help me choose the correct head unit for my application

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 6:17 pm

Rooki3 wrote:ok good day audio gurus, i'm interested in purchasing head unit as follows:

- dvd capable
-no flip out screen
-fm/am radio
-mp3 capable
-auxillary input

here's a pic of my current setup

as u can see, there are 2 units & an OEM screen, i wud like to remove the unit above the A/C controls & with a lil modification, install the new head unit, i wid replace the one at the bottom with a pocket fitting as found on other lancers

here are a few pics of some of the connections behind the units
ImageImageImage

so far i've seen one headunit, i wud like yur advice as to whether it wud wrk for my needs

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_440 ... 750UA.html

Re: help me choose the correct head unit for my application

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 6:20 pm

Rooki3 wrote:did some research on boss website & i came to realise the unit i am eyeing is too small in dimension, so i'm back to square one

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2012, 8:02 pm

www.alpine-usa.com

nothing else

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2012, 8:02 pm

Oh also if you're gonna swap an OEM unit for a boss, you might as well keep the OEM unit.

Re: Help me choose a suitable head unit

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 9:00 pm

realise the boss wasnt suitable, saw soundstream have a nice one, esp for what i wanted

model : VDVD-311

Gonna check out the alpines now

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 9:16 pm

alpine have nun dey for me bai

look d soundstream

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B009LIQ33 ... etail?pd=1

that dimension they posted is d whole box right? cause i never seen a deck so big

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2012, 9:31 pm

sigh

This would fit right in the spot the current screen in

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 23rd, 2012, 9:48 pm

looks liek u need a din and a half and not a double din deck... whats the size of the screen unit?

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 10:04 pm

i dont want to change d oem screen, jus wanna have a head unit with a/v output to be attatched to the oem screen

sorry for not being clear

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 10:10 pm

screen is approx 6" x 3.5"

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 10:14 pm

jus want to remove the part outlined & replace

Postby black start » December 24th, 2012, 9:29 pm

he'll need a dash jit for the vehicle not so?

Postby Rooki3 » December 25th, 2012, 12:08 pm

i decude to settle for a normal headunit

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... /DEH-150MP

wud buy a separate dvd player some othertime

wud the headunit above wrk?

already have it in my cart

Postby nervewrecker » December 25th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Buy something better than that nuh rooki3, that head unit is for men who on a tight budget and want an upgrade to the stock cassette player on the dash.
Get something with at least a lil bluetooth and usb self nuh man.

You thought about buying local btw? After the customs ass rape you might end up spending more that what men calling for head units here and you have no warranty. Men like rovin have good head units at great prices, offer warranty and good advice too.
iirc the 9400bh is a popular model. you could check here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=452402 and do some price comparisons.

You planning on adding in anything more later on btw?

While pios may come across as a troll what he is saying is true, buy something good and dont regret it. I bought the entry level pioneer deck to replace my stock head unit and believe it or not....it was a downgrade. Later on I bought another head unit (A mid level one) and even the sound was different with the cheap arse stock speakers.

Postby Rooki3 » December 25th, 2012, 12:56 pm

thanx nerve, u correct that unit, came to realise no usb, so i opted for the deh-2500ui, my current radion in my car doesnt wrk, i jus want a lil music in my ears when drivin, wrt to customs, i have no worries there, i'll be shippin it to my aunt in NY, she suppose to come on the 6th, so she'll jus put it in her luggage, wrt to pios suggestions, i took them seriously, but i not gonna shell out 300us on a head unit i probably wud nvr be interested in using all the features, so i narrowed it down to the deh-2500ui, its simple, effective & also a 2013 model

Postby nervewrecker » December 25th, 2012, 1:15 pm

Personally I woulda go for one with Bluetooth but once you happy with the specs that one have man.

Postby Rooki3 » December 25th, 2012, 1:30 pm

yh bruh, thnx, doh need all dah bluetooth thingy, i jus need sumtin to play mih tommy lee, i plan to buy a separate dvd player sonetime in the future, wud hook it up to the factory screen, so i vud watch mih pornos & drive

Postby Rooki3 » December 25th, 2012, 2:18 pm

oh nerve, i cancelled my order, happened to see this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0091U ... 00_s00_i00

Postby black start » December 25th, 2012, 4:12 pm

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... EH-X3500UI

decent spec on that deck for the price pal.

Postby sMASH » December 25th, 2012, 5:50 pm

why doesn't the radio work? is it because of the band being the wrong range? if so, then a band expander could work, steveselectronics on the audio sales forum sells them.
if the other parts of the components work, then the band expander is the way to go, as every thing would remain the same and original

Postby Rooki3 » December 26th, 2012, 3:38 am

yh, i kno smash, only does pick up tv 6, a guy told me 309 for d part, drn installation, i doh find that make much sense, as i see it, i cud put 400 extra on that & get a decent head unit

re: deh-x3500ui