old hilux vs new hilux

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

old hilux vs new hilux

Postby Team Loco » March 15th, 2007, 3:05 pm

what allyuh think, the vigo could outlast the older model in terms of strenght??? i have the older LN model and i swear it stronger than the new model. dont get me wrong, the new vigo is a work of art and runs sweet, but i still dont see it outlasting the old model. what allyuh tink?

Postby wagonrunner » March 15th, 2007, 3:15 pm

TAK series FTW :idea: :mrgreen: 0X

aviboy

Postby aviboy » March 15th, 2007, 10:28 pm

my bro hav a new 1 and it does real wukk... at the end of the day is a toyota... all toyota's last

toyoman

Postby toyoman » March 16th, 2007, 8:21 am

i think the old ones plenty stronger....

i use to drive the older model before i got the new model....driving the new model for a year now, no complaints other than it too damn slow....2.5T

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 16th, 2007, 10:43 am

I've seen some of the older ones from TAR to TAZ work in the pine fields and in the mud and was pretty impressed. As a matter of fact, down in Tableland pine fields that's all you see.

I've read some reviews of the Vigos not being as resilient and durable off road. They're more designed as a on road vehicle with more luxurious features. They also manufactured in Thailand as compared to the previous model which was made in Japan.

Those more interested can do a search for Toyota IMV project.

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » March 16th, 2007, 1:02 pm

the series aroud TBH, those were bullet proof. they were company issued, and as usual, they were abused day in and day out. they are still standing strong, as compared to other brands of field vehicles. they were not very luxurious, but they did the work done. as for the newer model like the VIGO, i can't say anythng about their durability, as i have never been given the chance to test (abuse) their features.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 18th, 2007, 5:37 am

Vigo is a vigo........ a hilux is a hilux nothing beats a hilux.

Postby Team Loco » March 18th, 2007, 5:43 pm

Yup, guess you just can't beat any toyota. My tbr may be slow but its the only vehicle I know, the older it gets the better it works!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 19th, 2007, 9:06 am

Team Loco wrote:Yup, guess you just can't beat any toyota. My tbr may be slow but its the only vehicle I know, the older it gets the better it works!

You can beat the hilux nor can you break them.

Took the SR5 on some bad road yesterday via Caparo to Tabaquite to Rio Claro. Those vehicles really made for that. It was more fun driving through the bad road than driving too work. And I for one, don't rough up my vehicles. That van climb those inclines like goat.

Postby Team Loco » March 19th, 2007, 9:44 am

That van climb those inclines like goat.

:D :D :D :D :D

btw, JUST TELL ME WHEN YOU WANNA PUT SOME STEEL BARS AROUND THAT SR5

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 19th, 2007, 11:31 am

Aye Team Loco ,

I have a SR5 that i want to put some steel on.
what kind of bars yuh could make and how much $$ we talkin here. Put up some prices i sure other ppl will be interested if the price right

and for the chat , i think the old one and the new one have its strenghts .. i prefer the old ones though esp. the solid front axle ones TAW,X,Y,Z and TBB

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 19th, 2007, 11:45 am

Yeah Team Loco man... post up some pics with prices. How much is a stainless steel rollbar?

Stuckinmud... Any problems with the SR5? I love them.... I have one and want another. I'm also looking for a used Alpha Type Rollbar.

Postby Team Loco » March 19th, 2007, 1:10 pm

yeah fellas, just remember we dealing some solid iron here, these bars are intended to work as stress relief, but not intended to bump slower mazdas and mitsubishis off the road. (disclaimer lol)

anyway, depending on style and customer taste front bar starts at $4000 +VAT and side boards at $2400/pair +vat. Remember we specialise in custom made items. will post some pics of my van soon

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 19th, 2007, 1:27 pm

sweeks..
Nah boy no stress at all.. is a toyota, what yuh expect!! What trouble you having?

The only thing i think more reliable than this one is those solid front axles , i`d love to get my hands on a good condition 2 door 4wd TAY,Z or TBB. :twisted:
If allyuh know anyone send me a link nah.

i waitin for thos pics .. Loco man send some specs too like tubing thickness and the sort for the eccentic ones among us ..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 19th, 2007, 2:01 pm

No problems on my end man... I just want to be aware if there's any. I've heard the older models 1kz-te (Surfs and Prados) tended to overheat.

