Logitech Z5500 Sub repaired and Blew Again!! WTF?

RadeonHD

Logitech Z5500 Sub repaired and Blew Again!! WTF?

Postby RadeonHD » February 7th, 2009, 2:05 pm

Z5500 sub repaired by cracky the same guy southside connections recommended looks exactly like original to.

Sound review coming soon check last page on thread.

will do audio review later cah crank this in the night whe people sleeping.

from what I seen the repaired driver looks to be better than original. But only one way to find out.
Last edited by RadeonHD on February 28th, 2009, 4:13 pm, edited 9 times in total.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » February 7th, 2009, 6:22 pm

RF P1's are single voice coil.

But that one will work just fine being a single 8 ohm.

Hear what. Stop worrying so much about RMS. When playing MUSIC the sub rarely 'sees' the full output of the amplifier for extended periods.

0awg

Postby 0awg » February 7th, 2009, 7:39 pm

hence I tell him the rf p1.

& yes, the p1's are svc, p2 & up are dvc.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 7th, 2009, 9:20 pm

oow ok scene.

Well then the RF it is then :)

Right now I running 2 SONY SS-D117 3 way speaker box from a 1992 model stereo.

6 ohms but they is like 30 watts each I believe 60 watts total. lol
I using that for the time being lol.

Ok one final question how do you guys compare a Rockford P1 10" to the original tangband logitech?

I mean the build quality seeing the tangband mash up in just 1 month

How long would you say the rockford would withstand under same pressure?

Offcourse I play to run it softer this time but just wanna know still.

I assume the RF wuld last far longer seeing its much higher quality than tangband?

theblitz

Postby theblitz » February 8th, 2009, 12:20 am

which RE were you considering? SR or RE series?

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 8th, 2009, 12:43 am

theblitz wrote:which RE were you considering? SR or RE series?

The cheapest possible one

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » February 8th, 2009, 9:54 am

I got a nice toy today,
will post up soon hopefully :twisted:
Yea its a nice sub btw,
But if u dint buy it already alpine
try not to go as cheap as possible,
look for something with a little more quality
spend the little extra...worth it in the long run :twisted:

0awg

Postby 0awg » February 8th, 2009, 1:14 pm

that sub is designed for high quality bass, what kind of quality can you expect from a logitech z5500.

logitech z5500 Technical Specifications:

o Total FTC power: 505 watts RMS
Sub-woofer: 188 watts RMS (into 8 ohms, @ 100Hz, @ 10% THD)
Satellites:
Left/Right: 62 watts RMS x 2 (into 8 ohms, @ 1khz, @ 10% THD)
Center: 69 watts RMS (into 8 ohms, @ 1kHz, @ 10% THD)
Rear Left & Right: 62 watts RMS x 2 (into 8 ohms, @ 1kHz, @ 10% THD)
o Total Peak power: 1010 watts
o Maximum SPL: >115 dB
o Frequency response: 33 Hz — 20 kHz
o Amplifier: Ultra-linear, high-capacity analog
o Signal to noise ratio: >93.5 dB, typical 100
o Input impedance: 8,000 ohms
o Compatibility:
PC/Mac
CD
MP3
DVD
PlayStation®
Xbox®

if im not mistaken the idmax is best for lows & this logitech can barely go down to the lower regions of bass. it is a great sub but I dont think it might be a good idea in this application.

same goes for the jl audio.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » February 8th, 2009, 2:54 pm

Cud have used this :D

theblitz

Postby theblitz » February 8th, 2009, 2:59 pm

^^^ y do you all insist on placing subs face down when the suspension roll is further out than the basket :|

that discus is resting on rubber!

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 8th, 2009, 4:38 pm

Hmm how much for da 10" you have they?

Hear this ah man on youtube now tell me how he put in a 10" Re audio Re series in the Z5500 and that it wukking real bess far better than the original tang band to. wtf

Anyone knows where to buy ah 10" re and whats the price?

casper

Postby casper » February 9th, 2009, 2:04 pm

theblitz wrote:^^^ y do you all insist on placing subs face down when the suspension roll is further out than the basket :|

it dont really matter as how he had it resting on a bed...the surround wouldnt have damaged...i'm sure he didnt have it like that for long neither....so i highly doubt he frigged up the spider.....

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » February 9th, 2009, 3:35 pm

the only thing u may notice using that factory box is a difference in percievable loudness ...

it aint gonna make any huge difference using an ultra low fs woofer when the box is going to make it unload way above that ...

this is the guts of the z5500 system

if u plan on doing over a box later on my vote goes to the image dynamics id10v3 that pios posted

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 9th, 2009, 7:31 pm

thanks they soundstream

People a man giving me a MTX 7500 Thunder 12" 400 RMS dual 4 ohm

He say he go also build the box he has a padner who builds boxes and stuff and he will carpet it.

