Re: Pioneer 80PRS

Postby crazybalhead » March 27th, 2013, 9:35 am

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2013, 8:04 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Just got one. :o

Did auto EQ, it made sligggghhhht adjustment to the crossover settings that I did manually. The EQ made a few changes in the midrange. Seemed to raise the height of the stage a bit, but also brought it forward towards the listening position.

Easy to set up. Easy to install. Lot's of flexibility.

Two stupid things so far:

No attenuate button if you need to turn it down fast
To pause playback, you have to go into a menu first.

But the quality of the sound is impressive.

By chance it touched the 3khz and above regions?

I thought was just me alone finding those areas a bit too overwhelming but saw others having the same view on other forums.

Postby crazybalhead » March 28th, 2013, 8:26 am

Yeah, after having it on and off, I really don't like the results of the auto EQ, way too bright and forward.

So EQ off. Time alignment being played with now. Got a good center, just left of the steering wheel. Passenger image not too bad either. Placed the sub using the distance measurement, a good 18" from where it actually is, making the sub signal seem to come from more in front. it's more holographic now, and difficult to localise. You cannot tell where the sub and the fronts blend anymore. Which combined with the better image is enough to recommend this deck.

The blue tooth is great too. No more fiddling with the cell phone.

syntax

Postby syntax » April 1st, 2013, 9:45 pm

hey guys i wanna go active, please recommend an amp for 4 ch or 5 ch and how to place speakers on channels

front stage - morel maximo 6.5

bass jlw1 - soon to change but i want my sub power to remain in the 300 wrms range

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » April 2nd, 2013, 10:08 am

whats your budget for amps?
if u have the 80 prs ensure you switch the deck to network mode and reset the deck.
my budget choice of amps are the rockford R300.4 for front stage and rockford r500.1 on subwoofer.
these amps will cost you less than $3000.
planning on competing in SQ?

syntax

Postby syntax » April 2nd, 2013, 11:51 am

no my personal use, i really like these front stage so i wanna keep them for a bit so my system will be just front and sub, was thinking abt a four or five channel amp budget is 2k

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 2nd, 2013, 12:26 pm

You can look at the sound magus or the jbl gto ez series within thay price range

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » April 2nd, 2013, 3:56 pm

http://triplerelectronics.com/home/?p=2686
exactly your budget with a lot of power for a 5 channel
you can always upgrade your sub too with this amp

syntax

Postby syntax » April 2nd, 2013, 6:34 pm

^^ what system do you have

Postby nervewrecker » April 2nd, 2013, 6:51 pm

Thread was going so good....

Anyways, if you dont know how to wire to an amp you should have bought a normal head unit and run them comps passive. You dont even know how to wire speakers to an amp much less use the TA, xovers, slopes etc.

As said before, make sure deck on network mode and make sure amps wired up properly (ie no turn on / off pops or kiss your tweets good bye). Refer to the manuals for both items on how to install.

The deck front out becomes high for tweets, rear becomes mid and sub is still sub.

One driver goes per channel on the amp but make sure the respective driver is on the respective channel that the respective RCA from the respective output it run to. Each channel on the amp is a pair of + & - connection. Make sure all + goes to + of speaker and - goes to - on driver.
Highs to mid is ok if you mix it up but mid to tweet or bass to tweet = goodbye tweet as you have forfeited the use of your passive network that could eliminate such blunders.

I assume your sub is a single sub so it will be in the sub channels bridged.

Set slopes and xovers accordingly. Angle drivers to suit you and find another thread on how to TA or use the auto eq (I would suggest manual anyday).

Last but not least and most important, please read the manuals.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » April 2nd, 2013, 9:01 pm

^^ what system do you have

I used a 80prs and a pair of dls226 coax and a pair of jl6w3v3 for sub. the deck was not on network mode with this set up. System if scraped out to be redone but keeping the 80prs.

syntax_ you should do some online reading and google any questions you have when doing your system if you are not sure about using the network mode. your system build seem simple so i always encourage to diy.

Postby nervewrecker » April 2nd, 2013, 9:10 pm

I not discouraging you eh syntax, just do your hw before you diy. Could have started a new therad though.

syntax

Postby syntax » April 2nd, 2013, 9:32 pm

lol..........

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 3rd, 2013, 10:49 pm

I recently purchased and installed an 80PRS deck. You can see my review at the link below. In summary, a very nice deck.

http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/mem ... 980bt.html

CasperBrown

Postby CasperBrown » June 5th, 2013, 9:07 am

daz de longest review I ever ssee hoss....

btw... have anyone gotten 5v out of this deck with the volume at 3/4 range?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 14th, 2013, 2:47 pm

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=510454

Heads up to anyone looking for a lil deal, cheapest I've seen so far

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2014, 3:04 pm

Hey guys, can't find my box with the packaging and stuff. The manual in there and I need to know how to remove a device from the head unit Bluetooth list. Mine is full and I want to add another. One still listed is a device I no longer own.

Postby black start » August 7th, 2014, 4:10 pm

Download a manual online nah...

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2014, 7:01 pm

I reading it online page 32 and its not working.