Opinion on two products

jusbass

Opinion on two products

Postby jusbass » February 14th, 2010, 12:13 pm

Hey tuner and installers i would like to get your opinion on two sound dampening products, and which product u will prefer to use and its quality.

1) Dynamat

2) Rattle Trap by Fat-Mat

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 14th, 2010, 2:08 pm

were you the guy that call me other day, (i was in school BTW if it was).

The rattle trap works really well used it already, are you bringing it down or buying locally BTW.

Here are some pics of that install:

Postby nervewrecker » February 14th, 2010, 2:12 pm

carfreak1024 wrote:were you the guy that call me other day, (i was in school BTW if it was).
The rattle trap works really well used it already, are you bringing it down or buying locally BTW.

Here are some pics of that install:

no, that was me.

me & spam wanna put up half & half & get some deadening. we looking @ 50sq ft fatmat.

I waiting till after the carnival to send raptor a pm for a quote.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 14th, 2010, 3:01 pm

IMO save yourself the trouble and buy the daynamatt. It does it's job and is super easy to install. I've used dynamatt in 3 vehicles and have not one single complaint.

To ship in your own supply of fattmatt may actually cost more than the products avalible locally. Plus we've got dynamatt and second skin avalible locally, two great products and the prices not that bad.

Exonic for the dynamatt
wiseone for second skin

jusbass

Postby jusbass » February 14th, 2010, 3:30 pm

Have u ever used the rattle trap KURPAL this is what i wanna find out i know the other products we have locally and i have used all or most already but ......

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 14th, 2010, 4:45 pm

i have used the rattle trap in 3 vehicles, a pontiac GTO, the accord in the pics, as well as the doors in my mom's Ford Expedition. To bring the fat mat to trinidad cost approx. 16-17 per square foot, which is not bad.

slacker jack and spam, bringing down 50sqft. is not gonna get you that far in 2 seperate vehicles. Just to give you an idea, we used the same 100 sqft. package to do the Pontiac and the Honda, and well we did not get that far.

We did the entire honda trunk, 2 doors, under rear seat area, front floors, rear deck.

we did the 4 doors and the spare tire well in the trunk alone in the Pontiac.

Another 100sq ft. package ,2 rolls, was then ordered, and the honda's trunk was doubled up, the front doors in the pontiac were doubled up and the trunk was completed with 2 layers in the pontiac, we used the rest on my mom's expedition.

Now granted the pontiac and the accord both had extremely huge trunk spaces, and we did go a little crazy on the accord, i think the rear deck had like 3 maybe 4 layers on some spots, and the front doors were about the same. But to me and the 2 other fellas who i did the install for definately noticed a difference and were glad we went in that direction. We calculated the cost and at the time we payed 140 or some for the 100sqft. package, not sure why its 160 now. and to do it in dynamat brand deadener would have costed us like 780US, which is using the cheapest ebay price on the bulk pack which was like 130 or some with shipping.

So if yuh ask me, 280 for 200sqft., versus 780 for 216 sqft. it just doesnt make any sense to me, especially when i checked the cost to bring the package down into trinidad using a skybox was less than 100us.

Mat=160, shipping 100
total cost 260US x 6.3 is 1638. Not tell me where i can get 100sqft. of any deadener no matter the brand locally for 1638. I even think that is cheaper than using flashband.

Postby nervewrecker » February 14th, 2010, 5:30 pm

actually its not the whole car we gonna be doing.

me just the 2 front doors, trunk lid & spare tyre compartment.

the other guy just wants some for the hood.

for me its 12 square ft for the 2 doors & that leaves 13 square foot for the trunk. I doubt I will need more than one layers in my trunk since its not much rattle I get.

the only bad review I think I saw with respect to the fatmat product is the smell that eminates for quite awhile.

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » February 14th, 2010, 9:17 pm

i heard about this rattle trap from ppl who used this in ny..according to them its best buy for the price (about 160 us per 100 spuare ft) and it works very well...a guy made a post recently about buying this so i decided to make som calls.i'm thinkin bout gettin a few rolls myself.

