DIY 4g93T GDI INTAKE MANIFOLD REMOVAL AND CLEAN

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

raybic

DIY 4g93T GDI INTAKE MANIFOLD REMOVAL AND CLEAN

Postby raybic » August 2nd, 2012, 5:36 pm

OKAY HAD A DAY OFF DECIDED TO ATTEMPT THIS.

okay there is the intake manifold with coilpacks on top and head studs holding down the intake.
DSC01463.JPG

remove the coilpacks have 2 {10} bolts on each coilpack. after removal of the the coilparks there are 7 {12} bolts, 4 on top and 3 below where the coilpacks were. remove these to free the intake on the engine block, rememeber where the bolt comes from becuase as u can see there are 4 groundin wires on 2 of the bolts for the coilpack
DSC01466.JPG

DSC01468.JPG

heres the hardest part didnt take out any picts but will give u the run down.....

jack up the car becuase there are bolts that ive tried to remove from the top and nothin, since these dam engine have no hand space best place was underneath
under the car go to the back of the intake right underneath ull see 2 {12} bolts that holds the bottom of the intake , it maybe hidden by the alternator wire running to the battery. remove them fairly simple.

as u look directly under the throttle body ull see a water line running to a valve, its like a diamond shape with curves silver plate with 2 {12} bolts , this is the egr valve , u have to remove these bolts also. let me say these were the worst 2 bolts to remove in this whole thing. advise use a long extension and ratchet. when u get these out have to come back to the top of the engine

now to the throttle body , there are 4 {12} bolts, before even reaching this u have to remove the intake hose on the throttle body and also the battery for a reason...
when u finish this u should see the throttle body bolts. remove them but be careful. there is a gasket between the intake manifold and throttle body so when u unscrew this will slip out .
so i removed the these bolts and thought the intake would come off but there are sensors to which i dont know to much about to remove.

on the brake booster side of the engine, there is a vacuum line that has to be removed,
also the PCV valve on top the manifold on the left has to be removed. on my engine it had 2 jacks to remove running over the manifold towards the alternator area. removed them

on the throttle body side now, there are 2 jacks directly on top the throttle body that is attached by clips on the manifold, these have to be removed. there is also a vacuum hose on the the throttle body facing the firewall , remove that.

ok all the sensors and hoses were removed.
but not for nothin the intake manifold was coming out.
till i realise the throttle body although the bolts was off was preventing the manifold from moving.
the top of the manifold was ready to come off but wasnt coming off.

but realised there is a bracket that holding the throttle body in place. this bracket is has a ring on top which is used to remove the engine with a cherry picker.
there are 3 {12} bolts on this bracket to be removed. 2 hiding close by the recirculating valve area. remove the battery otherwise u wont see them. i didnt remove the bracket just pushed it and the throttle move away from the intake manifold and the gasket fell off.
the intake manifold popped out.

as rollingstock and xtech said . FLICKING CARBON BUILD UP LIKE WOW.
DSC01473.JPG

EGR VALVE
DSC01474.JPG

DSC01476.JPG

THIS THE INTAKE MANIFOLD THAT RESTS ON THE BLOCK , AS U CAN SEE THERE ARE LITTLE RUBBER GASKETS ON THEM , REMOVE THEM BEFORE WASHING THE INTAKE DONT WANT TO BURST THEM.
DSC01479.JPG

INSIDE THE INTAKE
DSC01482.JPG

raybic

Re: DIY 4g93T GDI INTAKE MANIFOLD REMOVAL AND CLEAN

Postby raybic » August 2nd, 2012, 5:45 pm

PICS OF THE INTAKE
DSC01484.JPG

WASHING THE INTAKE.
PURPLE BLASTER, PITCH OIL , SOAP, CARB SPRAY HAD TO WASH THIS THING LIKE 6 TIMES...

