The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 17th, 2010, 2:58 pm

som'n like dis...

Postby Rainman » January 17th, 2010, 3:06 pm

i wanted to see where your cd changer is located, because if im not mistaken there are some stereos that will allow you to retain the cd changer and the controls.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 17th, 2010, 3:09 pm

it's wher ur pocket is, unda d a/c controls (above d ashtray)

Postby Rainman » January 17th, 2010, 3:17 pm

i say disconnect the changer, leave it mounted, change the stereo.

http://signature.crutchfield.com/s_113K ... ml?tp=5684

take a look at that, the auxiliary on the back may work with the changer.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 17th, 2010, 3:49 pm

thanks 4 d suggestions rainman, will look in2 it...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 17th, 2010, 9:07 pm

Is there anyone locally who can recalibrate and repair my instrument cluster?

The fuel guage is reading incorrectly and the lights behind the guages dont light.

venum

Postby venum » January 17th, 2010, 11:29 pm

Ok so here is the DIY on changing your Dashboard A/C controls and Center Console

DASHBOARD

1. Remove your audio headunit

2. Remove the cubby pocket under the A/C controls. this is done by removing the two screws shown and pulling out the pocket

3. Remove A/C control dials by pulling them off. there are no screws that need to be loosened

4. Remove the two screws that fasten the finisher to teh A/C controls

5. Remove the finisher

this is done by unclipping the 6 clips that hold it in place and pulling it out

6. Observe the internals of your A/C controls.

It consists of two bulbs that provide the illumination and a light tube that spreads teh light around creating the back lit effect

Bulb #1 & #2 provide teh background illumination for all the controls, while Bulb #2 also provides illumination for the Demister, A/C and Recirc switches

To change teh bulbs teh light tube must be removed

and

To remove the light tube, the Demister, A/C and Recirc switch panel must me removed

7. Remove the Demister, A/C and Recirc switch panel by removing the two screws that hold it in place and pull out

CAREFUL :!: :!: :!:

the switch buttons are not attached as a single unit and will fall out from the housing that has teh screws on it

You can now see the second bulb as well as the LED's for the Demister, A/C and Recirc switches and teh switches themselves

8. Remove the light tube by removing the 2 screws that hold it in place.

Do not bend or rest anything heavy on it. It seems to be an acrylic material

9. Remove the two blown bulbs

the stock bulbs have a blue silicon cap on them.

I believe that this is used as a filter to create white light instead of the teh incandescent yellow that is produced by the bulb

This silicon cap can be reused

TAKE OFF FROM THE OLD BULB VERY GENTLY AND WITH MUCH CARE - IT BURSTS EASILY

Old bulb and new bulb with re-used silicone cap

10. Install new bulbs with silicon caps

11. Re-install teh light tube

I didn't like the light output of these, so I replaced them with two new bulbs WITHOUT teh silicon cap

the light output is MUCH greater without teh silicon cap

12. Re-install the Demister, A/C and Recirc switch panel

13. Re-install the Audio headunit

14. Re-install the finisher

15. Observe the faint orange glow when the lights arr turned on in bright light

16. Observe the cool orange colour when the lights are turned in the dark

CENTER CONSOLE

1. Remove the two screws fastening the center storage compartment to the floor of teh car, located inside the center storage compartment (between the front seats) and remove center console by lifting outwards in a 90 degree motion

2. Un-clip the electrical connector at the base of the gear lever finisher

3. Unscrew the two screws at the base of the gear lever finisher

4. Un-clip the clips fastening the center console under the dashboard (by driver and passenger footwell respectively)

5. Remove the center console

6. Remove the bulb that illuminates the gear lever selections

7. Remove bulb

8. Change bulb (same size as a press-in park light\ID light)

9. Locate the Cigarette lighter illumination and ash tray bulbs on the underside of the Center Console

10. Remove the ash tray bulb and replace with new bulb

11. Remove the Cigarette lighter illumination bulb and replace with new bulb

12. Reinstall Center Console

13. Re-connect electrical connector at base of Gear Lever finisher

Observe that the Cigarette lighter illumination and ash tray bulbs light when turned on

14. Reinstall center storage compartment

That's it

A/C control bulbs bought at Marud's Auto Supplies, Union Road Marabella TT$2.00 Each

Press-in park light\ID Bulb bought at Rodney's Auto Supplies, St. Clement's Junction TT$3.00 Each
Last edited by venum on January 18th, 2010, 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 18th, 2010, 6:51 am

Excellent DIY there thats exactly how i replaced my ac bulbs, i deciced not to use the silicone scalp too. I couldnt use it anyway cause it had burned onto the bulb.