Postby nervewrecker » February 14th, 2010, 10:57 pm

viking1705, me & another tuner looking to get the 50sq ft roll for $79.99

http://www.fatmat.com/bulk/fatmat/50.html

wanna put up with us & get the 100 square ft roll for $129.99?

http://www.fatmat.com/bulk/fatmat/100.html

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 14th, 2010, 11:35 pm

^^^just informing you the 100sqft. roll you talking about is not the rattle trap but the fatmat which is just 50mil, very big difference compares to the rattle trap 80mil and dynamat. The 100sqft. roll of rattle trap is 160.

and you only get the smell in the car if you heat the mat to a point where it melts if you just heat the mat til it gets malleable you will be fine, they maybe had problems due to application temperature which is an issue with fatmat. But for our conditions i doubt you will even need a heat gun.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » February 15th, 2010, 1:26 am

If anyone looking for deadening at low pricing look no further.

I have a limited amt of edead v1se and v1se2 available

4 rolls app 30sq.ft each v1se @$12.00 per.sq.ft
6 rolls app 30sq.ft each v1se2 @ $15.00 per.sq.ft
Also have teklite which is an absorber and can be applied as a second layer on the mat for more effective heat and roadnoise control.

Priced to go and just an offer for those interested.

Most mats will work efficiently however avoid asphalt based.

Dynamat is still one of the higher quality mats available as well as their line-up of other products which can be used together to get better sound and performance for whatever the application. No heating required. The downside to the Dynamat is the price. However in Trinidad the pricing is more competative than in the USA so you can definately get a good deal locally for the good stuff.

Have not used Fat-mat personally but if its at a good price and easily available then it wont hurt to try it out.

Dynamat also has the following products available other than the Dynamat Extreme:

Dynaxorb
Dynaliner
Dynaplate
Superlite NEW
liquid Dynaspray
and others.

All available locally.

Have sample cards available of all Dynamat products if anyone is interested for comparison or need more information.

734-5350

Lance

Postby Lance » February 15th, 2010, 7:30 am

Is Edead V1's asphalt?

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » February 15th, 2010, 12:57 pm

^^^V1SE is not asphalt.

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » February 15th, 2010, 5:24 pm

you hav the edead 120?

Postby nervewrecker » February 15th, 2010, 5:33 pm

have you checked my thread on www.mktrinievents.com?

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » February 15th, 2010, 7:06 pm

lol..yea i did i jus curious abt price

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 15th, 2010, 8:36 pm

^^^^^not sure which thread i read, but all i gotta say is from what i read eDEAD might not be such a great choice, just saying what i read and saw in some tests.

jusbass

Postby jusbass » February 15th, 2010, 8:47 pm

I guess soon we will be able to compare the products locally.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 15th, 2010, 9:09 pm

yeah i guess so, hopefully i get my mat soon, my install is going to be pretty hardcore, gonna do about 3 layers on doors, floor, and rear deck, maybe 4 in the trunk, and 2-3 depending on the roof.

jusbass

Postby jusbass » February 15th, 2010, 9:17 pm

that would not be to much sound dampening for the vehicle u should over dampening a vehicle that much. :|

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » February 16th, 2010, 7:45 pm

well i've made some calls to find out about the rattle trap..very good feedback thus far so maybe i'm gonna use this as well.if anyone else uses it anytime soon plz post som reviews.jack check your pm

jusbass

Postby jusbass » February 16th, 2010, 8:32 pm

Soon and a will say very soon u could get a one on one with the product, prices will and are better than most brand we use in our vehicle look out for one of the best. :lol:

aidan

Re: Opinion on two products

Postby aidan » January 26th, 2014, 11:14 pm

sorry for bumping an old thread, but im looking for a spray on sound deadener, and this is the only thread I found mentioning dynaspray. can anyone tell me if it is available locally or any alternatives.

thanks

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 1st, 2014, 4:24 am

way to bump an old thread. that was the second install that i ever did. I remember i was only like 15 or 16 years old.

Why dont you want to use a mat material? Cost or some other reason?

aidan

Postby aidan » February 3rd, 2014, 12:19 am

carfreak1024 wrote:way to bump an old thread. that was the second install that i ever did. I remember i was only like 15 or 16 years old.

Why dont you want to use a mat material? Cost or some other reason?

I using a mat material too. But I kinda OCD bout them corners in the panels that I cant reach. Just doing it to quiet road noise really.

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2014, 12:33 pm

Rustoleum has a bed liner product that may work

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 13th, 2014, 1:28 am

SR wrote:Rustoleum has a bed liner product that may work

Used this like a week ago on an actual truck bed. Was extremely cheap at Walmart but did not give alot of damping at all, lol. However if the corners are the only places that you going to put it then you wasting time and money bro. The folding of the metal itself, that will naturally be in a difficult to reach corner, would attribute much more strength and vibration resistance to that area than any kind of deadener you can buy.