DSC01485.JPG

DSC01486.JPG

DSC01487.JPG

MALTA!!!!!
DSC01489.JPG

HAD TO USE A SCREW DRIVER TO SCRAP OFF CRUD, IN THE ENTIRE MANIFOLD. ITS LIKE CRUST

BACK TO THE ENGINE BAY

THE EGR VALVE.
I looked at the many post here and some say its better to block off the valve to prevent the crud and TRUST me after cleaning the manifold u dont want to have to do that again..
on the egr valve there is a shim piece of metal that goes to lock tight back into the manifold. i removed it so i can place a plate on the valve to close off the valve and hence no crud!!!!
DSC01490.JPG

DSC01491.JPG

DSC01492.JPG

raybic

Postby raybic » August 2nd, 2012, 6:07 pm

had to make a plate to block the valve , used an old piece of guttering.. didnt turn out to bad,
DSC01493.JPG

DSC01495.JPG

DSC01496.JPG

okay after the intake manifold was dried. make sure and DON T FORGET THE INTAKE SMALL GASKETS....!!!
remember the 2 gaskets, one for the throttle body and one for the egr valve. fellow tuner gave me a tip to put some mega grey silicone to hold it place when applying back the manifold .

okay order to place back the manifold........
place it back and fit up the manifold to the best of ur ability.
located and place back the throttle body bolts making sure the gasket fits in properly otherwise boost leak . after u ketch these bolts go under the the car and bolt up the 2 bolts on the egr, again this was pain to line back and fit the egr gasket and block off plate together. took a while but i got it.

bolt up the bottom of the intake with the 2 bolts. and come back to the top of the engine.... the intake on top fit back perfect , those bolts was place back in..
bolt back the throttle body and the bracket with the 3 bolts .

then tighten back all when all bolts line up ........
NOTE MY INTAKE WAS PLASTIC SO DONT TIGHTEN TO TIGHT.....

jack back all the sensors and hoses . make sure all of them are placed back .

put in intake hose on throttle body and then battery .....

and thats basically the procedure .......................................
it tooked me 6 hours with the help of my brother RAVI .
NOTE I HOPE THE EGR VALVE NOW BLOCKED WILL PREVENT ME FROM GOING BACK AND DO THIS AGAIN. ITS A PAIN HAVE TO ADMIT BUT I SAVED A LOT OF MONEY AND GOT THE EXPERIENCE TO DO IT MYSELF...

ON START UP IT ENGINE BEAT UP A LIL BIT SINCE THE BATTERY WAS REMOVED FOR A WHILE

WHEN IT GOT TO NORMAL IDLING ..... WOW THE SMOOTH RESPONSE THE ENGINE FELT FREE ON A HARD RUN
NO EXHAUST GAS NOT HOT AIR...... CLEANER INTAKE BETTER AIR FLOW....

SPECIAL THANKS TO 2NIL AND ROLLINGSTOCK ON THE FORUMS

Postby Ted_v2 » August 2nd, 2012, 6:09 pm

that was really dirty O_O

raybic

Postby raybic » August 2nd, 2012, 6:17 pm

yea becuase of that exhaust gas return line all that carbon was going back in the intake.......but i fixed that....

raybic

Postby raybic » August 2nd, 2012, 6:35 pm

Why block off the EGR supply port?
A. These hot, oxygen-depleted, exhaust gases displace (dilute) the cooler incoming oxygen-rich air and has a quenching effect on combustion and combustion temperatures. This reduces engine performance and raises intake air temperatures dramatically.

What are the benefits of blocking the EGR port/pipe?
A. Many.

1) Cooler intake air temps.

2) More performance.

3) Less engine oil contamination.

4) Cleaner engine oil means increased engine life.

5) Cooler exhaust temps.

6) No Soot in intake which keeps vacuum / boost lines clean

7) Increase turbo response

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 2nd, 2012, 7:42 pm

Ahh boy..you reminded me of when I did mine....That was hell.

Had to do it twice in one day for some strange reason too...not a nice experience.

Well done bro..I ended up hooking up my egr back...wasnt too knowledgeable back then.

raybic

Postby raybic » August 2nd, 2012, 7:45 pm

thats bro for real not a nice experience but worth it.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 2nd, 2012, 11:36 pm

Wait till you have to do an egr on the evo...

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » August 3rd, 2012, 7:02 am

Great Freekinnn post Raybic, that was a sheit load of work you did there, but not a bad way to spend your day off I guess. What has your driving experience been like since you did this?

