21" sub Box & Review ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 9:50 pm

yes its 21" i type not 12" mistake

BUT its a pro audio build , yes i know its the ICE section - i see a few others on here so mods please allow me to show whats inside 1 of these enclosures ...

widest speaker i have seen in real - not tallest or heaviest , have seen a 18" RE XXX & 15" Premier 8000 which is taller & alot heavier

http://www.pyleaudio.com/itemdetail.asp ... l=PDW21250

# 8 Ohm Impedance
# 1000W RMS/2000W Peak Power
# 22 Hz Resonance
# Frequency Response: 22 Hz - 4K Hz
# Sensitivity: 1W@1M: 107 dB
# Magnet Weight: 350 Oz
# 4'' Aluminum Voice Coil
# Diameter: 21.8''
# Mounting Depth: 10.2''
# Die-Cast Aluminum Frame LJD

now that ur eyes have popped out :lol: ... push them back in & have a close look at the layout which i have marked on 1 of the sides (if u not seeing it good then save the pic & zoom in on the markings)

this box was ALOT of work - took 3 sheets of 3\4" plywood + more ply to make the scoop part

so i really couldnt stop to take pics of the pieces going in 1 at a time

here is a inside shot of it b4 the curved scoop & a angle piece was added on after :

the completed box :
had to get help to lift it upright to take pics but during the entire build its just me alone doing all the heavy lifting ...:(

Review :

in the car audio there exist 5000+wrms subs but "only" 1000wrms in pro audio is considerable , especially with the cone area of a 21" speaker & a horn loaded enclosure .

Note i said speaker & not sub since its freq response is pretty wide ... its a brand new never played b4 8 ohms svc speaker & i had 'only' 500wrms of car amp power to test it in full range mode with cut off point of around 35hz according to the design ...to play the upper vocals & highs i used 1 RCF N850 getting about 100-150wrms which was a really nice match to it in both tones & loudness

IMHO it sounded pretty good for a box in the open outdoors with a full range signal & with a slight bit of 12 band EQing from my car deck ...i played from oldies like BGs to recent colby cailat adult contemporary to dance hall & rap

...it played from vocals to bass though not so good on certain jeezy low freq bass songs like 'white girl or 3 6 mafia 'late night tip' ...maybe it will do better on those when its broken in properly or with more power

i even tried it playing just bass off my orion 2500d monoblock which shud be giving the speaker about 500-600wrms @ ohms , sounding quite good with that too ... u can feel it strongly hitting ur body if u stand up close

so u can use this in full range setting or bass only setting & it will do the job either way ...does not shake ur innards from far like 30-40ft away but u do hear its tones quite well ...quite a big heavy enclosure so its not something u wud enjoy moving around alot ... :lol: ...(unless u put it on 4 wheels) ... the owner said its for personal use in his backyard ...:o

he PMed me his review on it :

Did a severe testing on box today.....well u know d police intervened ..LOL

i figure he & his neighbors might not get along too good from now on ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

like i said above this exclosure was ALOT of work - all those angles & precise measurements took me a wk to do this , not working 8hrs\day on it but this took alot of energy & time - i could have built 5 car audio slot port boxes in the same amt of time ... i was happy for the challenge & experience though ..... 8-)
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on July 22nd, 2009, 10:55 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 9:51 pm

i still loading up plenty stuff so hold strain ....

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » July 22nd, 2009, 9:52 pm

dat looking devious though, i was thinkin the magnet was small but then i realize it must be like 10" wide because the sub is like 21".

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 22nd, 2009, 10:09 pm

allright.............................d speaker not that impressive (looks wise), just big.
when you say big, i taught was another "nara" business like the RE.

what i really want to see is the box work done for it.

and if you could let us know what considerations were taken into account (if any)when building it. seeing as it is not for inside a car.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2009, 10:35 pm

very decent.....would like to hear it.......

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » July 22nd, 2009, 10:39 pm

that looking rell mean boi, i wonder how loud that is, you try it on the orion ah wah, or yuh sold it already.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 22nd, 2009, 10:48 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :faint:

take all 10!

could just imagine the amount of work involved with that

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 10:56 pm

ok i just finished typing d full review ... :mrgreen:

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 22nd, 2009, 10:59 pm

wah frequency u tune the box for dey bhai?? :lol:

also...is this speaker gonna be used for full range?
or just bass?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 22nd, 2009, 11:03 pm

nice box work there rovin

now do a smaller box for the car :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

seriously i'd liek to omn liek that bein tried in the car.. i know ssc always talkin about it

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 22nd, 2009, 11:18 pm

nice work there on the rear loading horn

tried it already^^^^ worked out great, but not for spl

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 22nd, 2009, 11:37 pm

I belive the name of the box is Super scoop ! pretty effective stuff ..

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » July 23rd, 2009, 12:11 am

so you think these could outperform a dd9515 for gallary purposes.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 23rd, 2009, 7:51 am

^^put both of them in open air and the pyle might just cut it's arse.

SEVin

Postby SEVin » July 23rd, 2009, 8:30 am

Whoa! That sick man.... :mrgreen:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 25th, 2009, 1:17 am

thanks guys .... :)

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 27th, 2009, 2:07 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:thanks guys .... :)

how do you go about getting de port tunning?

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 27th, 2009, 4:26 pm

I think he already had a diagram drawn to spec to work with.

It's a folded horn arrangement, if you look at the innards it resembles a t-line arrangement with a flare at the end

tuning freq not that easy to calculate, though some special software can do it.