WTK: AE110 with 5A-FE giving trouble, need advice plz

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

locorolla

WTK: AE110 with 5A-FE giving trouble, need advice plz

Postby locorolla » January 29th, 2008, 2:11 pm

anybody has any ideas on wat would cause my car to be beltin' out a white smoke with a hint of blue-grey from the exhaust?

Here's the low down. The car is doin 160,000 kms, recently i did a oil change and used Havoline 20-W50, plus change de fuel filter. Previously i used to use Castrol.

After i left the garage car was working fine, then i filled up the tank, added a bottle of Cyclo total system cleaner (it was sitting on my shelf for about 3 mnths.) to the fuel tank.

After that, the car start peltin' thick white smoke and movin REAL dead, sputtering on take off, cutting off and backfiring on cold start and ting.

I changed the oil back to Castrol Semi-synthetic after i flush out de Havoline, but it stick puttin out white smoke (less now though) and moving real dead.

Any advice on wat it could be?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 29th, 2008, 7:33 pm

rings job

locorolla

Postby locorolla » January 30th, 2008, 2:38 pm

much appreciated Zeriam, i kinda figured that too, but i was hopin is something more minor and cheaper dan dat........

as we on dat subject though.......does anybody have any idea how much it costs, what 's involved and wat not?

Just so i doh faint wen my mechanic tell me how much it comin up to........

again, much appreciated.......

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 31st, 2008, 12:35 am

well 1st off it could start at 400 or more just take off the head but rings is take out pistons and thing so maybe 1k and the actual rings itself might be(ah doh know) 1500 of the kit. wut i could suggest is buy a foreing used engine for just about the cost of the repair, but if u fix it u know it will last till u ready to sell or change engine

locorolla

Postby locorolla » January 31st, 2008, 10:07 am

cool scene, tanx man.......i figure for dat kina money iz best i go 7A-FE and dun yes........

locorolla

Postby locorolla » January 31st, 2008, 10:13 am

oh, i forget to mention.......after de full tank of gas i had with the Cyclo fuel treatment finished and i full de tank again, de problems pretty much stopped, still gettin' a lil hesitation on de take off and cold start........but not nearly as bad as wen it started originally.........

Still figure i'll do de engine swap, been contemplating it 4 a while now, must be de Man upstairs tellin me is 'bout *&^% time.........

Bless up...

theblitz

Postby theblitz » January 31st, 2008, 12:25 pm

how much for a foreign 7A anyway? wat car da come from?

locorolla

Postby locorolla » January 31st, 2008, 1:04 pm

Last time i checked it was about $3500-$4000, dat was a while ago though.

de 7A-FE is a 1.8L, basically a bored & stroked 4A-FE.

U can do some reading on it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_A_engine

just look for de jump link to de 7A engine.

Hope that helps.

Speaking of which, anybody know where i can find one?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 31st, 2008, 2:18 pm

gazali had 1 a few months ago dont know if they have any

locorolla

Postby locorolla » January 31st, 2008, 3:03 pm

iz a cool scene though, i been checkin out my options, seems 4A-GE or GZE seems like more back bang for the buck.......i'll keep u guys updated on how that comes along.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 31st, 2008, 11:59 pm

i'd suggest a ge over a gze

Return to “TOYOTA”