Indeed the interior is bland. I too want to have some sort of installations jus to spice up the look of the interior. However, I don't have that type of courage or skill to perform such an operation. I also dont want any random devices protruding from the dash board.

yeah took me 3+ years to work up that courage.....one would think re-sale value of the vehicle as well...but for me I know I would never get what I want for it so chop away and let me enjoy what I have whilst I have it... :D

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 27th, 2012, 2:55 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^Ah yes that is what I need indeed....

If you need to, you could borrow mine. just gimme a heads up first

Sent from my MotoA953 using Tapatalk