Postby Team Loco » March 19th, 2007, 2:05 pm

B TW fellah, what price would you put on the base model like mine (TBR 2.8D 4x4), and the SR5 used?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 19th, 2007, 3:18 pm

sweeks - *shrug* abt the overheating .. i decent mod would be to get the prado top mount intercooler and drop it in ... and the ecu`s are mapped a bit different , the hilux for torque and the prado for power so if you lookin to do something .. thaz a thing ... but i happy with everything as is ... ill consider the intercooler though if i can get one at a good price.

Team Loco - yuh hadda send some pics .. i would guess abt 160g for the SR5 and abt 110 - 120 g for the 2.8D, yuh loookin tuh sell or what?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 19th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Stuckinmud.....Seems like a lot of mods .... I say just monitor the temp gauge and don't abuse it too much. I asked one of the service rep at Toyota if there were any problems and she said they've never had any with the SR5s. Toyota Japan seemed to have corrected the problem with a bigger better radiator. I still got the original Toyota long life coolant in there.

Team Loco... I say around $110 for the basic 2.8, the 3.0 non turbo around $125 and the SR5s around $150.

If you know anyone willing to pay $160, I'll sell mines (black) 11/03 with 37 000km. There's a pic of her on the link/page below

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... start=1000
Last edited by sweeks on March 20th, 2007, 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 20th, 2007, 2:07 am

who saw the Top Gear episode where they tried to destroy a hilux by crashing it, hitting it with a wreaking ball, dropping it from around 10 feet in the air, drowning it in the sea for a few hours! and finally burning it... (they did more but i can't remember the rest)

and after all that abuse, it was still driving... :shock:

Postby Team Loco » March 20th, 2007, 5:08 am

For true, Its available on youtube. Saw it many times. They just couldn't destroy. It

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 20th, 2007, 5:58 am

Does anyone know where I can get a steering box (other than at TTTL) for the TAY series hilux?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 20th, 2007, 8:31 am

3stagevtec wrote:who saw the Top Gear episode where they tried to destroy a hilux by crashing it, hitting it with a wreaking ball, dropping it from around 10 feet in the air, drowning it in the sea for a few hours! and finally burning it... (they did more but i can't remember the rest)

Setting it on fire wasnt the last thing they did...

They placed it on top of a 22 storey building...then demolished the building. when the found it, they got it start and drive.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 20th, 2007, 2:45 pm

yeah boy i saw that was reall badd .. i think the surf test was reall crucial...
I think they say part of the test was that no 'new' or 'replacement' parts were allowed, cept the battery.

Aye sweeks , what is the least yuh willlin yuh SR5 go for ?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 20th, 2007, 7:24 pm

$157 k

Let me know if you need specs.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2007, 9:21 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:who saw the Top Gear episode where they tried to destroy a hilux by crashing it, hitting it with a wreaking ball, dropping it from around 10 feet in the air, drowning it in the sea for a few hours! and finally burning it... (they did more but i can't remember the rest)

Setting it on fire wasnt the last thing they did...

They placed it on top of a 22 storey building...then demolished the building. when the found it, they got it start and drive.

oh yeah! how could i forget that part.. :shock:

now it really makes you wonder if the new hilux can withstand that abuse...

Postby Team Loco » March 28th, 2007, 8:38 pm

now it really makes you wonder if the new hilux can withstand that abuse...

dont think so, too much plastic

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 31st, 2007, 11:53 pm

"sweeks" wat you does be doing down in Tabeland pine fields? i not trying to be fass, but i hardly meet people from anywhere who kno bout there :?:

Anyway, as to the question, we have both and i must say that the newer one is much more comfortable, but the older one seems to have more power (not faster) and the body hard for spite. the newer ones hard too , but not as hard (yeah we dent it up a lil bit already)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 2nd, 2007, 12:12 pm

Firewall... got some in-laws from down there. They've got a camp so once in a while I'll make the turn. The first time I went there, all I saw was Hilux 4x4s ...And yes yuh fass... *grin*

Too much plastic is right. 10-15 years ago, a lot of the parts used in the automobile industry went from metal to plastic. We're now seeing the same thing happening with the 4x4 utility vehicles.

YellowCanary

Re: old hilux vs new hilux

Postby YellowCanary » February 19th, 2024, 3:32 pm

Hi All I am thinking about buy a new Roll on Roll off vs one from Toyota. TT. But before I do, I would like to know if parts are available and if you get any warranty.

Return to “TOYOTA”