Recommendations for a good 5-Channel Amp

DJ Q

Recommendations for a good 5-Channel Amp

Postby DJ Q » September 10th, 2011, 8:57 pm

Hi All,

I'm looking for a great 5 channel amp. I don't know what's out there, but I want it to be simple. What I'm looking for is:

125wrms x 4 @ 4 ohms + 500wrms x 1 @ ? ohms
250wrms x 4 @ 2 ohms + 1000wrms x 1 @ ? ohms

The reason for the "? ohms" is because I'm not sure that a 1 ohm mode will be available.
I know a lot of people may die a little at the thought of 5-channel, but I'm not looking to upgrade this system. It's going to be a bit of SQ with the option of adding the "L". So it's not going to be a true, time aligned, tonally accurate, well balanced sound stage... It's just going to sound good. Why 5 Channel and not 4 channel and a mono? Easier and neater to install.

For front stage:
Either Image Dynamics CTX65CS or Morel Tempo 6"

Rear Fill:
18Sound 8MB400 + Audiopipe Bullet Tweeters

Bass:
IDQ 10" x 2 Sealed

Now that you've calmed down from the near heart attack you may have suffered when you saw the 18 sound, they're not going to be on for my daily set. Those are just for when I go to the beach, or having a lime near the car. Maybe while I'm driving I might get the urge to crank them up, but they'll be there solely for protecting the Morel's or ID's when the Volume starts to go up.

Anyway, this thread is NOT about my choice of components, but about available 5 channel amplifiers. Please state prices, where I can get them and model numbers so that I can google them myself.

So far, I've seen this Hifonics which comes close...
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_238 ... .4-1K.html

Thanks for all the help guys

Re: Recommendations for a good 5-Channel Amp

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2011, 9:04 pm

saw a nice JBL 5 channel by R&K imports today, pm him & see if its for sale.

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 10th, 2011, 9:33 pm

i got the JL 5 channel...really good amp

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » September 10th, 2011, 9:58 pm

I think you`re gonna have a tough time getting that much power on the midrange side

these are 2 of the few out there with that much on the sub channel

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_238 ... .4-1K.html

http://www.woofersetc.com/p-7156-16-mc5 ... fiers.aspx

Postby black start » September 10th, 2011, 10:13 pm

^dah memphis dan...hear nah...dah ting is probabli real pain dan....it look wicked mad....buh seriousli....locally jl900/5 for like around 6k on tuner new brand from powerseller.....

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » September 10th, 2011, 10:40 pm

you can also look at the ZED AUDIO LEVIATHAN

Specifications

Rated power is 150 watts x 6 into 4 ohm or 300w x 6 into 2 ohm.

Bridged power is 300w x 3 into 8 ohm or 600w x 3 into 4 ohm.

The 3 pairs of channels are independently bridgeable.

Two, four or six input configuration.

Channels 1+2 feature a 24dB per octave Linkwitz Riley High crossover.

Channels 1+2 can run in FLAT mode (Pre-amplifiers completely bypassed), High Pass or Low Pass from channels 5+6.

Channels 3+4 feature 24dB per octave Linkwitz Riley High and Low Pass crossovers.

Channels 3+4 can run in FLAT mode (Pre-amplifiers completely bypassed), High Pass, Low Pass or Bandpass or Low Pass from channels 5+6.

Channels 5+6 feature feature 24dB per octave Linkwitz Riley High and Low Pass crossovers.

Channels 5+6 can run in FLAT mode (Pre-amplifiers completely bypassed), High Pass, Low Pass or Bandpass.

The High Pass crossover doubles as a subsonic filter as it is able to respond down to 10Hz.

chosen1

Postby chosen1 » September 10th, 2011, 11:07 pm

Djq....dont mean to spam ur thread

is the hifonics 5 channel available locally.

i am looking like you for a 5 chsnnel so i will be following ur thread along with mine

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » September 11th, 2011, 8:43 am

Other 5 channels you can look at from GROUND ZERO are -

TITANIUM GZTA 5120X - http://www.ground-zero-audio.com/english/08_ta5120x.htm

TITANIUM GZTA 5125X - http://www.ground-zero-audio.com/english/08_ta5125x.htm

HYDROOGEN GZHA 5125XII - http://www.ground-zero-audio.com/english/08_ha5125x.htm

URANIUM GZUA 5600dx - http://www.ground-zero-audio.com/englis ... 5600dx.htm

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 11th, 2011, 9:34 am

chosen1 wrote:Djq....dont mean to spam ur thread

is the hifonics 5 channel available locally.

i am looking like you for a 5 chsnnel so i will be following ur thread along with mine

Yes The hifonics is available locally and we have sold quite a few....the last was was sold on friday. Getting more in a subsequent shipment and they go for 3800.00

The only downside of the hifonics is the physical size...

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » September 11th, 2011, 9:48 am

A few of the tuners here have 5 ch amps

Eclipse XA5000 http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_7473_Eclipse-XA5000.html
Boston Acoustics GTA 1005 & GTA 1105 (update to the 1005)
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_39767_Boston-Acoustics-GTA-1105.html
Soundstream lil wonder 4 (around $1600) and phoenix gold has two new 5 channel amp.

All these can be found locally.

