Need advice on stinger battery life span

shot

Need advice on stinger battery life span

Postby shot » May 22nd, 2013, 9:09 pm

i am getting voltage 12.8v when my car is off when i start 14.3v but voltage drops while playing my system current drop 11.9v - 12.3v i have two stinger battery spv 70 and 69 .both of them approx 3 yrs old .i recently service my alt but still getting voltage drop

Re: Need advice on stinger battery life span

Postby SR » May 23rd, 2013, 5:48 am

whats the current draw of your amplifiers

rishadneil

Postby rishadneil » May 23rd, 2013, 6:06 am

when the bass cums on them amps suck alot of power so there will be a voltage drop even if the battery is good...try adding a capacitor

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 23rd, 2013, 10:57 am

rishadneil wrote:when the bass cums on them amps suck alot of power so there will be a voltage drop even if the battery is good...try adding a capacitor

nuh sure if its car music this dude talkin bout or some porn movie he jes see ... :lol:

rishadneil

Postby rishadneil » May 23rd, 2013, 11:59 am

hahaha i nw realise the words i use lol

Sent from my GT-S5830 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Capacitor won't help. Seems as though the alternator is under sized for the amps you have.

rishadneil

Postby rishadneil » May 26th, 2013, 8:35 pm

capicator can help cuz it stores current and bost your voltage.... if it boost your voltage when your bass comes on it wont drop so low
but you can also upgrade your alternator or do a big 3 upgrade

Postby nervewrecker » May 26th, 2013, 8:38 pm

rishadneil wrote:capicator can help cuz it stores current and bost your voltage.... if it boost your voltage when your bass comes on it wont drop so low
but you can also upgrade your alternator or do a big 3 upgrade

This current it storing, where it coming from?

rishadneil

Postby rishadneil » May 26th, 2013, 8:41 pm

yes it comin frmthe battery or alternator
but once the cap gets it current and boost the voltage... your voltage wont drop so low when the amp strts to pull power

it will drop! but not so low.... the amp will get enought current to play properly

Postby nervewrecker » May 26th, 2013, 8:47 pm

How does the battery reserve get replenished?

rishadneil

Postby rishadneil » May 26th, 2013, 8:51 pm

by the alternaltor
buh he said he got the alternator serviced
and i think his alternator is big enough to charge bk the 2 batteries
once its big enough to charge bk the batteries, jus add a cap and boost the voltage

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2013, 8:59 pm

I disagree, a cap will not add any benefit to his system. All the energy the cap gathers comes from his electrical system and then has to discharge it. Since it does not generate any power on it's own, it will just act like another small load on his already weak electrical system.

A battery produces energy through a chemical process, so an extra battery helps, but batteries also need to be recharged and that energy comes from that alternator. In any car electrical system, all power is drawn first from the alternator, when the capacity of the alt runs out, only then current will be drawn from the batteries.

If he wants to keep the voltage up higher, he needs a higher capacity alternator.

Postby nervewrecker » May 26th, 2013, 9:01 pm

So if the amps pull from the battery reserve and the alternator charges the batteries..... How will adding a cap help if the alternator not big enough to replenish the battery reserve as fast is its being diminished?

Bear in mind every time the cap discharges and needs to recharge it is going to pull from the system reserve. Seeing as though the alternator cannot cope with the draw as is the cap is only going to increase the strain on the alternator on its recharge cycle.

So what have you just learnt?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2013, 9:03 pm

I had an 80A alt and 2 big batteries in my competition system from years back, at full tilt, the voltage will drop to 11.xV.. When I upgraded to a 270A alt + only one battery, I was able to play the system at full tilt and have a relatively steady system voltage of around 13.6 - 13.8V.

There is nothing like having a properly sized alternator to run power hungry equipment. I got rid of all my extra heavy batteries and now I just run one bigger alt.. power galore!

shot

Postby shot » May 27th, 2013, 9:21 am

will i get an alt to fit with no modification on a y11 wing rood at what price and where .also change battery to spv 70 in front but still need alt

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 27th, 2013, 12:33 pm

3stage & nerve is right - bottom line : alt makes d current

read this :

http://www.glasswolf.net/papers/altspecs.html

http://www.glasswolf.net/papers/charging.html

http://www.glasswolf.net/papers/capacitors.html

chances of fitting a bolt in replacement is slim , slight bracket modification is needed ...