My 5E-FTHE MegaSquirt an a TD04HL-19T

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

xtech

My 5E-FTHE MegaSquirt an a TD04HL-19T

Postby xtech » December 14th, 2008, 10:03 pm

This was originally posted all the way back in 2008 Fast forward 2011

3 years later after serving me faithfully my little turbo and after it outlasted the 4EFTE it came to trinidad with has finally died with its oil seals gone it left its nasty oil marks in my engine bay....and a huge blue and black cloud where ever I went

so sadly his time has come.......too soon some might say.

So I am taking the plunge into the TD04 world , EURO style so to say cause my TD04 is not JDM......after 3 years of excuses (to busy, to lazy, no money, finding no need to dump a perfectly good working turbo for the TD04) , finally after sitting in storage for 2 years I am now motivated to use my TD04HL turbo from a Volvo 940.. I had some adapter plates made today to re-use my OEM cast iron manifold.

The compressor inlet is 60mm, its not hard to fit. Its the right shape and the compressor outlet ends up pointing the right way up easily connect to my Subaru Top mount watercooler.

They come with a built-in blow-off valve which can be removed and blanked of with a plate but I will use it.

The compressor map shows it does not become inefficent until 1.75 bar but I not taking it that far anyway.

Will be using 460cc injectors with this set-up for sure with my AEM piggyback

The pic shows difference of inlet trumpet size of hybrid CT9 and standard CT9
Enlarged Compressor Inlet Trumpet to a massive 55mm
This TD04HL is even larger at 60mm
Compressor Wheel (Garrett GT type) 39.6mm

So here we go...................

I dropped of the manifold this morning around 8AM to have the plates made and fitted, got it back lunch time ready to go.

Plate 1 installed

Plate 2 installed

Back end installed

Test Fit Complete.......just to hook up water and oil lines.....

Finshed
Last edited by xtech on October 5th, 2013, 10:42 pm, edited 13 times in total.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » December 15th, 2008, 9:40 am

hmmmm. answers anyone?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » December 15th, 2008, 9:55 am

vvvrrrrrrrrroooooooooommmmmmmmmmmm Psssshhhhhh vrrrrrrrooooommmmm psssshhhh ppssshhhhh :mrgreen:

xtech

Postby xtech » December 15th, 2008, 10:01 am

wow..........i get live an direct answers from ah none turbo man :roll:

Postby A172 » December 15th, 2008, 8:03 pm

xtech wrote:wow..........i get live an direct answers from ah none turbo man :roll:

rofl :lol:

i feel is time to upgrade too oui

look how small tha ct9 really is nah :|

xtech

Postby xtech » December 15th, 2008, 9:20 pm

^^^^^yuh understand..... :|
Last edited by xtech on November 13th, 2011, 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 16th, 2008, 10:20 am

Who u tink try a volvo turbo in trini,jamaica etc and where u gettin a next 1 if it break and u waste money makin manifold, downpipe, intake etc. Why u tink nobody postin jus go an get a turbo dat u could replace easily please eg Td04,Td05,T25,T28.

xtech

Postby xtech » December 16th, 2008, 11:00 am

But it is a TD04 so i guess parts to repair wont be hard to find

unless it falls from my hands an breaks into a million pieces i dont see that as an issue........
Nobody posting cause nobody knows.
Last edited by xtech on November 13th, 2011, 12:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 16th, 2008, 11:56 pm

Good luck wit d volvo td04.
I dynoed 2day 207hp & 175ftlbs @ 10psi(T28 turbo) using e-manage ultimate and pump gas witout international support or info :roll: .
U 4get bout upgrading injectors or wat i still have d 315cc injectors and an e-manage ultimate 2 control ur setup. SAFC cant tune timing,remove boost cut,speedcut,etc[/quote]

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » December 17th, 2008, 12:03 am

shinakuma,spotted u over the weekend, ur take off at the lighs was good

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 17th, 2008, 12:30 am

Was tuning d launch control feature on d e-manage ultimate.

xtech

Postby xtech » December 17th, 2008, 6:59 am

I needed to know how laggy this TD04H would be, but since i running a 1500 it wont suffer to much not suited for 1300. A few fellas tried it in Aussie land.
Last edited by xtech on November 13th, 2011, 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 17th, 2008, 7:32 pm

Fellas on the international forums get 230Hp from similar setup. You need help?.

230hp @10psi on stock engine wit super unleaded yeah right. I run tings rich 2 save my engine as this iz my everyday boost level.
Remember men does lie and talk crap on dem forums if u want 2 use td04h go ahead but remember i warned u.

