WTK 4G15 DOHC or 4G92 SOHC?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Morpheus23

WTK 4G15 DOHC or 4G92 SOHC?

Postby Morpheus23 » May 4th, 2007, 1:19 am

Which do u personaly prefer?
Which one more practical as far as parts, problems ,etc?
Which one more available?
Also prices? Auto complete.

Thanks

Oh is for an upgrade from a 4G13 SOHC with REAL mileage

215,000 approx. I bounce meh head really.Bought it doing 182,000.Was a noob at d time.LoL. I know better now thanks to y'all on Trinituner

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 5th, 2007, 4:26 am

hos yuh ask all the right questions... on the 17th meh bredrins gettin 4 4g92 in front cuts...

usually from singapore... they sellin for 7000 complete...

i would always say 4g15 tho cause it's a more readily available engine... seems as tho ever parts place in th bamboo has at least one on the ground now... so for parts... 4g15 is the thing i say cause it's more likely that they will b scrappin one of these as opposed to a hard to find 4g92...

i prefer th 4g92 on personal choice cause it's a 1.6L engine and tops off a lil while after the 4g15...

but engine for engine upto 187kmph to me they're both about the same... so i'd go with the 4g15 any day unless i can be promised parts for the preferred 4g92... just my $0.02c

~bess
744-3798

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 5th, 2007, 4:38 am

^^^ Always best advice. Thanks man.

Thinking about finally doing the swap ending of May early June.
(Fingers crossed)

I just find $7000 hard to pay for a 1600 SOHC engine. Why can't we have Nissan prices??????LOL

Marct

Postby Marct » May 5th, 2007, 7:06 am

rych_bess2k6 wrote:hos yuh ask all the right questions... on the 17th meh bredrins gettin 4 4g92 in front cuts...

usually from singapore... they sellin for 7000 complete...

i would always say 4g15 tho cause it's a more readily available engine... seems as tho ever parts place in th bamboo has at least one on the ground now... so for parts... 4g15 is the thing i say cause it's more likely that they will b scrappin one of these as opposed to a hard to find 4g92...

i prefer th 4g92 on personal choice cause it's a 1.6L engine and tops off a lil while after the 4g15...

but engine for engine upto 187kmph to me they're both about the same... so i'd go with the 4g15 any day unless i can be promised parts for the preferred 4g92... just my $0.02c

~bess
744-3798

I hear what you saying but the benefit with the 4g92 is the fuel system is not as tricky as the 4g15

blazing

Postby blazing » May 5th, 2007, 2:45 pm

Performance wise both are about the same.

Main difference is that 4G15 is MAP and 4g92 is MAS and has coil packs instead of distributor. Both have their advantages and disadvantages.

And parts for the 4g15 are pretty abundant in the bamboo now as said. so that may well be the determining factor. Also, some 4g13, 4g18 parts can work on the 4g15. 4G92 parts not as easy to find in the bamboo and coilpacks can be an expensive problem. some 4g91.93 parts can work and these engines are even rarer.

I hear what you saying but the benefit with the 4g92 is the fuel system is not as tricky as the 4g15

How so?

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 5th, 2007, 3:10 pm

:| Hmmm looking like 4G15 DOHC yes.

Just came from d Bamboo dey. 4G15 DOHC and tiptronic tranny $6500

??

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 5th, 2007, 9:33 pm

and th 4g15 benefits greater from a cold air intake system :D

and boss mitsubishi equation... tiptronic tranny = problems

who say straight auto or manual...

Postby X_Factor » May 5th, 2007, 9:59 pm

i think i saw some sellin on evans street and d price was 4300.00
engine and normal tranny
4g15 dohc

could confirm that for u nex week

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 5th, 2007, 11:56 pm

think i saw some sellin on evans street and d price was 4300.00

I checked there some trime late last year.When my mech. checked dem he say"Eh Eh!! All dem harness cut up"
could confirm that for u nex week

I appreciate dat man.Just check/ask if the harnesses intact ok.Thanks a lot

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 6th, 2007, 6:41 am

4g15 with invecs II tranny.. best bet.....

