TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

Altis engine swap advice

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

Kaji
Riding on 13's

Altis engine swap advice

Postby Kaji » October 28th, 2013, 9:18 am

Good day,

I'm new to trinituner and new to the world of Toyota and I can do with a lot of help. My 3zz-fe engine blew and I'm considering my options and it seems as though the mechanic isn't that familiar with Toyota engines.

Trinituner is a pool of knowledge and I really need some good advice. When I call around I heard that the head and block is 15k, I think it's too much to spend on a lazy engine. I've done some reading and I was wondering if the 2zz-fe is available locally and how much does it go for?
If it does, would my transmission work on that engine?
What other engines would bolt on?
Would a 4age 20v conversion cost more than 15k?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

new gt
Street 2NR

Re: Altis engine swap advice

Postby new gt » October 28th, 2013, 10:06 am

pm sent

DjDaniel
Sweet on this forum

Postby DjDaniel » November 3rd, 2013, 10:21 pm

When you change engine the ECM have to be compatible with the new engine. I have heard men swapped with the 3zz with 1NZ but the power steering rack has to be converted to electronic.

Other than that, 4age might be a little cheaper not sure if is bolt for bolt though. 2zz-fe is the NZE engine and so yes the tranny might work with it as the altis and nze have similar components.

BTW: Go to a netter mechanic. If he dont know much bout Toyota engines, how will he do a good job?

scion I
3NE 2NR for life

Postby scion I » November 4th, 2013, 11:06 am

check the link and like up yuhself !!! last place i saw one was by autowreck!!!!

Any problems check Ramberrs pon the forum or them other TRD gurus!!!

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=319406&hilit=2zz

Kaji
Riding on 13's

Postby Kaji » November 5th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Thanks a lot!

carnagecassidy
Street 2NR