Got an amp free but...

Postby S_2NR » January 7th, 2014, 4:18 am

Not really into car audio.
I just use whatever comes stock.
Got this free from a relative and its brand new, never used. He had it lying around :lol:
Wondering if it make sense to hook it up to my stock system to amplify it or to just sell/throw away/give away cause i hear pyramid is sheit. Wouldn't mind a little more power in my system.

this is the model:
http://www.pcworld.com/product/pg/1962169/detail

Thoughts?

Sully

Re: Got an amp free but...

Postby Sully » January 7th, 2014, 6:40 am

If you can sell it, then by all means. Extra cash is always good. If you can't, a little more power on speakers is always good. Just don't drive them into distortion.

Postby 3stagevtec » January 7th, 2014, 12:34 pm

I'd hook it up to the stock system.. If the car came with a basic type radio, it should give you a lil more oomph.

UZi Tech

Postby UZi Tech » January 7th, 2014, 2:11 pm

add a small subwoofer......... :D......little bass wont hurt anyting...except wanting mor..lol

Postby S_2NR » January 7th, 2014, 2:22 pm

Question is.. Would it sound good and would it be reliable? Being pyramid and all

Postby skylinechild » January 7th, 2014, 2:51 pm

if you dont want it i'll take it !!!! I'll trade you a alcohol tester for it - brand new :lol:
Last edited by skylinechild on January 7th, 2014, 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 7th, 2014, 5:57 pm

ah givin u ah 50 fuh it

Postby 3stagevtec » January 7th, 2014, 9:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:Question is.. Would it sound good and would it be reliable? Being pyramid and all

I had the 500w model to it a long while back, never power tested it but it was a decent and reliable amp.. no complaints

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2014, 9:35 pm

S_2NR wrote:Question is.. Would it sound good and would it be reliable? Being pyramid and all

I had friends use some of these, they real abused it but surprisingly it lived.

Have to back 3stage on this one. If you have a pair of 6*9 or decent pair of coax it will do fine.

Hi Def

Postby Hi Def » January 8th, 2014, 11:09 am

A lil weak on power an an old tech amp, but it works fine once installed right of course & it has more power than the average stock radio!!! so you can install it for a lil more output sound for your ears on an oem system. If this will not please you don't bother since in electronics $$$ for components defines how good it is.....

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 9th, 2014, 8:56 pm

yea , issa shiet amp, but not totally useless!

put it on a small sub for a lil extra punch in yuh system