The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 5th, 2006, 12:44 pm

my ole man passed away boy so i decided that just in case they think toyota men have chronic depression issues after trac ole talk thread i just say i'll keep away for a while. as for the 3rd gen 3s mih boy in the states swear he linking it for me so i eh sayin nothing i waiting to see what goin on. i doh plan to put it in without putting the suspension together and i still nither here nor there with that yet. i have enough frustration as it is so i just letting the chips fall for now. soon as i get the suspension worthy of about 500WHP i'll pop in the 3s and look for about 300 horses and whenever my pocket recovers im contemplating getting a standalone and a second head and do some experimenting. i dunno yet i still say that heavy mods not worth it on daily driven cars cause i doh care how good your tuner and mechanic are you car just eh go be as reliable as it used to be period.

Postby gt4tified » December 5th, 2006, 4:49 pm

Gosh man, I'm so sorry to hear that. Please accept my condolences. When did he pass away? May he rest in peace...my prayers are with you in your time of struggle.

When you're ready, we'll talk about the 3s, but obviously now is not the time. However I agree with you 100% about the heavy mods on daily drivers....even on my car which doesn't see during the week driving really, I refuse to shell out that cash. I'm just trying to replace what I could and tune the shite out of the stock fuel and turbo and see what kinda time I could do on the 1320, but that won't happen till next year.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 11th, 2006, 9:06 pm

Oh wonderful thread.. what are you doing on Page 2?

*bump*

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 11th, 2006, 9:29 pm

boy the 3rd gen or nothing stance i've taken and the lack of availability of those engines plus my greatly diminished disposable income after the most recent tragedy all contributing to this thread being a lil slow with the punches these days. i've been in the bamboo as recently as last friday still hunting for one and making phone calls. i still havent gotten around to finding out how much it would cost to ship a front clip from new zealand but i was advised not to buy any engine off ebay. and one thing about me i does get discouraged real easy when somebody do something and had a bad experience and could prove that they advising not to follow in their footsteps for a good reason. The issue is after spending so much for just an engine u want something at least kinda reliable and that is what I cant put a finger on. I need someone who could say they engine good and at least kinda have some faith that is so. but doh worry i might catch a vapse and just put a 2nd gen 3sgte in the AE80 corolla lol so doh rule out that happenin either. but that is not what i really wanna do i just want the 3rd gen so i could finish project 3sgte. Then allyuh have to lookout for whoever buy my 20valve cause it NOT easy

Postby gt4tified » December 12th, 2006, 10:50 am

nasscott, yuh have mih cornfused...I thought was de caldina 3s you wanted...the gen3 is the st205 3s which = 250hp. The caldina 3s is loosely termed the 4th gen.

If you want a 3rd gen 3s, I have the link up for it....but beware the owner calling $15 firm....then you'd of course have to shell out the extra $3-4k for the mr2 lsd box.

Hit mih ah pm if daz what you want.

Postby AllTrac » December 12th, 2006, 10:33 pm

nasscott, anything u buying used u taking a risk and i know u not going to buy ah brand new 3sgte ie if u wcould get one :lol: if u buyin it used from bamboo, ebay, japan, us, etc doh , matter how much u check, pull dip stick, look for oil leaks, spin turbo, look for broken sensor, smell oil etc u wont know the health of the engine,box and turbo until u start it up and boost it, so either way, u takeing a risk, some get lucky, some dont.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 13th, 2006, 8:52 am

gt4tified wrote:nasscott, yuh have mih cornfused...I thought was de caldina 3s you wanted...the gen3 is the st205 3s which = 250hp. The caldina 3s is loosely termed the 4th gen.

If you want a 3rd gen 3s, I have the link up for it....but beware the owner calling $15 firm....then you'd of course have to shell out the extra $3-4k for the mr2 lsd box.