You have a typo though, this:

Bulb #1 & #2 provide teh background illumination for all the controls, while Bulb #2 provides illumination for teh Demister, A/C and Recirc switches

Should be this:

Bulb #1 & #2 provide teh background illumination for all the controls, while Bulb #2 also provides illumination for teh Demister, A/C and Recirc switches

Now I just need to get my instrument cluster recalibrated and the lights behind the guages fixed.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 18th, 2010, 8:07 am

well done, venum :!: great write-up! u makin me feel 2 change mih bulbs, JES cuz i cud now!

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » January 18th, 2010, 8:55 am

EVA Unit-01, wah u looking for???

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 18th, 2010, 9:02 am

Shooter_boy_J, Your Royal Highness...

looking for the rear dash speakers for the CS3A Lancer (2006-7). will get the part number from the speaker when i go home, if you need it...

also was thinking about Ralliart grill for the same car, and maybe mudflaps...

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » January 18th, 2010, 9:11 am

cool boy EVA u have my number so u cud call me anytime!

venum

Postby venum » January 18th, 2010, 10:56 am

ZeroOne wrote:
You have a typo though, this:

Bulb #1 & #2 provide teh background illumination for all the controls, while Bulb #2 provides illumination for teh Demister, A/C and Recirc switches

Should be this:

Bulb #1 & #2 provide teh background illumination for all the controls, while Bulb #2 also provides illumination for teh Demister, A/C and Recirc switches

Fixed

ZeroOne wrote:Now I just need to get my instrument cluster recalibrated and the lights behind the guages fixed.

Call Barry 740-3894

check the pics of the rear of the IP i posted sometime ago

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » January 18th, 2010, 12:06 pm

EVA Unit-01 I see you get yuh reply from Shooter_boy_J

now I'm patiently waiting on my reply from him :mrgreen:

I would also like to know the price of a Ralliart Grille from the CS5W OR the all mesh sports grille with the small chrome Mitsu Diamond Logo in the middle that comes in the Singapore Cedia (A grille like what Idlemind have on his car)

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » January 18th, 2010, 12:54 pm

turbo_beast369, i still doing sum research on your request!

When i now come on tuner jed i was more focused on the old talk but jed i must say i rellllllll learn things in this MITSUBISHI section jed! I does practically live on this site in work! i does just be waiting for a new post to read it! pathetic eh but i love mitsubishi so!

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 18th, 2010, 1:05 pm

Shooter_boy_J, i understand fully...

reflects badly on our pathetic lives, but say wah!

turbo_beast369 wrote:EVA Unit-01 I see you get yuh reply from Shooter_boy_J

now I'm patiently waiting on my reply from him :mrgreen:

I would also like to know the price of a Ralliart Grille from the CS5W

the grill i talking bout is from d CS5W too, i think... not sure about the models, daz y i wuz askin bout dem b4...

or mebbe som'n from d Evo 8 or 9, if it cud fit...
Last edited by EVA Unit-01 on January 18th, 2010, 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » January 18th, 2010, 1:22 pm

That is a nice grill

My previous CS3 had it

A guy in Plaisance Park had them unpainted couple years ago

Auto Stock 659-4214

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 18th, 2010, 1:48 pm

venum, doh really like it dat much, eh; jes cuz is original Ralliart... i prefer d emblem on a solid backing, like d original or d evo 8 grill

i try a ting wit mine, replacing the plastic mesh with aluminium sport mesh. cud kinda see it in d pic i post last, will post betta wen i wash d car...

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » January 18th, 2010, 1:51 pm

the ck was the best all you had to do was take some thiners and rub it on your grille and u does get the whole grill chrome!