2nil

Postby 2nil » August 3rd, 2012, 11:15 am

great work bro........i wish i had blocked off the EGR port as well,when i had cleaned out my intake,but ill do it the next time i do some general maintenance.........

again.......Excellent job.

raybic

Postby raybic » August 3rd, 2012, 11:46 am

what a difference it makes, idling very smooth at 400rpm , no more dippin or huntin . accel is noticiably diff car doesnt hold back . engine stays quiet. only thing though wideband reading like .2 richer on acceleration.

thanks 2nil

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » August 3rd, 2012, 1:13 pm

is 400rpm yuh now say dey inno??? plus no more dipping and hunting??? You making me want to do mine on my 4G18 engine now and I'm close to an oil change as well as RS recommended it be done.

xtech

Postby xtech » August 3rd, 2012, 4:50 pm

EGR is big source for dry carbon.
The oily stuff comes from the head So a oil catch can will keep u clean

raybic

Postby raybic » August 3rd, 2012, 9:14 pm

YEA GOT SOME USEFUL INFO BOUT GDI ENGINES.

http://drivegeek.wordpress.com/2011/10/ ... -solution/

Postby rollingstock » August 6th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Hey now seeing this, finally got some time then.

Should be going on vacation on teh 16th actually didn't forget you, was going to give you a call as i would have had some free time. Can't say i'm not glad you did it yourself. It's a lot easier with the galant.

See what i told you about the hunting idle and how much smoother it does now.

This is really good stuff.

Postby Morpheus » August 10th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Ah yes a DIY well documented post with pics. A dying art.

Well done raybic. The best, most satisfying thing is when it actually works!

raybic

Postby raybic » August 11th, 2012, 6:46 am

THANKS MORPHEUS, diy saves money and time by the mechanic.....

Postby Morpheus » August 11th, 2012, 11:50 am

raybic wrote:THANKS MORPHEUS, diy saves money and time by the mechanic.....

^^You got that right!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 13th, 2012, 3:20 pm

I did this thinking there was a problem in my manifold, and cleaned it up etc and put it back but ended up leaving the egr valve original.

As i get back my van, im gonna do this and block it off, i noticed the car idles a little rough and up and down.

Hopefully will see some difference in it.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 15th, 2013, 3:29 pm

going to do this to my 4g15.

Question: Will blanking the egr clog the exhaust manifold? Or cause soot build up in the exhaust manifold?

I thought I would just have to remove the catalytic converter but the GDi does not have a catalytic converter.

raybic

Postby raybic » May 15th, 2013, 9:39 pm

nope it wont clog the exhaust the soot will just go through the exhaust system. most gdi comes wit cats cause gdi comes wit a exhaust gas temp sensor on the pipe after the cat .

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 15th, 2013, 9:46 pm

so there is a cat converter before the exhaust gas temp sensor?

Wher is the Cat converter?

Postby rollingstock » May 15th, 2013, 10:06 pm

Just look for something like this

Blocked my egr years ago, never had a problem.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 15th, 2013, 10:22 pm

I see.

Ok well I wouldn't have to worry about the cat converter or exhaust manifold getting cloged.

But if I want to remove the cat converter I would have to insert a pipe in its place?

Postby rollingstock » May 15th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Leave the cat alone, removing will result in a permanent cel

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 16th, 2013, 7:35 am

Ok. Thanks

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » May 16th, 2013, 7:49 am

Rolling stockyou are incorrect, raybic and myself went tru this earlier last yr.Zeroone you can do one of two things
1.put a resistor for ecu to think egt sensor is there
2.put back egt sensor on the straight pipe when you remove cat
Check this post.........viewtopic.php?f=33&t=420913

Postby rollingstock » May 16th, 2013, 8:58 am

^ Read about the resistor mod on other forums.

Personally i don't see the sense bypassing the cat unless it's a problem, the resistor just fools teh ecu. Whatever minute gain in power by removing teh cat is negligible.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 16th, 2013, 1:35 pm

excellent work around there nissan4life.

I like to have multiple options.

Im not gonna interfere with the cat though, like stock said the gain would be marginal.

Just wanted to make sure that blanking the egr would not adversely affect the cat converter and exhaust manifold.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”