Ok the ST215 caldina and the ST246 caldina's dont carry the same engine. what u sayin is that the 246 have a 5th gen 3sgte? i think i saw a review that said the ST246 has a newly revised 3sgte dubbed the 4th gen. check it out and lemme know cause if im right that makes the ST215 3S the 3rd gen (no coil packs but ct20 turbo etc)

Postby gt4tified » December 14th, 2006, 11:57 am

nasscott wrote:
gt4tified wrote:nasscott, yuh have mih cornfused...I thought was de caldina 3s you wanted...the gen3 is the st205 3s which = 250hp. The caldina 3s is loosely termed the 4th gen.

Ok the ST215 caldina and the ST246 caldina's dont carry the same engine. what u sayin is that the 246 have a 5th gen 3sgte? i think i saw a review that said the ST246 has a newly revised 3sgte dubbed the 4th gen. check it out and lemme know cause if im right that makes the ST215 3S the 3rd gen (no coil packs but ct20 turbo etc)

Nope....the St215 and ST246 carry slightly different versions of the same 4th gen 3sgte (just like the gen 2 3sgte and gen2 3sgteRC/CS). The 3rd gen 3sgte always started and ended with the ST205 GT4 celica.

See: http://www.alltrac.net/caldina/

Capiche?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 14th, 2006, 12:50 pm

so in microsoft terminology what we really dealing with is 3sgte gen1, 3sgte gen2, 3sgte gen2.5, 3sgte gen3 3sgte gen4 and 3sgte gen4.5 yea?

Postby gt4tified » December 14th, 2006, 1:57 pm

Well, until you tell me what's the major difference between the 215 and 246 caldina then yeah! :mrgreen:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 14th, 2006, 2:14 pm

^^they didnt list them. thats why i thought the 215 had to be 3rd gen since there were supposedly only 4 revisions and the morons on the website said the st246 had a "newly revised" 3s.

Postby gt4tified » December 14th, 2006, 3:01 pm

Well for all the "new revised" it is, it only giving 5 hp more me thinks.... :roll:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 14th, 2006, 6:54 pm

^^^ whenever toyota hit allyuh that 5 hp more ole talk DONT be fooled. i thought the 4age silver and blacktop engines would perform about the same cause 5 hp eh much difference but boy let me tell you something if u see how sorry the silver top does look on the quarter mile next to a blacktop you wouldnt believe it. i think that the entire power curve is totally different and alot more agressive in the "5 hp more versions" well in my experience at least, and i will always prefer those over the previous model.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 15th, 2006, 9:46 pm

15k for the ST205 3S Jahhh!!...i see a ST185 3S in d bamboo for 7k complete think thats the 2nd gen, but with the 4WD box thou. Im also looking to put the 3S into my little rolla, soon enough the beast will wake.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 15th, 2006, 9:51 pm

Is it possible to get a rear cut from a MR2 with the 3RD Gen 3SGTE in da bamboo?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 15th, 2006, 11:26 pm

^^^ non right now but keep your fingers crossed keep looking try not to walk with too much cash on you from day to day so if one does show up i can get it before you do :twisted: :lol:

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » December 16th, 2006, 7:27 am

^^^^^^ lol good advice dey partner

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 16th, 2006, 7:06 pm

ok...i think i should find a cheep 20 valve or sumthing for the mean while, cuz this 12 valve doe cut it.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 16th, 2006, 7:35 pm

check seenath they have the 4agZE for 8 grand i think u can check one of my earlier posts im too lazy but i gave all the prices. that would keep you quite satisfied till u get the 3rd gen 3S you lookin for. on a serious note here though i've been through several forums and there are too many conflicting reports as to whether or not the ST215 caldina carries the 3rd or 4th gen 3sgte. the good news is there's someone down here with a st215 caldina GT it should only be a matter of time before this matter is put to rest.

Postby AllTrac » December 16th, 2006, 8:15 pm

8g's for a 4agze?? :shock: :shock: :shock:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 16th, 2006, 8:51 pm

yeah wuh u feel? they selling de blacktop 20V for 7 grand how u expect forced induction on the same block for less?

