Friday, March 27th, 2015



- It is currently Fri Mar 27, 2015 2:55 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Jump to:  


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
thestroke
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:47 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: hidin 'under the hood'
This has been happening about a month now and seems to be getting progressively worse. The parklights will not come on when headlamps are turned on (ie no tail lamp, parklight, instrument panel lights etc). the headlamps (low beam) will only come on if i put them on then engage high beams then they stay on when i take the high beams off.
checked the fuse and it ok

after a while the parklights do come on (about 30 mins) btw


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter
Top
 Profile  
 
wagonrunner
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:09 am 
Offline
TriniTuner 24-7
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 9:38 am
Posts: 12261
Location: Distancing myself from those who want to raid the barn but eh want to plant the corn.
not sure but check your harness.

had an issue where the harness on a hilux was cut (mishap with tow cable) just before the rear bumper.
that effectively disabled ALL exterior lights except headlamps.
Even the interior lights (instrument panel, hood / map lights) stopped working, until that was sorted out.

Yeah hook, all that. Hilux design flaw if ever there was one.


Top
 Profile  
 
thestroke
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:04 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: hidin 'under the hood'
^^ thanks.........took a quick look at all easily visible harnesses already but will look into it again.

just a thought though, isnt it that a broken harness would only cause problems if it grounds and if that happens the fuse would blow?


Top
 Profile  
 
Hook
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:30 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:55 am
Posts: 13259
Location: The 6%.
wagonrunner wrote:
not sure but check your harness.

had an issue where the harness on a hilux was cut (mishap with tow cable) just before the rear bumper.
that effectively disabled ALL exterior lights except headlamps.
Even the interior lights (instrument panel, hood / map lights) stopped working, until that was sorted out.

Yeah hook, all that. Hilux design flaw if ever there was one.


yeah boy...some buss wires at the back and everything in front went too oui.
I still feel something shorted out when the harness was ripped tho. Even in electrical repair, they teach you to cut one conductor at a time instead of the whole loom in one shot to prevent shorting-out (residual current in the circuit) and sparks etc.

thestroke, what have u checked thus far? grounds? bulbs? fuses?


Top
 Profile  
 
thestroke
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: hidin 'under the hood'
Hook wrote:

thestroke, what have u checked thus far? grounds? bulbs? fuses?


yes, yes andyes

this thing is driving me crazy. one question does anybody know where the parklight relay is if it has one???


Top
 Profile  
 
wagonrunner
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:40 pm 
Offline
TriniTuner 24-7
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 9:38 am
Posts: 12261
Location: Distancing myself from those who want to raid the barn but eh want to plant the corn.
thestroke wrote:
just a thought though, isnt it that a broken harness would only cause problems if it grounds and if that happens the fuse would blow?

no, and no.

broken harness mean break in circuit. some vehicles require a voltage presence before they'll activate their circuit (relays for example).

too high a current through a circuit is what blows a fuse. not really it grounding. It coming into contact with a higher power (current or voltage source).


Top
 Profile  
 
new gt
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 10:49 am 
Offline
Street 2NR

Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:17 pm
Posts: 97
has any body checked the ovious the switch .when doing electrical work start up front and find your way to the last point.have done more electrical work on toyotas than any other brand of cars


Top
 Profile  
 
thestroke
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:23 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: hidin 'under the hood'
wagonrunner wrote:
thestroke wrote:
just a thought though, isnt it that a broken harness would only cause problems if it grounds and if that happens the fuse would blow?

no, and no.

broken harness mean break in circuit. some vehicles require a voltage presence before they'll activate their circuit (relays for example).

too high a current through a circuit is what blows a fuse. not really it grounding. It coming into contact with a higher power (current or voltage source).



i'm almost certain theres no complete break in harness - cause when it eventually does come on (after about 30 minutes but not always) all lights normally controlled by the park lamp switch do come on. i was thinking you meant broken/damaged wire insulation


Top
 Profile  
 
turbohead
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:38 pm 
Offline
18 pounds of Boost
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 9:08 pm
Posts: 2333
Location: south side
park light switch, i could do a quick fix for you until i could organise one for you...give me a call 4952320


Top
 Profile  
 
scion I
PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 7:48 am 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:07 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Central
agree with turbohead the light switch is the culprit as it is a current problem with the local corollas which TTTL replaces for free if under warranty!

seeing that you are have the axio version should not be a problem as the the interior and dash are the same as the local corollas (i.e if you have to get the whole switch by toyota) :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
Hook
PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:37 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:55 am
Posts: 13259
Location: The 6%.
Oh serious? This is a common problem with the NZE's?

Compile a list of the common problems if u can nuh plz. This is good information to have.


Top
 Profile  
 
thestroke
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:44 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: hidin 'under the hood'
Ok fixed it guys, it was actually the relay............behind glove box btw. thanks for all the input


Top
 Profile  
 
thestroke
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:06 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: hidin 'under the hood'
scion I wrote:
agree with turbohead the light switch is the culprit as it is a current problem with the local corollas which TTTL replaces for free if under warranty!

seeing that you are have the axio version should not be a problem as the the interior and dash are the same as the local corollas (i.e if you have to get the whole switch by toyota) :twisted:


should have listened to you, it is was actually the switch! *embarrassed*
it seems the only reason changing the relay worked was the amount of time i played with the switch while trying to isolate the problem the switch 'self cleaned' i guess.
took out the switch and gave it a quick service all better now. new one by toyota is $1200 btw!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Hook
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:24 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:55 am
Posts: 13259
Location: The 6%.
well done, G


Top
 Profile  
 
turbohead
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:25 pm 
Offline
18 pounds of Boost
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 9:08 pm
Posts: 2333
Location: south side
i may be able to get it cheaper for you. give me a call if interested. 4952320


Top
 Profile  
 
thestroke
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 7:24 am 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 65
Location: hidin 'under the hood'
^^i will when it spoil and i cant service it anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
Varin
PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:27 pm 
Offline
Riding on 13's

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:01 pm
Posts: 7
thank god for tuner yes, i getting the same problem with my axio, where can i have the switch replaced? and about what price range so? i eh goin no TOYOTA lol


Top
 Profile  
 
Varin
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:12 pm 
Offline
Riding on 13's

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:01 pm
Posts: 7
got it serviced at Jerry's Electrical St Augustine, labor cost = very cheap


Top
 Profile  
 
countrydan_tt
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:33 am 
Offline
Riding on 13's

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:27 pm
Posts: 6
Can someone give directions to Jerry's Electrical, St. Augustine? I have an Axio with the same problem


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Who is online

Registered users: **JSJ**, akssounds, andrelee81, Bing [Bot], brickman, evolution91, Exabot [Bot], factor, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, HSA, imran.ali2, Mr.Blessed, MSNbot Media, shaker.imports, Yahoo [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
3NE-2NR