MY DIY Audio Install :)

nos_specialist

Re: MY DIY Audio Install :)

Postby nos_specialist » May 19th, 2012, 5:38 pm

well, i got the fibreglassing done on one today, and i pulled the fleece and resined the other one...will fibreglass that tmr. I tried a reinforcing technique i hope it works...i drilled some holes on the flat areas of the fleece where it touching the door panel, and allowed resin and fibreglass to get into the holes, tmr i will put a piece of fibreglass on the inside to lock what seeped thru the holes..think that wud make sense? it feels sturdy enough tho, with the drywall screws and the staples, but i dunno if it wud be able to handle music vibrations

check ting..

so from tmr, time to fill sand and upholstery.....and well wait on the DVD screen for the upper half to reach

the used

Postby the used » May 19th, 2012, 6:17 pm

ahhh bess

Postby gt4tified » May 19th, 2012, 7:46 pm

nos_specialist wrote:I tried a reinforcing technique i hope it works...i drilled some holes on the flat areas of the fleece where it touching the door panel, and allowed resin and fibreglass to get into the holes, tmr i will put a piece of fibreglass on the inside to lock what seeped thru the holes..think that wud make sense? it feels sturdy enough tho, with the drywall screws and the staples, but i dunno if it wud be able to handle music vibrations

This was partially my initial concern but more so when you attach it via clips to the door frame. Its not just the weight (which is prolly fine since the top of it hooks into the door sill, but the lateral forces from the cone movement....if there’s some decent midbass going through them speakers.....what frequency you gonna be crossing them faitals at though?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 19th, 2012, 8:35 pm

well i plan to send my higher frequency midrange to d faital pro and the lower frequencies to the b&c

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2012, 9:00 pm

You doing good so far. If spaces are an issue where it dosent fit unto the upholstery mix some mortar (sand) or some ripped up kitty mat to make a bit more of a viscous liquid, pour it inside and let it stand so it will harden and fill up the spaces. Or you can use body filler or putty to fill the spaces and pour some resin on the inside over it.
I see the insides open, will the speakers be venting into the door? What frequency you planning to cross at exactly?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 19th, 2012, 9:20 pm

i still have to figure out the exact frequency to run on itwhat do u advise and do u think i shud close up the inside?

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2012, 9:25 pm

I'd prefer to have the speakers in an enclosure rather than infinite baffle. what speakers you said they were again?
What's the internal volume like?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 20th, 2012, 12:28 pm

internal volume? hmmmm....cant say, i wud hadda run some volumetric calculations :)

i wud try my best and measure,

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 20th, 2012, 9:47 pm

UPDATTEEEEEEE

so credit goes to my cuz for doing the filler, sanding, and priming on the door upholstery

so this one is almost done, jus some final sanding to do, and then upholstery.

the next one to be done tmr..hopefully

mrkillertrix

Postby mrkillertrix » May 20th, 2012, 9:58 pm

looking good so far

Postby nervewrecker » May 21st, 2012, 2:30 pm

can the doors close with that second pod so near to where the backseat will fall?

To seal it:

I see there is plastic inside, it should be kind of stiff. see if you can tape it off, fiberglass on top it (approx 4 layers should do fine) and then cut out the shape of the inside of the upholstery in mdf. Cut out the inside right around now so you have approx a 1.5 piece of 'ring' the shape of the inside. Attach the rear piece to the mdf ring you now have and then fit it up inside so the whole thing sealed. seal off with resin now so you have a sealed enclosure.
If it too small for the both drivers maybe you can add some polyfill. I donno how that will work out so maybe you can get some more feedback from the guys in here about that.

Postby rollingstock » May 21st, 2012, 2:55 pm

^ the internal volume may not be sufficient for both drivers especially if he is crossing the b&c's low.
Allowing it to vent into the door may work out better, at least that's what i did, sounded great just the pre-mentioned rattle was an issue and was sorted out with some dampening material.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 21st, 2012, 5:56 pm

TO answer the question, Yes the doors close perfectly....i will have to alter my seat a bit, not much modification, jus to shave off some of the foam, and lower the sides a bit..

SO the big question.....to vent into the door..or not into the door....

i think i wud let it vent for now, and if i am not getting the performance i like....then i wud seal it and see if it makes a difference

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 6th, 2012, 5:47 pm

buh waitt nuhh....look how long i eh update this ting..

i finally got some time, after about 5 months.. 5 months...damnnn... and still didnt finish this lol
decided to get some work done on this thing..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 6th, 2012, 6:39 pm

aye look the toes dem come back.....lol...I say yuh fuhget we yes...

install looking good!

Postby nervewrecker » October 6th, 2012, 9:05 pm

looking good, cant wait to do mine.

smallz

Postby smallz » October 6th, 2012, 10:24 pm

looks good man..

lookin at your work.. an havin looked at nervewrecker's work on his car...

I jus mite try n mess wit some fiberglass soon too.... :)

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 7th, 2012, 6:58 am

^^^ yea it cool jus make sure you have the right tools for it ok, and a point of warning....fibreglass dust.. will itch if it contacts yur skin.

as soon as i have my workshop built i gonna get into fibreglass a lil more

Postby black start » October 7th, 2012, 11:37 pm

good job guy

southside connections

Postby southside connections » October 8th, 2012, 12:54 am

well done so far!!!!

noise_maker

Postby noise_maker » October 10th, 2012, 9:28 pm

that thing look bess
how much for d resin and fiberglass ?

Postby nervewrecker » October 10th, 2012, 9:56 pm

Resin price raise, is $120.00 a gallon now and I think I paid like $26.00 for 4 yard of mat last time.

Didnt know I inspired anyone smallz, i'm flattered. Go for it man :D

Postby skylinechild » October 14th, 2012, 10:11 am

nos_specialist wrote:buh waitt nuhh....look how long i eh update this ting..

i finally got some time, after about 5 months.. 5 months...damnnn... and still didnt finish this lol
decided to get some work done on this thing..

liking the project man..looks sweet. love how it turned out. I seriously contemplating doing this with my back doors - just one 6 inch on the door - so it will look like the front door -& have the OEM look.

props to you man :wink:

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 14th, 2012, 10:05 pm

thanks man, well i still havent gotten the top completed yet..upholstery guy playin up...so i call up a friend to help me (hope she cud handle it, she is goin into a bag makin business....)

lets see what she does this week...later folks

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 23rd, 2012, 11:37 am

Ayeeee look ting..... it actually almost done, jus to put in a small piece of upholstery...and another speaker....

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2012, 12:20 pm

looking good, you going to do that little piece of upholstery on the right of the screen black too right?

I see the back seat removed and on the ground there...dont hold back , lets see the rest of the build :D

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 23rd, 2012, 2:03 pm

nervewrecker wrote:looking good, you going to do that little piece of upholstery on the right of the screen black too right?

I see the back seat removed and on the ground there...dont hold back , lets see the rest of the build :D

My friend is doin the sewing of the other side, so when she's done...i will get that completed.

and as for the rest of the build....comin soon...

smallz

Postby smallz » March 15th, 2014, 7:47 pm

need to update thread......

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 16th, 2014, 7:04 pm

make sure more toes in the pics

kerwinishere