Tell me people does the MTX sound good?

I want ah big box long one wa specs so?

Tell me how the MTX does sound compared to rockford and stuff I want good bass and I hear the MTX gives good bass.

Whats te biggest box I can use for the MTX? Length dimensions.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 9th, 2009, 8:39 pm

that MTX is wayyy better than the RF imo... now you are making a good choice... the RF P1 would have dissapointed you imo..

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 9th, 2009, 8:44 pm

^ Eh heh nice I making ah Trade for the MTX to the guy bringing it to test it and show me how it sounds he seems very confident about this MTX living up to its standards :)

Nice to hear this MTX will be worth it :)

I go post back here after I hear it and let allyuh know what went on.
Waiting for him to arrive :)

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 9th, 2009, 9:00 pm

3stagevtec,the p1 will have not dissapointed,for a very low wattage speaker,it can hold it's place among speaker rate 2 and 3 times better

mtx is a very good choice

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 9th, 2009, 9:13 pm

Ok hard luck apparently the gold was not worth as much as I was calling lol

I get ah free box though ah real beat up one but it wukking good I hear. lol

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » February 9th, 2009, 9:54 pm

casper wrote:
theblitz wrote:^^^ y do you all insist on placing subs face down when the suspension roll is further out than the basket :|

it dont really matter as how he had it resting on a bed...the surround wouldnt have damaged...i'm sure he didnt have it like that for long neither....so i highly doubt he frigged up the spider.....

Yea just to take the pic,
It face up on meh desk now,
waitin to build box :(

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 9th, 2009, 10:26 pm

scene
Last edited by RadeonHD on February 11th, 2009, 10:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » February 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

The sub i have there is a 12" MB Quart Discus.

http://www.mbquartusa.com/discus_subs.html

What sub you decide on?
I might end up using this sub in the car later on :)

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 10th, 2009, 3:12 am

^^ hmm I have meh gold ring for sale

but if yuh wa trade I eh mind :)

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » February 10th, 2009, 8:27 am

I'm a muslim,
dont wear gold,
hard luck dey....
Dont wear jewelry on the whole,
Too much tief.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 10th, 2009, 2:01 pm

hmm I see interesting meng.

Well good news the man passing today to collect the old 10" driver that blew in the Z5500

Its gonna cost a $120 to fix :)

Then I should be good to go yuh know I just eh go blast it as high next time.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 10th, 2009, 4:31 pm

yeah nah I might trade meh ring for 2 new rockford P2 8 inch 200 RMS.

I have ah stereo here it says 40 watts at the back I think its 40 RMS I eh sure.

the speakers for it is 3 ohms

and the rockford is 4 ohms DVC

gimme some advice here.

PS The man come today to collect the logitech 10" tang band he gonna fix it and drop it back friday so I good yuh watching me with that one :)

0awg

Postby 0awg » February 10th, 2009, 5:38 pm

Alpine wrote:yeah nah I might trade meh ring for 2 new rockford P2 8 inch 200 RMS.

I have ah stereo here it says 40 watts at the back I think its 40 RMS I eh sure.

the speakers for it is 3 ohms

and the rockford is 4 ohms DVC

gimme some advice here.

PS The man come today to collect the logitech 10" tang band he gonna fix it and drop it back friday so I good yuh watching me with that one :)

you gonna trade a gold ring for 1k in subs? :lol:

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 10th, 2009, 6:27 pm

So change of plans the man collect the logitech tang band 10" to fix today he also say I go get it back by friday so I eh in no hurry to trade this gold again. :)
Last edited by RadeonHD on February 11th, 2009, 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 10th, 2009, 6:28 pm

I think fixing this 10" was really the best bet in the first place yes :)

I go be happy with that yes :)

Postby 3stagevtec » February 11th, 2009, 3:40 pm

^ i saw your sub today when i went to collect mines...

the guy placed a layer of resin on the both sides of the cone... extra stiffness..

the new spider

i measured the coil at 8.0Ω resistance..

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 11th, 2009, 8:43 pm

OOOOW thanks for the Pics :)

Aah yes I called the guy today also he said he was fixing it and it should be ready by Friday hopefully :)

The guy told me he gonna fix the sub in a way this time that it won't blow :)

Thats also quite good news to hear.

Can you tell me how the new sub sounds compared to before it was fixed?

Any changes in the tone?
The new spider is it of better quality?

And whats this resin business about now? :P