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 18th, 2008, 10:53 am

Did some research an nobody makes 230whp @ 10psi please post d site u c dat on. I need help hahaha yeah right. I am d official 4efte tuner in trini :wink: all 4e/5e are welcome 2 come an tune. 207whp means dat i have approx. 227hp @ d flywheel and i not goin 2 dyno over 2 make 3hp. When d forged internals reach then i go have some rediculous hp figures 2 post til then safe iz d word.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » December 18th, 2008, 10:57 am

shinakuma,dont u have a 5efte bottom end

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 18th, 2008, 10:02 pm

Zeriam wrote:shinakuma,dont u have a 5efte bottom end

Next time u c d tercel walk over an i go show u wat engine i have in.

xtech

Postby xtech » December 18th, 2008, 10:25 pm

The guy who brought my 1300 block broke his block doing over 300HP on forged internals. 400 on NOS :shock:
Last edited by xtech on November 13th, 2011, 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 19th, 2008, 1:42 pm

xtech wrote:The guy who brought my 1300 block broke his block doing over 300HP on forged internals. 400 on NOS :shock:

An wat was dis car best time in camden wit d nos 13.7sec ? 13.5sec wit stock 4efte & T25 no nos so keep d high hp figures i prefer d qtr mile time. I deal wit dat in camden already an win out d 14sec bracket incase u didnt know but still iz a nice setup he have an i glad 2 c another 4efte on d race scene. Iz not dat trini not sharin info iz jus dat nobody knows much bout 4efte dat iz why i had 2 teach myself. I was d only 4efte racin @ events from 2003-2008 until d ae80 show up.

xtech

Postby xtech » December 19th, 2008, 1:46 pm

shinakuma wrote:
xtech wrote:The guy who brought my 1300 block broke his block doing over 300HP on forged internals. 400 on NOS :shock:
I was d only 4efte racin @ events from 2003-2008 until d ae80 show up.

So you on 1500 block or maxing out the 1300

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 20th, 2008, 1:54 am

Next time u c d tercel xtech walk over an i go show u wat engine i have in.

muddgutts

Postby muddgutts » December 20th, 2008, 6:57 am

hey shinakuma u say that all 4efte guy r welcome to come and tune, and right now my engine needs a tune when can i take u up on that offer?

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » December 20th, 2008, 8:20 pm

Call 681-1817 to make an appointment.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 27th, 2009, 6:07 pm

I bumping with another question on.....why do most people prefer the TD04L (which is the second smallest of the td04's) for the 4e-fte or 5E engine instead of the higher flowing td04H or td04HL? i know that smallest spools faster, but isn't it better a slightly bigger one like the td04hr, not so big like the td05 but bigger than the td04L, for top end power ... like for daily driving and 1/4 ??

Wheel Exducer (in.) Inducer (in.) Trim
TD04 1.57 1.86 71
TD04L 1.62 1.86 76
TD04H 1.74 2.04 73
TD04HL 1.80 2.05 77
TE04H 1.88 2.01 87
TD05H 1.93 2.20 77

well what i really want to know is if a i can make more hp with a td04h instead of the td04L on a 5E-FHTE?

also wanted to ask if all the Mitsu td04s no matter the size or OEM application (mitsu, subaru, volvo etc) ... are they all the same mechanically and parts can interchange?

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 12th, 2011, 10:37 pm

ok, so me and shinakuma had a talk and the td04 will work with stock internals. so....zryfle, where you at? lol

Re: So My CT-9A Died........Going TD04

Postby wagonrunner » November 12th, 2011, 11:32 pm

wonders if you noticed the date of previous posts.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 12th, 2011, 11:40 pm

wagonrunner wrote:wonders if you noticed the date of previous posts.

lol .............................i bumped this thread Reddo posted that in 2009

And he did get his TD04 but did not like its performance so he sold it and went back to a CT9

2 Towers Distribution

Postby 2 Towers Distribution » November 13th, 2011, 1:00 pm

If my car doesn't sell by this week. I will install my tdo4 setup :)

bigchief3679

Re: So My 5E-FTHE........Finally Going TD04

Postby bigchief3679 » November 15th, 2011, 6:40 pm

You used the stock manifold, i really hope you ported the 3rd runner, it has a huge restriction and was the first mod we did when we went 4efte in our Mini.

xtech

So My 5E-FTHE........Finally Going TD04

Postby xtech » November 15th, 2011, 10:52 pm

Yes did that when I went 5E

bigchief3679

Re: So My 5E-FTHE........Finally Going TD04

Postby bigchief3679 » November 16th, 2011, 7:19 am

Nice. that 3rd runner is a killer.

Return to “TOYOTA”