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 6th, 2007, 11:03 am

MISHI wrote:4g15 with invecs II tranny.. best bet.....

^^^ what exactly is that... what car did it come with...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 6th, 2007, 3:08 pm

Invecs II tranny is the standard CK lancer 4 speed tranny. I believe some 4G15 DOHS's come with this

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 6th, 2007, 3:38 pm

4g15 with invecs II tranny.. best bet.....

I more or less going to settle 4 that yes. I eh have dat much paper to put out to go bigger

Thanks

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 6th, 2007, 6:27 pm

MISHI wrote:Invecs II tranny is the standard CK lancer 4 speed tranny. I believe some 4G15 DOHS's come with this

Correct as always!.... 8-)

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 6th, 2007, 11:47 pm

4g15 with gearbox... yuh cayuh go wrong!!!

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 7th, 2007, 3:37 am

Dais yours hoss?? Sweet
:)

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 7th, 2007, 7:57 am

yeh boss... i geh meh camera yesterday so ah say let meh throw up a pic... hadda clean up my engine bay tho... it ah lil dusty cause of th weather...

Postby X_Factor » May 7th, 2007, 8:46 am

^^ one of the more neater conversions i've seen

venum

Postby venum » May 7th, 2007, 6:03 pm

rych_bess2k6, bess looking 4G15 there

4G15 DOHC and 4G92 SOHC put out almost the same at the fly and wheels

4G92 is a newer engine and has some newer technology in it like coilpacks

the 4G92 is MAF sensed whereas the 4g15 is MAP sensed

many ppl prefer the MAP sensed engines as they are more tunable

4G15 can take boost easier due to it's DOHC head a opposed to teh SOHC of teh 4g92

but do not underestimate the ability of boosted SOHC engines (Teknet)

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 7th, 2007, 9:20 pm

thanks X_Factor and venum, my electrician did real good work... yuh doh see any wild wires like alot of places...

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 8th, 2007, 2:04 am

before purple blaster

after purple blaster

Last edited by rych_bess2k6 on May 10th, 2007, 1:17 am, edited 3 times in total.

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 8th, 2007, 2:05 am

^^^ i have to admit by looks the 4g92 looks scarier but th 4g15 is sexier lol...

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » May 8th, 2007, 4:06 pm

heheh.. yeah ,,,, and make men wit sr 20 turbos in wingroads sick ,,, sick to the stomach

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 8th, 2007, 4:10 pm

^^^LOL... thas for sure... even make men in white riced out mirage lookin lancers get bummy...

Postby X_Factor » May 9th, 2007, 3:16 pm

aye i checked the foreign used place on evans street today..they wanted 2K for the 4g15 engine alone..wit ecu and harnes no tranny..engines looked in decent condition

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 9th, 2007, 4:20 pm

buy it!!!!!! lol...

and clean it with purple blaster... it makes ur engine shine like never before... did an engine wash today @ home 4 myself with that stuff... it even made my air filter clean again lol...

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 15th, 2007, 3:58 am

Aye bess how much did your swap cost in total?

(1)Engine price
(2)Install including electricals
(3) Plugs,filters,oils,belts,etc.

Just checking.Might wanna borrow your mechanic for my install(My mechanic does be outta de country a lot.Drags and tuning up the islands)

PM me if you don't want that info out in the open :)

And Tuner Imports..how much mileage on that engine?

Thanks

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » May 15th, 2007, 11:35 am

The engine was bought and installed with 47K on it late last year, now the customer needs more speed, he has added approx. 10K to the engine since....The odometer will give the wrong reading because of the engine change.....

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 17th, 2007, 2:29 pm

Aye rych it eh have no 4G15 DOHC and tranny in that container boy??

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 17th, 2007, 4:59 pm

nah boi buh i sellin my engine and box... yuh interested?

i'm sure sumbody wud buy th box from yuh or trade it 4 a tranny...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”