SPL machine- SEPTEMBER!!!!!!! PICS-PG 2

dream-carz

SPL machine- SEPTEMBER!!!!!!! PICS-PG 2

Postby dream-carz » March 20th, 2008, 3:05 pm

So I am considering getting back into the audio scene and needed opinions. In Trinidad, what gets better advertising mileage, SPL or bang out?
Also, do you think it is possible to build a car that can do both?
Last edited by dream-carz on June 3rd, 2008, 2:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby SR » March 20th, 2008, 3:09 pm

build one that can do both

trinidad will be represnted next weekend at the 22nd spring break nationals show in daytona with a vehicle that has been built to do both

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 20th, 2008, 3:33 pm

well, which one do you think attracts the larger crowd, A vehicle that does not please the crowd but can do a 3 sec 175+ burp or a 170+ crowd pleaser?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 20th, 2008, 3:35 pm

You jumping from sq to gallery Jodi? :o

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » March 20th, 2008, 3:45 pm

dream-carz wrote:well, which one do you think attracts the larger crowd, A vehicle that does not please the crowd but can do a 3 sec 175+ burp or a 170+ crowd pleaser?

wah u puttin in there man......... :|
as in 170db playin music rite.................

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 20th, 2008, 4:02 pm

did sq about 12 years ago, won some trophies etc. never did a all out spl/bang machine.
Well, is it that difficult to have 170db's playing 'normal' music? I don't know.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » March 20th, 2008, 5:12 pm

yea it difficult u go need-

4 18" tsns quad2ohm
4 vfl 400.1 amps
ah wall
300amp+ alternator
12 optima batts
ah small solid car(120y or sum)
ah lil processin and uh orn

:D

Postby SR » March 20th, 2008, 5:31 pm

a 170 plus playing vehicle is not as easy as you think

most if not all the top contenders locally cant even hit 160dB at present

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 20th, 2008, 5:39 pm

serious, what is the highest spl in Trinidad right now? Was it a burp ?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 20th, 2008, 5:55 pm

all over d net i see average ppl ketching ass to do 150 playing test tones - i would love to hear a set play music doing 150 with all d doors open ..... :P

Postby SR » March 20th, 2008, 6:24 pm

highest spl for this year is probably 158dB and thats just a burp

but soon we shall be seeing over 160 definatly at the nex 100% iasca show in may
as well as the vehicle that is representin trinidad at spring break and hopefully returning with the bass boxing champion belt and trophy which has never left US soil

Postby 3stagevtec » March 20th, 2008, 7:01 pm

dream-carz wrote:serious, what is the highest spl in Trinidad right now? Was it a burp ?

take a look here for scores from the various categories from 2007.. this will give you an idea of what the competition is like..

you can get a copy of the rules fron the IASCA website..

a 'burp' is basically just playing a test tone for a few seconds.. used during SPL testing..

you would score higher burping a test tone vs playing music, as there's alot of irrelevant information on music when playing against a meter..
Last edited by 3stagevtec on March 20th, 2008, 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 20th, 2008, 7:04 pm

so back to the original question, which one will have the larger following/crowd/support in your best opinion? Seems like it boils down to numbers(SPL).

Postby 3stagevtec » March 20th, 2008, 7:16 pm

the 'crowd pleaser' category, made up by local promoters, draws the largest crowds.. but it is often filled with controversy due to its judging method..

the IDBL (IASCA dB League) is way more respectable and internationally recognised.. :wink:

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 20th, 2008, 7:45 pm

nice info flowing here. Question: do these 'burp' vehicles play as crowd pleaser's also? and if so, how good do they sound?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » March 20th, 2008, 8:05 pm

agreed wid 3stage d meter is more respectable ... forget competing in crowd pleaser ... meter d vehicle an demo its musical capabilities

once your vehicle loud and sounds good you`ll have your following

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » March 20th, 2008, 9:01 pm

if you lookin to be a 'hit' on d car audio scene..... then u need to be sounding gr8 with music n doing big numbers on the meter at d same time..... then ppl will be looking forward to hear your vehicle at shows. its not easy man but if you willing to invest in it, i'd love to experience such a thin..........

