daisy chain

flower95

daisy chain

Postby flower95 » December 3rd, 2008, 12:30 pm

could someone please explain daisy chain and how it works .i have 2 power bass xa1500d and the manual say it could daisy chain and get double the power.thanks

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » December 3rd, 2008, 1:09 pm

flower95, I was now goin & post this in the ice forum, I think it means the same thing as strapping amps (I may be wrong) but as far as I see you get half the power from both the strapped amps giving you the same power as 1 amp @ twice its stable impendance :?

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » December 3rd, 2008, 1:12 pm

post in ice forum,
but i think daisy chaining is just using the rca output from one amp to the input on the next one.

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 3rd, 2008, 1:24 pm

but what I dont understand is:
the output of both amps chained together will be stable at 2 ohm instead of one & each amp will be putting out half its rated power (750rms) so why not use one amp in the first place & get the full 1500rms @ 1 ohm?

imo it cheaper to recoil a dvc 4ohm sub to dvc 2 ohm to get the full potential of the amp rather than buying a next amp to increase your current draw etc or just buy a next sub & done or choose another amp :|

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 3rd, 2008, 1:35 pm

whole morning I reading on this, I got a 2 nice pics from this site here showing how its done:

http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/foru ... topic=7406

This picture should be pretty self explanatory.
* The slave takes the "-" connection(s)
* The master takes the "+" connection(s)
* The "-" terminals of the amps are hooked together.

You don't need to use both sets of "+" on the amps. They are there for flexibility. While you should always connect both "-" terminals on the amps together using large wire as general procedure it is not absolutely necessary to use both sets of "+" terminals. They are connected together internally in parallel.

When strapped the MASTER controls ALL functions of both amps

i think these pics belong to the tuner name sundownz or something (Jacob Fuller, owner of sundown audio) you can pm him for more info.

Postby 3stagevtec » December 3rd, 2008, 5:01 pm

^that's exactly how i do it.. :wink:

riadb

Postby riadb » December 3rd, 2008, 6:01 pm

daisy chaining is running one line signal through multiple amps using their bypassed input and output circuits

ie: from HU to amp1 inputs, from amp1 outputs to amp2 inputs......etc etc

strapping involves a master slave configuration which takes the power of both amps and combines them into a mono channel. This is only possible with monoblocks and gives you double the power in 1 channel..

ie : 2 monoblocks that are 1000W RMS stable each @ 1 ohm when strapped will give 2000W RMS @ 2 ohm MONO

getting double the power in a single channel is the whole reason for strapping amplifiers together. Also the settings and configurations on the master amplifier will be exactly the same on the slave amplifier resulting in no irregularities.
You only need one signal for a master/slave setup and u only need to adjust the master amplifier.

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 3rd, 2008, 9:29 pm

I can always count on tuner to get the best info yes, thanks riadb.

I read all kinda stupidness on other car audio forums that I googled to get amp strapping (I was reading up on the same pb1500.1).
the only answer I got close to a sensible one was where you strap the 2 of them but it was said you get half the power from the 2 amps :? hence the reason why i was wondering why the hell in the first place will someone do that?

tuner ICE forum for some of the best car audio 911 out here yes :fadein:

Pirate

Postby Pirate » December 4th, 2008, 1:54 pm

well said riadb!
:)

one minor change. Some amps dont give double the power but a tad less. for example, if an amp is rated @ 1000W RMS when strapped u actually get about about 1800 - 1900W instead of the 2000W. (remember some actually give the 2000W).
just something to consider. :mrgreen:

fixed...:D
Last edited by Pirate on December 5th, 2008, 4:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

tizic

Postby tizic » December 4th, 2008, 9:56 pm

Well I've used PB b4 that is d 3000D..an i strap them(using d daisy chain)..with d proper current i got double power..so i dont see how strapping 2 amps only delivers such little power..by d way which model of d amps..Extreme or ASA

riadb

Postby riadb » December 4th, 2008, 10:03 pm

nah i think he misinterpret or read somethin wrong dey

Pirate

Postby Pirate » December 5th, 2008, 4:55 am

i edited meh post to clear up what i trying to say...
:-?

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » November 2nd, 2009, 1:08 pm

alright let's say i have 2 monos and wanna do this, but they don't have a slave and master output how would i go about tuning the gains and stuff on the amps.

and also can you use this kinda technology with something like a 4 channel. Like you bridge the rear channels and front channels to produce two mono outputs @ 4ohms and then strap them to produce like double the power @ 8ohms.

Also what is the effect on efficiency when running strapped amps.

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2009, 2:48 pm

carfreak1024 wrote:alright let's say i have 2 monos and wanna do this, but they don't have a slave and master output how would i go about tuning the gains and stuff on the amps.

and also can you use this kinda technology with something like a 4 channel. Like you bridge the rear channels and front channels to produce two mono outputs @ 4ohms and then strap them to produce like double the power @ 8ohms.

Also what is the effect on efficiency when running strapped amps.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » November 2nd, 2009, 3:47 pm

i guess it aint possible then!