Is TTTL still carrying Thailand made filters

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

mitsu

Is TTTL still carrying Thailand made filters

Postby mitsu » November 5th, 2014, 9:53 am

I would prefer to purchase the Japan made oil filter.
Did so a couple of years ago from TTTL and all was well.

Guess TTTL went with el cheapo route.

http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/oil-fue ... iland-made

mitsu

Re: Is TTTL still carrying Thailand made filters

Postby mitsu » November 5th, 2014, 9:56 am

BTW: I don't want to call or go over the counter to find out because the parts guy will watch me with a cold face and say
" filter is filter partner ,it make by Toyota'

trinimark

Postby trinimark » November 12th, 2014, 12:50 pm

I bought an oil filter from TTTL for my NZE few weeks ago. While walking out the store I opened the box . . . I saw the words Toyota . . . Denso . . . Made in China! WHAAAAAT????? I swallowed hard and installed it anyway. Keeping my fingers and toes crossed.

Postby toyolink » November 13th, 2014, 2:27 pm

If you do more indept. research you will find that many major automotive brands have contracted manufacturers in China and Thailand to produce service parts.
Actually this fact covers almost all types of equipment including electronics.
What is significant is that the production contracts govern the standards of raw material inputs and operational tolerances and define quality assurance requirements.
Unfortunately,what we also have is a large counterfeit industry which exist in the same environments where lesser quality product are being marketed bearing various auto manufacturers markings.This particular market irregularity has gained traction simply because many consumers are solely oriented towards price point and quite willingly and selectively 'suspend their ability to disbelieve'.
Really what consumers need to do is ensure that their supplier(s) can demonstrate an orientation to provide goods which meet manufacturers specifications and have the ability to speak about how they acquire their inventory.The bottom line is ....know who yuh buying from!

trinimark

Postby trinimark » November 13th, 2014, 3:28 pm

Like I said . . . keeping my fingers AND toes crossed!

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » November 13th, 2014, 4:56 pm

Some years ago with my trusty Ms122 crown I went to Toyota to see their drive shaft center bearing. It was about 1500.00. Sadly I saw the exact item,same packaging for just over 400.00 in El soccorro. Hence I order my parts direct from Japan now at almost 1\5 the price

Xplode

Postby Xplode » November 13th, 2014, 8:54 pm

bought my original Made in USA Toyota oil filters on Amazon all the time .

trinimark

Postby trinimark » November 14th, 2014, 7:35 am

On Amazon you say? I was going to purchase mine from them too until I read some reviews from disappointed buyers who said when theirs arrived they were made in Thailand or Indonesia, that's why I went TTTL and got my genuine Japanese filter made in China . . . :!:

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » November 14th, 2014, 8:19 am

Lol. Toyota quoted me 25k for front suspension and steering parts. I brought it from Japan, all made in Japan authentic parts landed for about 6k

4a70

Postby 4a70 » November 14th, 2014, 8:43 am

Op im the proud owner of sevral toyota vehicles... that were MADE IN THAILAND so imho its no bigie to buy thai filters ik that im getin d gd stuff... what scares me is the fact that when ttyl is out of stock on items they source it locally and mark it up.. such as d case when i buy side steps for my hilux and a tray liner from ttyl and ended up with generic local stuff....

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » November 14th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Like 4a70 says "Toyota vehicles made in Thailand".
Do not lose sleep over a filter made in Thailand or China !

Pickups are made in Thailand anyway.
The Nissan Versa is made in India ! Hahaha !

I bought a new BMW motorcycle in 2004 from a BMW dealer in Germany. He had to order it from the factory. On-the-Road it cost TT$137,000.
The first time I changed a front tyre, I had to get a tyre shop with one of those horizontal spinning changers (new at the time) so that the alloy rims would not get damaged. This I did in the morning. I planned to re-install the wheel in the evening.
Somehow during the course of the day the word "TAIWAN" kept popping up in my head, as I surely had seen that somewhere.
In the evening I went to install the wheel. While going to install the speedometer drive, I looked at the left wheel bearing. Lo and behold, The word "TAIWAN" was neatly stamped on the inner race of the bearing !
Yes, you purists would want to see KOYO, SKF, FAG or TIMKEN stamped on your bearings, but with the TAIWAN bearing I have done over 160kmh many times.
I am almost sure that the guys riding the BMW Hyperbike S1000RR doing over 175MPH, have TAIWAN bearings in their front wheels too.
Years ago, my Alpine decks came from Japan.
The Alpine DVD system I have now is made in China.
I do not lose sleep over that !

Peace.
RR.

anilramlal81

Postby anilramlal81 » November 15th, 2014, 8:15 am

Chase village auto supplies have the Japanese oil filter

Ruff

Postby Ruff » November 16th, 2014, 10:08 pm

Beware!!!
A lot of "Japanese" parts that are sold locally are actually Korean made knockoffs.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » November 17th, 2014, 10:57 am

Well said ruff.. i have a buddy that sells automotive spare parts.. he showed me a scene some years ago... a popular brand which makes ball joints and steering ends had a knockoff with made in japan printed on the box and packaging and nothing on the part... it apeared as tough the knockoff had the boxes made in japan and d part just behind d rice field in china or taiwan or sumtin

Ruff

Postby Ruff » November 17th, 2014, 2:54 pm

What will be the FRAM replacement for your application(s)? May have access to USA made filters (not FRAM).

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » November 18th, 2014, 1:38 pm

you still get the japanese made oil filters from toyota, i bought one recently for the nze just ask for the 90915-10003 (jap) its for around $125 and the thai YZZF2 is $80.
The jap filter was stamped made in japan.
they had 2 samples of these different filters at one time, the element inside the thai made is thin as compared to the jap.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 18th, 2014, 4:09 pm

So sad men paying ridiculous prices for a $25ttd filter.

mitsu

Postby mitsu » November 20th, 2014, 7:34 pm

If you say so but research into the japan made filter says otherwise

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 20th, 2014, 8:55 pm

AMSOIL Oil filter ISO test.jpg
AMSOIL Oil filter ISO test.jpg (34.03 KiB) Viewed 4434 times

Source

Can't find any hard data on the the Japan made filter. Any links?

scion I

Postby scion I » January 23rd, 2015, 8:20 am

Like men stop use the old faithful puralator or wa ???

I remember a lil while back any parts shop yuh go thats all they carrying !!!

Postby supercharged turbo » January 23rd, 2015, 8:22 am

Purolator and fram

Return to “TOYOTA”