SnipeR's Build Log

SnipeR

Re: SnipeR's Build Log

Postby SnipeR » August 28th, 2012, 10:29 pm

thanks Rovin :) This wasn't as easy as I thought it would be. Did the roof in the baleno wagon with four layers of damplifier pro and these doors seem to be more of a challenge than that! Really nice to finally have proper midbass now tho...:)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 29th, 2012, 1:42 pm

4 layers boi :shock: - u beat me back with that since mine was 2 on d hood , is 4 overkill though ?

my doors & trunk lid had 3 , 2 on d inner & 1 on d outer

even with 2 pioneer 6.5" coax in d doors powered by just a cheap pioneer cd deck it sounded quite good , had ppl fooled thinking that it was amped

... :mrgreen:

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » August 29th, 2012, 1:58 pm

Four layers was in the baleno wagon. Nowhere near that amount gonna be in the sorento since the system would be considerably smaller.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » August 30th, 2012, 12:53 am

For those of you who like to plaster every square inch of your car with damping material, then duplicate the job again for good measure, the following link might be of interest :): http://www.sounddeadenershowdown.com/cgi-bin/index.cgi

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 30th, 2012, 10:23 am

^personally i dont subscribe to that 25% guide & i noticed most ppl dont too but there can be such a thing as overkill too

... :|

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » September 1st, 2012, 2:57 pm

^^Same. I think I put a bit too much second skin in the baleno (other vehicle). Wanted to be sure I got no rattles as the subs would have been upward firing. But that "anything more than 25% coverage is excessive" seems to be unrealistic. Hell, in most build logs I follow, I hardly see anyone subscribing to those guidelines, but I could test it in my brother's sorento and compare. Thanks for the advice/input brian :)

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » September 2nd, 2012, 12:42 am

SnipeR wrote: Thanks for the advice/input brian :)

Note that the site's 25% reference is to CLD tiles. The owner did use MLV all over the place for further damping.

I REALLY need to get cracking at sorting out the damping in my car. I've done everything else, but not that. Looks like I've gotten lazy.. :-)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 4th, 2012, 11:36 am

As we are on the topic of damping, I used 2 sheets of roadkill per door on my xtrail. Inner and under the door cover and kept the stock speakers in there powered by a sundown 100.4 and getting signal from a pioneer 9400bh.. VERY clean sounding.. the bass is AMAZING! I was told by numerous well known installers that unless I spend a considerably high amount on some high end comps, I wont hear much difference that what I have right now... in terms of midbass. But for the sake of clarity I will change, eventually.

all this was done with just 1 layer.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » December 22nd, 2012, 10:45 am

Small update teaser (excuse the phone cam)

First time installing equipment under the trunk flooring. Everything fit neatly, so I'm glad for that. Hoping to get it wired up before the end of the year. If not, I'm not sure when I'll get the time to do it :( No time these days at all!

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2012, 12:36 pm

NICE STUFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 0.o

where you get that kicker amp btw?

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » December 22nd, 2012, 3:43 pm

Thanks bro! :) I got the kicker amp off Car Audio Classifieds. Does ~1100rms and it's so small....works perfect for the application.

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » December 22nd, 2012, 7:39 pm

bessss

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » December 23rd, 2012, 8:28 pm

^^Thanks man. Hoping to check you real soon for some stuff :twisted:

In the meantime, proposed location for fused distribution block.

Lemme know what you guys think...

Postby black start » December 24th, 2012, 9:27 pm

looking good, but wires coming in from behind the upholstery right?

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » December 24th, 2012, 11:26 pm

For sure. It's plastic, so I can drill the holes and put in some grommets. Also, gonna remove the netting thing there. Would have drilled the holes today but the damn rain kept me back :(

Postby black start » December 24th, 2012, 11:49 pm

yea that net thingy not so....

*unrelated*
rain holding back fulling off overburden as well.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » December 28th, 2012, 4:14 pm

Two days of sun!! Started the wiring process.

Still gotta neaten it up a bit. And I'm also waiting for my final pair of monster cables to arrive to replace the temporary stinger I have there.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 1st, 2013, 1:10 am

what vehicle is that? i find it weird that it has a cig lighter port to the back

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » January 1st, 2013, 2:41 pm

^^ Kia sorento.

Mounted the epicenter and 3SIXTY remotes.

Epicenter remote mounted directly on the pocket.

3SIXTY remote added as well...

Pocket closed, everything hidden.

All that's left to be done is to run the positive from front to back. Sub would be in an old 2.3cuft @30Hz enclosure until I build a proper wedge enclosure.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 1st, 2013, 7:44 pm

nice ! ... :)

Postby 3stagevtec » January 2nd, 2013, 12:21 am

Looking good!

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » January 3rd, 2013, 2:48 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:nice ! ... :)

3stagevtec wrote:Looking good!

Thanks guys! Working to have it finished soon.

Rebuilt the trunk flooring with some scraps of plywood I had lying around. Previous owner more or less killed the MDF floor that was there before.

Gonna sand, seal and varnish the underside so that it looks decent when it's open. Cleaned up the stock carpet and I'm gonna stick it back on using spray adhesive. The three holes are for three 120mm fans. Not sure if to do a straight extract configuration or a push/pull configuration...

Postby nervewrecker » January 3rd, 2013, 11:05 am

I linking it so far.

Gonna change them q-audio 4awg cables btw?

Postby 3stagevtec » January 3rd, 2013, 11:23 am

Push / Pull is better! You want the air cycling through..

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » January 3rd, 2013, 9:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I linking it so far.

Gonna change them q-audio 4awg cables btw?

Those are actually EFX oxygen free cables. Reused them from the build in the baleno. Should do the job well enough. (BTW, did you get those grommets you were looking for? I have some plastic ones if you like...got a bag of each size basically. Hit me a PM and we could organise...for free :) )

3stagevtec wrote:Push / Pull is better! You want the air cycling through..

Thanks, will order the fans over the weekend hopefully.

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2013, 1:21 pm

They sure look the q-audio set I had. :lol:

didnt get through nuh, only R&N had on cipero street and its not what I wanted. Will hit you a pm later, kasey have some pc fans for sale btw, want me pick you up some as I coming from the southside?

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » January 4th, 2013, 5:08 pm

nervewrecker wrote:... kasey have some pc fans for sale btw, want me pick you up some as I coming from the southside?

Need them to be kinda slim because of the space between the flooring and the PPI amp.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » April 17th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Small update...

Removed the rear decking to install the grommets and secure them properly

Since the panel was already out, I installed the dynamat behind there

Will have some more pics up later in the week...

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » April 21st, 2013, 9:04 pm

Finally got the wiring finished.

Removed the panel on the other side.
Will mat the panel this week hopefully.

Glow from the 3SIXTY through the fan grill.
Havent ordered the fans yet, but will get around to doing it soon...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2013, 9:07 pm

u taking ur grand fadda time .... :lol:...but it coming out good ... :)