Also these amps were released recently. Yet to see down here.
All class D, all small footprint too :). All rated over 900rms

Hertz HDP5
Polk audio PA D5000.5
Precision Power Phantom p900.5
Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2011, 11:34 am

TheWiseOne wrote:HYDROOGEN GZHA 5125XII - http://www.ground-zero-audio.com/english/08_ha5125x.htm

Rhyan, you forgot you showed me that Zed audio amp already... but it doesn't have enough power. But this amp that I quoted here... something's confusing me. The page says it does 2 x 300/400 rms @ 4 ohm + 1 by 900rms @1 ohm, yet in this sheet: http://www.ground-zero-audio.com/13_download/gzha.pdf it says something different.

Please clarify.

If what the main page says is true... that's basically perfect.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2011, 11:51 am

Ok I don't think that ground zero amp is it. Read here: http://www.ground-zero-audio.com/13_dow ... axii_1.pdf you see those specs again... but it's at 10% THD :shock:

Not to mention it states 3 x 40A fuses and unless that amp is 100% efficient @ 14.4v...

Seems like I'll need two amps :(

chosen1

Postby chosen1 » September 11th, 2011, 12:22 pm

wow this is a great thread!!

thanks to the OP for this enquiry.

i did nott know that there were so many 5 channels available locally. that hifonics or the ground zero hydrogen would work great for me..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2011, 12:38 pm

No problem chosen one

wee oo pee oooo wee

riadb

Postby riadb » September 11th, 2011, 1:14 pm

have a directed D2205 for sale in immaculate conditon.
asking $2200 for it.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2011, 1:21 pm

^Thanks Riad,

But those aren't the specs that I'm looking for.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 11th, 2011, 2:15 pm

riadb wrote:have a directed D2205 for sale in immaculate conditon.
asking $2200 for it.

Sweet amp

i had a system playing 2 cadance 8" sealed back(4 ohm) per channel
2 image dynamic 6" (at 4 ohm)

and 3 10" id10"(300rms subs)

and that amp played it

Could off used more power on the bass(subs didnt max)doh but for a 5channel it was amazing to see

riadb

Postby riadb » September 11th, 2011, 4:00 pm

orr ok no prob... good luck finding a 5ch that will give u 1000rms x1 on the sub channel tho...

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » September 11th, 2011, 4:43 pm

ppi pc740.5 i know its power is on the low side but deserves a look...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2011, 7:08 pm

riadb wrote:orr ok no prob... good luck finding a 5ch that will give u 1000rms x1 on the sub channel tho...

Hifonics i60.4 + 1k
Just doesn't do enough on the other channels

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » September 11th, 2011, 7:42 pm

Phoenix Gold Ti1600.5 hybrid AB/D
100 Watts x 4 Channel / 4 Ohm
150 Watts x 4 Channel / 2 Ohm
Sub
750 watts x 1 Channel / 2 Ohm
1000 watts x 1 Channel / 1 Ohm
http://www.phoenixgold.com/productDetails.aspx?ProductId=37&CategoryID=1
These is a review of the mono and the 4 channel in the Ti series on their homepage

BTW who selling the Ground Zero amps, down here?
Interested in the hydrogen and the uranium amps.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2011, 8:40 pm

^Nice, but that 1000x1 is dynamic.

It's 120 x 4 + 800 x 1 RMS

Nice amp though :)

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 11th, 2011, 10:44 pm

You should reconsider getting a 4 ch and mono. Installation difficulties can be overcome with a bit more planning. Additionally, the 4 ch and mono will be easier to resell or reuse when upgrading your system. My 2c.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2011, 11:03 pm

silent_riot wrote:You should reconsider getting a 4 ch and mono. Installation difficulties can be overcome with a bit more planning. Additionally, the 4 ch and mono will be easier to resell or reuse when upgrading your system. My 2c.

I realise I have no choice.
But I want to do something permanent. I don't want to have to upgrade.

In fact my only real problem with my system as it is, is the amount of space the sub takes up. So I'm taking this opportunity to get me some nice comps, nice subs, and good amps. Do it once, do it right. :)

Sully

Postby Sully » September 12th, 2011, 8:12 am

silent_riot wrote:You should reconsider getting a 4 ch and mono. Installation difficulties can be overcome with a bit more planning. Additionally, the 4 ch and mono will be easier to resell or reuse when upgrading your system. My 2c.

Got that combo for sale if you're interested.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 12th, 2011, 10:25 am

u shud go with silent_riot's suggestion of a good 4chan & mono , once ur a basshead or like to hear loud music outside like for beach\river d majority of 5chan amps out there wont cut it

if u buy 2 good quality amps i dont see y it cant be a permanent buy

for me once i buy some good equipment it last me a solid 2-3yrs until i feel to change just to try something new ...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 12th, 2011, 11:05 am

Ok guys I guess this is where this ends

Thanks for all your help but I realise I'll have to go with two amps.

Rovin, I'll be checking you for an ASA-1000.1Dx :)

Thanks again guys :D

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 12th, 2011, 7:16 pm

when do u need it ? , out of stock right now but new stocks coming in a few wks , some other brands coming in too so u will have more choices when it all arrives ....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 12th, 2011, 9:22 pm

Probably next month I'll get it.

I like the ASA... I'll try that one.

Everytime I buying audio I always end up checking you for something. I'm a great customer ;)