Repainted my Evo Brembo's ,Writeup and pics inside

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Dion76

Repainted my Evo Brembo's ,Writeup and pics inside

Postby Dion76 » October 17th, 2009, 5:18 pm

so had nothing to do today so i decided to repaint my brembo's because they were getting very discolored below is the process along with some pics i took along the way

1st off, i bought the following items
-1 bottle purple blaster
-1 bottle hardener
-1 bottle clear coat
-1 can spray paint (heat resistant)
-1 roll tape
-1 some kerosene or gasoline
-1 scrubbing brush (if u don't have one at home lol)
-1 Brillo scrubbing pad
-1 razor blade
- some old news papers (gazette paper)
-1 small paint brush

2nd step was to take off all 4 wheels ( i placed 4 old rims below my car to keep it sturdy)

3rd i applied purple blaster on all 4 brembo calipers and when i finished spraying the last 1 i came back to the first one i sprayed and used the Brillo to scrub off all the baked on grease and filt, this is the before and after pic of cleaning the brembos

before cleaning pics

After cleaning pics

4th step was to cover off all the areas u don't want that paint to go on...i used the news papers with some scotch tape and cover up most of the areas as seen in the pics below...i also got some clear scotch tape and put cover up the brembo sticker because my new stickers didn't arrive in time....i just used the clear tape and the razor blade and cut around the brembo as neat as possible

5th step was to start to paint, please make sure and shake the paint well, very well too i applied a thin coat from about 6-8 inches from the surface....i started at the right rear caliper and when i was finished painting all the calipers i waited a 10 minutes and then applied a next coat of paint on the caliper i painted first....pics of this below

6th step, i left them to dry for about 2 and a half hours and then i removed the tape i covered the "brembo" sticker with

7th step, i mixed some clear coat and hardener together in a small container and used a small paintbrush and carefully brushed it on, at this point ur 99% finished....pics to show below

8th step....CLEAN UP YOUR WORK AREA AND RELAX 100% done.....i'm going to remove all the rest of news paper from around the caliper tomorrow morning

props to mishi for giving me a heads up on how to go about repainting them :idea:
Last edited by Dion76 on October 19th, 2009, 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 17th, 2009, 6:06 pm

Props man...

It's a nice, simple way to paint your calipers without having to professionally have then done or don't feel the need to have the brembo sign repainted etc.

High temp will stand up to the rigors and the clearcoat will keep the shine...

Did mine back in March and it's still as if I painted it yesterday...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 17th, 2009, 6:10 pm

nicely done!!!

Postby Morpheus » October 17th, 2009, 9:21 pm

Well done.

Tuner real lacking these 'write-ups'.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 18th, 2009, 1:42 pm

How you paint behind the shocks?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 18th, 2009, 1:45 pm

a small paint brush (prepare for some minor cuts on your hand) :lol:

hmph

Postby hmph » October 18th, 2009, 1:46 pm

well done, there is a similar write up on Evom. i would probably remove my calipers when doing it cause i want a colour change rather than the traditional red. and maybe put on some new brembo stickers.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 18th, 2009, 2:08 pm

yeah...i wanted the new stickers.....suppose to be getting a set by next week or week after

hmph

Postby hmph » October 18th, 2009, 2:14 pm

Dion76 wrote:yeah...i wanted the new stickers.....suppose to be getting a set by next week or week after

i found the normal stickers, if you find the ones that can withstand the heat let me know please.

Thanks

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 18th, 2009, 2:18 pm

ok no problem

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 18th, 2009, 5:35 pm

Dion76 wrote:a small paint brush (prepare for some minor cuts on your hand) :lol:

Yuh think yuh could organise a diy before christmas?

But I dont think its that hard, probably very similar to how you did the calipers.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 18th, 2009, 8:20 pm

yea it wasnt hard, hardest part was reaching the hard to get corners etc

Postby Morpheus » October 18th, 2009, 11:10 pm

Dion76, also take a pic with the rim back on. That should be good :)

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 19th, 2009, 6:30 am

yeah, i would post a pic of that this evening

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 19th, 2009, 8:42 am

I had mine done through Silver star, price was good. They replaced the stickers and used automotive paint with clear over the stickers. I decided while it was there to repaint the evo VIII rims white one time and so I did some new Enkei stickers too.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 19th, 2009, 9:33 am

The professional way is the preferred choice, but personally, anything no matter how it look would be better than the pink caliper faded look...

what did they charge you for the calipers?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 19th, 2009, 12:31 pm

saltydog,, bess work there, how much did they charge to paint the calipers alone?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 19th, 2009, 12:43 pm

the four calipers with the stickers was 500 i believe.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 19th, 2009, 12:47 pm

thats a real good price for that great work i seeing there, if i had known i mighta probably check them :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 19th, 2009, 1:25 pm

post up picture of the finished product with the wheels on nah... or like I hadda reach with my camera...

hmph

Postby hmph » October 19th, 2009, 3:20 pm

saltydog, where did you get it done? contact number?

yes i am that lazy! :lol:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 19th, 2009, 4:43 pm

MISHI,u wont believe that the wheels are still off the car real busy these days, hopefully i would have a pic up by tomorrow evening

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » October 19th, 2009, 8:03 pm

Dion76,Those rotors you have on there are finished, look at the ridge on the edge of it. I have brand new slotted Brembos rotors in stock... :mrgreen:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 19th, 2009, 8:40 pm

saltydog wrote:I had mine done through Silver star, price was good. They replaced the stickers and used automotive paint with clear over the stickers. I decided while it was there to repaint the evo VIII rims white one time and so I did some new Enkei stickers too.

Wait na so silver star on mucurapo road does do that?

And they does service my car and never tell me nothing NA.

I have to pass they bright and early tomorrow ill fix that subie.....

DTERLTD

Postby DTERLTD » October 19th, 2009, 11:28 pm

Dion76

excellent DIY step by step! It's more than just getting your calipers looking great again, it's about taking the time, doing it yourself and getting the satisfaction at the end of the job.

Congrats...well done!

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 20th, 2009, 7:11 am

thanks man^ :D

W2J

Postby W2J » October 21st, 2009, 11:24 pm

saltydog wrote:I had mine done through Silver star, price was good. They replaced the stickers and used automotive paint with clear over the stickers. I decided while it was there to repaint the evo VIII rims white one time and so I did some new Enkei stickers too.

looks almost as good as mine but you need rotors badddddd :D

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 22nd, 2009, 9:31 pm

Very nice i wanna try something like this as well

Return to “MITSUBISHI”