to date SPAWN 2 is the loudest playing vehicle i ever heard, not sure if he ever tested SPL but d pressure the van creates 30 feet off its possible it can do a big # if retuned for SPL.... most ppl wudn like to know how much $$$ was invested in that van........ but to give you an idea.......... put aside 1/2 mil to start your project....... if you aiming at the 170db region......... :|

jj2

Postby jj2 » March 20th, 2008, 9:20 pm

:roll: i dont tinkn it will be so much

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 20th, 2008, 9:21 pm

3stagevtec wrote:the 'crowd pleaser' category, made up by local promoters, draws the largest crowds.. but it is often filled with controversy due to its judging method..

the IDBL (IASCA dB League) is way more respectable and internationally recognised.. :wink:

good post

they have no solid standards in this 'crowd pleaser' category thing - walk with ur crowd & win

if its "judged" by d promoters well that can be curry favored too

a meter cant lie \ tief or favor any1

- what i would do is build a high scoring spl vehicle that can still demo a few minutes of music to give d average youthman patron a lil enjoyment .....some examples of current ppl who do this is small's pink sunny & comfort astro van who i respect even more than others because ALL his music is INside his vehicle ...he scores high spl & music sounds good too .....

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » March 20th, 2008, 9:34 pm

jj2 wrote::roll: i dont tinkn it will be so much

LOL ............ you dont know what you're sayin man

Postby 3stagevtec » March 20th, 2008, 10:06 pm

i once tried to estimate spawn's worth and came up with somewhere around 250k minus the cost of the vehicle.. add in the amount of hours spent building the vehicle and what ever stuff i left out and you can have an idea as to the cost of such a vehicle...

dream-carz wrote:nice info flowing here. Question: do these 'burp' vehicles play as crowd pleaser's also? and if so, how good do they sound?

most local SPL vehicles do both.. since SPL vehicles are designed to be loud, they also work well for crowd pleaser.. of course, true all out SPL vehicles might need certain modifications to play music properly..

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » March 20th, 2008, 10:29 pm

reachin 170db aint no easy thin................................................... good luck
Last edited by ShaKarz on March 21st, 2008, 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 21st, 2008, 9:09 am

MR. ROVIN wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:the 'crowd pleaser' category, made up by local promoters, draws the largest crowds.. but it is often filled with controversy due to its judging method..

good post

they have no solid standards in this 'crowd pleaser' category thing - walk with ur crowd & win

if its "judged" by d promoters well that can be curry favored too

a meter cant lie \ tief or favor any1

- what i would do is build a high scoring spl vehicle that can still demo a few minutes of music to give d average youthman patron a lil enjoyment .....some examples of current ppl who do this is small's pink sunny & comfort astro van who i respect even more than others because ALL his music is INside his vehicle ...he scores high spl & music sounds good too .....

I think you may be correct. From research (not from experience), I don't think it will sound all so impressive if built primarily for SPL. nevertheless, i think the answer i'm looking for is leading towards dedicated SPL vehicle not crowd pleaser.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2008, 2:56 pm

dream-carz wrote:I think you may be correct. From research (not from experience), I don't think it will sound all so impressive if built primarily for SPL. nevertheless, i think the answer i'm looking for is leading towards dedicated SPL vehicle not crowd pleaser.

excellent choice! will follow your progress... :wink:

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 21st, 2008, 4:26 pm

thanks all for the advice, you will see the creation in about 2-3 months. strictly spl.

boom

Postby boom » March 21st, 2008, 8:27 pm

you will see the creation in about 2-3 months

wow welcome jodi...Dude I so respect you as a person for what u accomplished in terms of owernership.. I hope u understand that 2-3months of heavy investment and major work is whats gonna go down...

Take it as a DIY project and not a drop by installer and see what happens kinda thing, more fun and you learn more IMO..

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » March 26th, 2008, 11:25 am

yup, a little homework should go a long way.

dream-carz

guess

Postby dream-carz » June 3rd, 2008, 2:45 pm

Postby SR » June 3rd, 2008, 2:55 pm

nice start there

keep us up to date as the project comes along

have someone for you to meet at the event on the 29th

dream-carz