Postby AllTrac » December 16th, 2006, 10:50 pm

nasscott wrote:yeah wuh u feel? they selling de blacktop 20V for 7 grand how u expect forced induction on the same block for less?

man u now start to do engine searching?? :lol: de bamboo isnt the one stop shop for engines eh :wink: look a bit further, i know u go bawl south, but yuh wrong, i talking bout diego, i could get ah 4age 20V for 5,500. Going de next side now, leh we talk grande, 4agze complete $7g's.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » December 16th, 2006, 11:42 pm

7 g's complete :shock: but what model the gze is? and where in diego and grande to be precise, i had a post up looking for the gze found one but a find 9 lil pricey if according to the other replys 3s selling for like 10-15 so let me know where in grande........i go hadda chech seenaths to see what condition and find out what car it came from

Terran

Postby Terran » December 17th, 2006, 11:57 am

AllTrac wrote:8g's for a 4agze?? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Hyperfas has/had one up to about 2-3 months ago. They were asking for $10,000 - complete - LSD box, shifter, and axles.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 18th, 2006, 1:03 pm

i got an email from this jap today because of some webpage request that i submitted i dont even know when. anyway he insists that he has all 3sgte engines in stock etc and sent me a MS Excel file listing all the types of engines he has. im yet to check out his credentials and see if he's legit but im wondering if any of you guys interested in doing a group buy? i have absolutly no intentions of making any profit whatsoever on this deal i just want my toyota crew to stop gettin whopped to peices every time there's an event. (i really fedup see allyuh get bad licks). let me know if any of you are interested and we could possibly organise a group purchase so u can get whatever engine you want at cost price plus shipping & duties.

Terran

Postby Terran » December 18th, 2006, 1:11 pm

Did he quote any prices on any of the engines?

Look you trying to make my pocket jump now, yes!

Postby gt4tified » December 18th, 2006, 3:58 pm

Hmmmm....prices on st205 (gen3) 3sgte and st185 (gen2)RC engine & gearbox would be nice.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 18th, 2006, 8:17 pm

send me an email fellas i'l fwd the email he sent me emailjustin2@hotmail.com
i didnt see any prices but i doh wanna go all hot and sweaty and ask for quotation and then i not buying i doh like window shoppers so i try hard not to be one myself outa respect for the whole karma thing nah. but if i just get an idea as to whether or not any of the toyota tuners interested in doing this as long as everything checks out we will link up something.
as for me i gettng real chain up to skip the ST205 3rd gen and go with the REAL ST215 i was talkin about all along thinking it was 3rd gen which is really the 4th gen but just the early version that doesnt come in the ST246. i considering it because men all in australia and NZ sounding like the ST215 easier to get engine parts for but the presha is really from the fact that 9 outta 10 of those engines come automatic. i think i'll welcome that setup cause i like the idea of the 6speed tiptronic the ST246 caldina comes with. As long as the ST215 caldina was similar i feel i taking that and blank out the rear diff linkup and run it FWD. again my budget even tighter these days and i doubt i have more than about 15 to plug into this project anymore for all yuh know is less so i really have to sit down and rework the plan in my head and see how i could sort this out. i still say no second gen though. i dont think that many people read the lengthy post i did on page five on the 4 revisions(versions) of the 3sgte or more men would probably agree with me. anyway i expectin some emails from allyuh i will send the guy a reply by the end of the day on wednesday regardless of whether allyuh decide or not.

Postby gt4tified » December 19th, 2006, 12:03 pm

Well, yuh know my request..doh need to email dat. And yuh know what I drives... :wink: so yuh know I xerious.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 19th, 2006, 12:46 pm

no no no mister you eh make up your mine whether u goin 2nd gen RC or 3rd gen yet let me email yuh de list the man send mih nah!

Return to “TOYOTA”