1 15" (@ 2,000rms) vs 2 15's (@ 1,000rms each) which better?

Lutch

1 15" (@ 2,000rms) vs 2 15's (@ 1,000rms each) which better?

Postby Lutch » March 14th, 2012, 10:54 pm

currently im looking @ my options for a bassline for a toyota fielder wagon

total power must not exceed 2,000rms as i already have an amp dat will do jus over dat.

what im looking at is which will simply give more bass
lastly its for personal listening pleasure rather dan any sound off or competition ting.

ur experience/suggestions will be highly appreciated

thanks

Re: 1 15" (@ 2,000rms) vs 2 15's (@ 1,000rms each) which bet

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2012, 10:53 am

so why didnt you put this in the previous thread as well???? as for your question,what is your budget? and your amp is 2000rms @1 or 2 ohm

Lutch

Postby Lutch » March 15th, 2012, 12:20 pm

sry.... not sure how come it got posted twice

my budget is around $3,000

d amp does 2,000 @ 1ohm

if is 2 subs i kno dey will hav 2 b dual 4 as opposed 2 dual 2

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2012, 2:16 pm

my options for ur budget

2 12'' dbxid earthquake 750rms each
1 15'' re sx
1 15'' dd 3515
2 12'' rockford t1 (new ones)

I chose these because I used them already,other people would have other choices...personally the 2 earthquakes was like wow....quality baseline,nice lows....

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 16th, 2012, 10:16 pm

consider a pair of skar vvx-12's or 15's :)

musicgalore

Postby musicgalore » March 21st, 2012, 8:44 pm

Man let me tell you something in the audio world this is the best method used:>

1) 2 10'' speakers are better than 1 12'' speaker> 2 12'' spk is better 1 15'' spk > and 2 15'' spk is better than 1 18'' spk.

2)Always match your speakers with your amplifier for example: if you have a speaker that handles 500 watts rms you must always have an amplifier that has at least 100 watts rms more for headroom so you should have an amplifier with 600 watts rms.

3) Learning to understand impedance of speakers as well as power output of amplifier different impedance loads. example> you may have an amplifier that puts out a total of 500 watts rms at a 4 ohm load and 250 watts rms at 8 ohm loads, so lets say you have a speaker that is 8ohms 500watts rms and you put it on an amp that puts out 250 watts into 8 ohms what happens is you are actually under powering that speaker which leads to failure.

4) Tuning your system is most critical part you may have the most expensive equipment and don't know how to use it doesn't make sense, first things first.... crossover points are the first thing that should be properly set for optimal performance everything comes after.

Postby nervewrecker » March 21st, 2012, 10:36 pm

see this:

<<<------

I have one 15" & an amp that puts out 80% more power than its rated to handle, something wrong with that?

Bassauthority

Postby Bassauthority » March 22nd, 2012, 9:17 pm

If you have the space to properly run 2 15s,,,,my choice will be the 2 15s,,,,,more cone area,,possibility resulting in more air movement.....

Lutch

Postby Lutch » March 22nd, 2012, 11:01 pm

space for a proper box holding 2 15's wont b an issue....infact two 15's have been my original intention

my main reason for this post was a number of padnas sayin dat 1 good 15 will be be better dan two cheaper/ lower powered 15's...which i disagreed wit... jus neeeded 2 b sure

1. wat i was lookin @ is dat d box for 1 mid level 15 (say dd3515) will be just ah couple cu ft smaller dan the box for the two subs i lookin at (a pair of Soundstream t6)...besides i bought myself a wagon so i gonna have more space for music, an i plan to use it...

2. from the prices gathered from tuner an ah couple audioshops.... one dd3515 will cost in d vicinity of $3500 whilst the two t6 is bout $1000 cheaper...

3. ive heard this model soundstream play an it was bess...too bad it was only one sub d dude was running otherwise i would would have really gotten an idea as 2 how dey will match up against a single dd3515

4. had a one 12'' system before an it was damn loud...had it on d same amp im gonna use (approx 2,300 rms @1 ohm) sub was dual 2.....problem is dat whilst it was as loud as say 2 powerbass S-124 it couldnt take as much pressure ie. play dat loud for as long as the 2 pb wud...orr an d box required for d single 12'' was almost d same size as d one required for d 2 pb

dis jus my 2 cents...plz doh bash meh 2 much on my opinions.. if my opinion was was indeed fact den i wouldnt hav had 2 post this topic on tuner to get ur guys take on d matter

tanks 4 all d input so far

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 23rd, 2012, 10:31 am

so 2 15s can really fit well in a fielder wagon trunk area that includes extra batts , amps , processors & where d loud mids (assuming its loud mids u using) will fit up in there too or mounted on d doors or something so ?

or u using d backseat area too , will u be building a wall ?

1 15" 2000wrms of brand X vs 2 15s 1000wrms of brand Y is not exactly a fair comparison , if both were d same exact brand then in theory 2 15s wud push more air ....

computercentral

Postby computercentral » March 23rd, 2012, 2:09 pm

1 - 15" is the way to go

Lutch

Postby Lutch » March 23rd, 2012, 5:36 pm

rovin d seatin arrangements are as follows

batteries in wheel weld

bass in da trunk..

4 6''...one in each door...amp powering it...under d passenger seat

2 10'' 1 facing out each back window with 1 driver in box bracketed 2 d hood...(these boxes will only come out for limin purposes an as such wont be in d car daily....

amp for drivers...under d driver seat...amp for the 10's, bass amp and audiocontrol in the arch between the backseat and bass enclosure.

all of the items mentioned i have already with d exception of sub/box an batteries...and prob some wiring...so i estimate at current salary structure it will b atleast 2-3 months before all d items for this project are gathered... so i hav some time 2 decide

again thanks for ur input...really want this install to be done right d first time as i eh plan 2 make nooo changes 4 ah while after install...dat does be too much damn headache

Cornhux

Postby Cornhux » March 23rd, 2012, 6:00 pm

You can also check out the audiopipe subs the TXX models they are nicely priced and can take lixx..