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 18th, 2010, 2:09 pm

Shooter_boy_J, mih gyul lookin 4 a car 2, so i suggestin a Lancer (of course!). u kno of ne1 sellin?

ne1 kno dis car? http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=290081

she interested, but doh kno nuttin bout cars & i cya check it out (still a n00b)...

venum

Postby venum » January 18th, 2010, 3:16 pm

EVA Unit-01, if it from South I can take a look at it

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » January 18th, 2010, 3:43 pm

EVA Unit-01 how come d pic u post up is a corvette?

I have never heard about or seen a Turbo Ralliart version CS5W in your 06' - 07' shape....my shape yes...

I know bout d mesh inserts for yours but I dont think there is a Ralliart version of your grille...it's a pity you couldnt get one like d Evo 8 but d grille and bumber made up as one...

Shooter_boy_J Cool man...I just thought yuh 4get meh lol

venum bella has a all mesh grille like Idlemind's own...but it has a crack on it and he still wants $1000 for it...not me...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 18th, 2010, 5:17 pm

venum, i called barry he said it almost impossible to recalibrate the guages.

So ill have to replace the IP, now i need someone who can reprogram the mileage on the odo and replace the black tach with the white one that i have.

Barry said that they dont reprogram mileage, but he can replace the tach with the whie one from my IP.

venum

Postby venum » January 18th, 2010, 5:51 pm

ZeroOne wrote:So ill have to replace the IP, now i need someone who can reprogram the mileage on the odo and replace the black tach with the white one that i have.

i don't know anywhere that does that as a business

you can try some roro dealers that have questionable reputation as they may have teh equipment to do it

several places online offer it as a service, but it is also illegal in some states

you would have to ship the IP there

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 18th, 2010, 6:16 pm

Thats a good idea.

Problem is that i dont know of any dealers who do this, not every roro dealer will have that kind of equipment.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 18th, 2010, 7:57 pm

turbo_beast369, hard luck! d link get screwed. is d grill from d CS3A Ralliart version (for d US)...

venum, d man working Barrackpore and livin Princes Town. will find out if & wen i cud view it, & let u kno if i need ur esteemed services...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » January 19th, 2010, 7:03 am

^^^send d link to me..I wanna see d pic...or if its not a link then email the pic to me

m3_man@hotmail.com

is BlackPrimera car you talkin bout....it seems to be a good car...and the mileage isnt 2 high....

venum

Postby venum » January 19th, 2010, 9:40 am

EVA Unit-01 wrote:turbo_beast369, hard luck! d link get screwed. is d grill from d CS3A Ralliart version (for d US)...

USDM saw the CS6A 2.0L 4G94 SOHC, CS7A and CS7W (2.4L) 4G69 SOHC

EVA Unit-01 wrote:
venum, d man working Barrackpore and livin Princes Town. will find out if & wen i cud view it, & let u kno if i need ur esteemed services...

if we have to go, let's go in teh day eh

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » January 19th, 2010, 10:17 am

Venum nice diy post!
I found out yesterday , that my coil packs Are leaking a little
current so I have a new DIY project to save them. Will document it and post it up.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 19th, 2010, 3:10 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:^^^send d link to me..I wanna see d pic...or if its not a link then email the pic to me

m3_man@hotmail.com

is BlackPrimera car you talkin bout....it seems to be a good car...and the mileage isnt 2 high....

see it at this link: http://www.netcarshow.com/mitsubishi/20 ... per_01.htm

venum wrote:
EVA Unit-01 wrote:turbo_beast369, hard luck! d link get screwed. is d grill from d CS3A Ralliart version (for d US)...

USDM saw the CS6A 2.0L 4G94 SOHC, CS7A and CS7W (2.4L) 4G69 SOHC

EVA Unit-01 wrote:

if we have to go, let's go in teh day eh

venum, thanks 4 d correction! d Ralliart is d 2.4L version... all dese blasted models does confuse d $h!+ outta me :?

as for the car, i'll wait for turbo_beast369 to inform whether it's even worth viewing...

aside from all that, i have further complications with my car :? in addition to the aforementioned vibration in the steering wheel when braking >120kmph (and some when accelerating also), i now have random pulling/swerving of the car....

even though i'm holding the steering wheel firmly in one position, i can actually feel the tyres moving; and the car randomly (i.e. no specific side preference) pulls with wind and bumps in the road. it's frickin scary, ne1 hav ne idea wot's goin on????

Return to “MITSUBISHI”