Altis swaybars?

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Altis swaybars?

Postby foss » March 22nd, 2010, 6:44 pm

guys,
for altis owners out here, do you have the problem with the car swaying like hell on the highway?
any way to stop this?
car has to be very light for this to be happening

what can be done?
thanks

maZdaspeed6

Postby maZdaspeed6 » March 23rd, 2010, 8:44 am

Drop some wide low profile tires on it (205/50/15) - should lower center of gravity & drop by 2 inches, should help with the "swaying" :fadein:

AYE_SOLDIER

Re: Altis swaybars?

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » March 23rd, 2010, 9:54 am

foss wrote:guys,
for altis owners out here, do you have the problem with the car swaying like hell on the highway?

confirmed!
my car has more body roll than shakira.

and wider tyres alone doesnt help that much either.
next step for me is having it lowered.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 23rd, 2010, 10:01 am

tein drop springs

Postby foss » March 23rd, 2010, 10:23 am

sway bars won't help with it?

wickedtrini

Postby wickedtrini » March 23rd, 2010, 10:32 am

Ah thought was just me, so when any body drop their altis lemmie know how it works an if it makes a difference

Postby foss » March 23rd, 2010, 10:34 am

i fraid to drop it, car already feels low with the flair

wickedtrini

Postby wickedtrini » March 23rd, 2010, 10:38 am

i say drop in some heavy music. lol

Postby eliteauto » March 23rd, 2010, 12:15 pm

Ultra racing has a lot of bars for this PM Ignorant Ignis for pricing

Postby foss » March 23rd, 2010, 1:02 pm

would this stop the swaying tho?
I don't mind sending him a PM, but need confirmation they work

Postby cinco » March 23rd, 2010, 1:57 pm

megan racing springs
dc sports front strut bar
trd rear sway bar proven!

Postby foss » March 23rd, 2010, 3:59 pm

i doh wanna drop the car.. if i can get confirmation the sway bars make a difference i will look into those! :D

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » March 23rd, 2010, 5:52 pm

cinco wrote:dc sports front strut bar
trd rear sway bar
proven!

Where u got them to buy?

Postby foss » March 23rd, 2010, 5:54 pm

i doh believe he lives here :lol:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 23rd, 2010, 6:05 pm

allyuh doe help me, but mazda men dont discriminate, here are some kinda cost effective aids to reducing body roll

http://trdforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=42874

Postby foss » March 23rd, 2010, 7:40 pm

ghostbusters wrote:allyuh doe help me, but mazda men dont discriminate, here are some kinda cost effective aids to reducing body roll

http://trdforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=42874

wow!
thanks meng, look at bars !! :shock: anywhere they can fit one, they have it.. don't think i will need all that, that might be good for Dex? not so?

Postby foss » March 23rd, 2010, 7:42 pm

would an increase in rim size make a difference?
i am looking for the most cost effective method.. those bars look like the rel sheit! :mrgreen:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 23rd, 2010, 8:26 pm

to really eliminate body roll, the best thing might be, stiffer springs and thicker sway bars, you dont really need the braces.

If you can find adjustable swaybar endlinks for the aftermarket swaybars and set the preload close to 100%, couple that with some stiffer springs, trd, tanabe or tein(in that order of quality) then that will do it, later on you could save up and upgrade your shocks to tokico HP's or the such.

Despite having a rear torsion beam setup, the altis seems to have alot of potential, looks and performance wise, good luck

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 23rd, 2010, 9:54 pm

cinco wrote:megan racing springs
dc sports front strut bar
trd rear sway bar proven!

this is the cure...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 23rd, 2010, 11:10 pm

megan racing springs are definitely not the cure, they are actually quite soft...and a rear sway bar alone in the hands of an inexperienced driver, with a FWD car...spells trouble

especially a fwd car with soft megan springs in it, the back gonna be uncontrollable under hard cornering...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 23rd, 2010, 11:25 pm

i guess cinco'd know, he has one I think

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 23rd, 2010, 11:33 pm

go with the teins h tech springs, get a strut bar and by some sway bars later.
also get some wide rims not wide tyres, 15x7, 16x7

http://www.tein.com/tech_info/l00.html

Postby cinco » March 23rd, 2010, 11:50 pm

amm
the megan racing springs are not as soft
the teins are actually softer and linear rate the megans are progressive and dont sag
ive spent alot of time researching before i put those parts on my car
progress and hotchkis also have sway bar kits
trd rear sway 24mm as opposed to the stock 19mm
http://www.racingsolution.com/toyota/co ... on-brakes/
shameless plug that is my car on the site :lol:
http://www.racingsolution.com/toyota/co ... 05-08.html
dcsports fsb and springs
http://www.wesellcarparts.com/store/scr ... egory=2393

btw 9thgencorolla.com
same exact car as the jdm/sdm altis except the front bumper and the engine

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 24th, 2010, 12:06 am

dude, that corolla lookin real tops, damn...

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2010, 12:16 am

thanks man
listen foss for a daily driver you dont need all those UR bars
just get a good rear sway and front strut these cars tend to understeer heavily by design the trd rear tightens it up ALOT your biggest hamper on those cars are the stock springs if you want a minimal drop look for the trd springs they only give about .75 right around but stiffen up a bit

Postby foss » March 24th, 2010, 7:54 am

thanks all,
I will look into the strut and sway bar 8-)

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2010, 9:50 am

i cant stress enough that the springs will make the biggest difference tho
all the info u need here
http://www.9thgencorolla.com/forum//sho ... hp?t=34866

ztune

Postby ztune » March 24th, 2010, 11:24 am

Does the bushing have anything to do with this? I changed my bushing and that problem was reduced a bit. As stated in this thread, lowering springs and strut bars would help. Or some Tein coil overs :twisted: . The coil overs aren't EDFC compatible though.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 24th, 2010, 2:05 pm

wider tires alone will not help, but trust me, the FU strut brace will make a noticeable difference. The main reason for all that roll is the soft suspension which is intended for comfort - Get in contact with tte, he will be more than willing to offer assistance.

Like you, I would like to upgrade my (NZE) suspension without sacrificing ride height; tte recommended a combination of eibach springs and tokico hp shocks which should produce approx 1" lower ride height and provide better handling...when I can afford it this is what I'll be using.

ztune

Postby ztune » March 24th, 2010, 2:18 pm

rjaggs, a mech recently told me that the altis has a stronger front suspension than the nze and can fit bolt for bolt on an NZE. The rear suspension though is the same thing and plenty softer in the altis. Maybe you can try a swap and see how it works.

Return to “TOYOTA”