Postby nervewrecker » March 23rd, 2012, 10:43 pm

wheel weld? :lol:
I hope this isnt a daily car rolling around with no spare tyre.

anyhow, as someone mentioned, the audiopipe subs hold up pretty well & they are pretty nicely priced too. You can get those & bag the deal on the high output alternator in the classifieds to support that current draw & pump the juice to that battery bank.

My choice will be 2 15" instead of one btw (more cone area = more output).

btw, what bass amp may I ask? (to be sure its actually >2000watts & not exaggerated >2000watts).

May I also suggest you look into situating all the amps behind the seat to allow for ease of wiring & grounding. Also because you seem to be building a park & play system, with amps under the seats ventilation may be a problem.

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » March 24th, 2012, 9:25 am

Hello,

If you would like to use a pair of 15's, make sure you can fit the enclosure first.The average 15" box would be 4.5cuft total, so you need space to fit the external dimensions of this.

We have proven cases of the generally accepted "more cone area= louder" and also being wrong, as your installation would be key to your vehicle's actual sound.

For your budget, I can recommend the following-

Audiopipe TXX-AP15
Soundstream t5/t6 tarantula

If you would like something a bit better($1200-$1500)-
Re SE
Rockford T1
Soundstream SPLX
Skar audio vvx

Thanks,
Team ADT

Pre

Postby Pre » March 30th, 2012, 8:50 pm

Lutch, like u doh trust meh bro? Well now i think u sure of what i told u.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 12th, 2012, 9:23 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:my options for ur budget

1 15'' re sx
1 15'' dd 3515

I chose these because I used them already,other people would have other choices...personally the 2 earthquakes was like wow....quality baseline,nice lows....

i used 2 10'' and another time used 1 15'' in the DBXI not sure what is DBXID. however the tones from these subs are smooth and deep. price is really good for the sound imho.

there is also a earthquake sub-zero that is just awesome. i would know i'm using 2 10'' :mrgreen:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 12th, 2012, 1:49 pm

ruff neck chicken wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:my options for ur budget

1 15'' re sx
1 15'' dd 3515

i used 2 10'' and another time used 1 15'' in the DBXI not sure what is DBXID. however the tones from these subs are smooth and deep. price is really good for the sound imho.

there is also a earthquake sub-zero that is just awesome. i would know i'm using 2 10'':mrgreen:

http://www.earthquakesound.com/IMAGEJP/ ... manual.pdf
dbxi 12d. I used the subzero 15 already and it's a beast..but I really enjoyed the magmas...

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 12th, 2012, 2:00 pm

i got confused with you saying 12'' dbxid compared to a 12d dbxi. same thing yes. i would love to try the DBXi-12os tho. heard those things are mean. DBXi on steroids. the Holees a bit to impractical atm.lol.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 12th, 2012, 2:54 pm

ruff neck chicken wrote:i got confused with you saying 12'' dbxid compared to a 12d dbxi. same thing yes. i would love to try the DBXi-12os tho. heard those things are mean. DBXi on steroids. the Holees a bit to impractical atm.lol.

the subs are mean non the less :lol: :lol: holees are mofos....had a padna with one and he was using the ph10000 to power it,talk about lows......was abt 4years ago.the dbxi are more quality bass subs,well it would depend on the enclosure...

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » April 13th, 2012, 1:58 pm

with 3 grand and that power, for everyday listening buy an orion HCCA 12 bro. i think its 2000 rms as well. it seems rel durable and is so sexy in many ways when in plays

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 13th, 2012, 10:06 pm

speedmelter wrote:with 3 grand and that power, for everyday listening buy an orion HCCA 12 bro. i think its 2000 rms as well. it seems rel durable and is so sexy in many ways when in plays

are you familiar with the type of bass suited for this sub...I don't think it's what the OP is looking for

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » April 13th, 2012, 11:08 pm

Lutch wrote:currently im looking @ my options for a bassline for a toyota fielder wagon

total power must not exceed 2,000rms as i already have an amp dat will do jus over dat.

what im looking at is which will simply give more bass
lastly its for personal listening pleasure rather dan any sound off or competition ting.

ur experience/suggestions will be highly appreciated

thanks

i think it suits that perfectly...

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 14th, 2012, 6:08 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:are you familiar with the type of bass suited for this sub...I don't think it's what the OP is looking for

what type of bass is that sub suited for?
what type of bass would you say the OP is looking for?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 14th, 2012, 9:03 pm

ruff neck chicken wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:are you familiar with the type of bass suited for this sub...I don't think it's what the OP is looking for

what type of bass is that sub suited for?
what type of bass would you say the OP is looking for?

just reading through the above comments by OP and it might be a good sub for him :oops: having used the HCCA already,it's more of a quality sub,produces some deadly lows and nice clean bass,providing you have the correct enclosure.

Lutch

Postby Lutch » April 17th, 2012, 10:29 pm

thanks guys for all the input ... after hearing ah few demo's i think I've gotten my answer

jus need 2 find ah lil bit of extra cash now!!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2012, 1:41 am

Lutch wrote:thanks guys for all the input ... after hearing ah few demo's i think I've gotten my answer

jus need 2 find ah lil bit of extra cash now!!!!

wa is d answer bai? :D

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 18th, 2012, 8:09 am

did i win :D

Lutch

Postby Lutch » April 18th, 2012, 12:22 pm

im gonna go wit d one 15'' most likely a dd 3515.... its ah lil over budget but it seems to b the best soundin/ most reliable