Mitsu galant vrg brakes upgrade

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

MonsterPower

Mitsu galant vrg brakes upgrade

Postby MonsterPower » May 10th, 2007, 6:28 pm

so i asked this question before...

what are my options? is it hard to do or get done?

sanctifier or mishi i knwo u guys may be helpfu in this ....

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 11th, 2007, 3:29 am

which one..the old one..or the shark mouth one?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 11th, 2007, 1:00 pm

VRG galant. Shark mouth Jason.

Basic small upgrade would be the 276mm discs with twin pots as the Evo 1-2-3 and 4, as those have the same bolt pattern you carry presently.

you can upgrade to brembos if you want, but you'll have to change wheels etc as they are a 5 hole pattern. (at least the ones we know here) and the brakes are quite large.

But are you running turbo or stock setup? If stock, then \jus find a good set of pads and try that...

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 11th, 2007, 7:06 pm

the vr4 and vrg brake application can be swap from one and another or no??

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 11th, 2007, 7:29 pm

Man, the person alyuh should be talking to is Banzi. U ever see how sweet them Brembos in that VR4 does look?...... :fadein:

But as MISHI pointed out, its a 5 lug spindle. That's new rims right there and they will have to be a minimum of 17" to clear the rotors and caliper.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 11th, 2007, 8:22 pm

well its stock presently but i am thinkin of doin a 4g93t swap so time to do a brakes upgrades also

now thing is with this brembro upgrade i donno what to tell dem damn brembro pple as teh usdm and jdm galant is diff so its hard trying to explain to them ..

right now i am in teh us so i am trying to tae advantage of the parts such as online ordering and being able to call them and talk to them .. now i already spoke to banzai and his setup came 5 lug so he was able to get the vr4 brembro upgrade .. as mishi said i may have to upgrade to evo frist and then to brembro ...but if anyone knows or has done it before some part #'s will hep alot ..

who knows i may be able to help out someone else after this

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 11th, 2007, 9:37 pm

MonsterPower wrote:well its stock presently but i am thinkin of doin a 4g93t swap so time to do a brakes upgrades also

uh see mishi thats why i ask which galant it is he have..i know dem old model galant where like the cb3 they had like 63t and 93t to go in that

but i never hear anybody puttin this in a shark mouth..thats why i asked.

if is dem new shark mouth like wah mishi say..why dont u go for the twin turbo vr-4 engine and done

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 11th, 2007, 9:54 pm

From the time he says VRG, it's a shark mouth.

cb model 93T is a waste to install.. too much things to convert. Best you find a 93T from a CK model lancer.

If you do decide to upgrade your brakes, it may be a good idea to upgrade the booster and master cylinder as well

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 11th, 2007, 11:43 pm

hmmm so mishu what u recommend i use?

and jason i was lookin for a replacement engine from the gdi which has given us nutin but pure trouble... so time to upgrade and stay tranny with a lil pep ... tobo business ting hoss...

i not lookin to go all out like banzai so no v6 tobo for me .. cuz i gettin dat eeasily but i want original lineup ..

the car only drive for 8 months since we bought it 3 yrs ago .. it has less than 58k on the milage now it park up so i wanted to make it a project .... why waste a good car

venum

Postby venum » May 13th, 2007, 10:17 pm

I saw a EA1 convert with a Evo7 63T in it

the brakes were all HKS

can't remember if it was a 4 or 5 hole setup though, think it was 5 hole,

the rims were 17"

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 14th, 2007, 1:36 pm

well guys i appreciate the input and i see where ur coming from ... so i need to upgrade from 4 hole to 5 hole gotton form a evo 4 or 5 and then i can change my rotor and stuff... kool i get that

now for the engine... no jason i am not goin to go v6 .. come on guy dem ting does drink gas .. plus i wanted to just change the gdi engine alone.. the car has barely 50k km on it the tranny is practically untouched... and i wanted to go turbo so maybe later on i could always add an intercooler and some other minor mods to make it a lil quicker.. is there any engine that i can just use to bolt up to the original mounts and also work with the tiptronic tranny ?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 14th, 2007, 5:42 pm

Well only real options engine wise I see available would be the 2.0 4G63 SOHC which came out in the local galants... the 2.4 4G64 from the outlander & performance wise the 4G93T from the CK model or the 4G63T from the evo 4 onwards....

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 14th, 2007, 6:33 pm

thank u mishi .. so the 4393t from the ck model will bolt up direct on my tiptronic right? cuz if dais the case den i think i just found what i was loookin for ....

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 14th, 2007, 10:28 pm

the bolt up for the 93T and 63T is the same??/

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 15th, 2007, 12:48 am

It should bolt up fine. same block.

but always best to "measure 2wice and cut once."

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 15th, 2007, 1:36 am

MISHI wrote:It should bolt up fine. same block.

dais for my ??? or jason?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 15th, 2007, 2:10 am

nah i kinda confused cause i never hear anyone put a lancer engine in a vrg galant...cause i see it like this..a galant cud hold one ah dem v6 twin turbo engines right...but can a lancer :? and also if a lancer does bolt up direct a 4g93t how u gonna put..or better yet why u wanna put that in a galant...

allyuh see the size ah that car...make sure and put someitng that cud pull that eh

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 15th, 2007, 2:32 am

the original engine is a 4g93 n/a so why cant a 4g93t?and jason they are the same engine...come on look at dem ca18 and sr18 coomin in dem bluebird sss .. u feel all ah dem come sr20 much less sr20det ?

and i think he was saying the 4g93t and 4g63 might be same boltup

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 15th, 2007, 8:19 am

MonsterPower wrote:
MISHI wrote:It should bolt up fine. same block.

dais for my ??? or jason?

was directed to you... with the right mounts i believe this could be a drop in install.

63T may bolt up to the tranny as well, but not recommended.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 15th, 2007, 10:52 am

thank u so much mishi .... i guess my choice is the 93t .... now i know what i have to get done and where to look for this engine...

btw what am i lookin for anyway ? serial # of this engine is on it ? or just by the cover i will know?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 15th, 2007, 1:47 pm

engine stamp will say 4G93(whatever rest of code)

For you, this is the engine

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 15th, 2007, 2:39 pm

think wireing will be an issue seeing that i puttin it back up with the tiptronic tranny ?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 15th, 2007, 3:10 pm

A good electrician should be able to handle this....

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 16th, 2007, 1:37 pm

hmmm dat engine looks like what i want.... has anyone seen any like it in the bamboo?

NR8

Re: Mitsu galant vrg brakes upgrade

Postby NR8 » June 26th, 2014, 12:42 pm

Hey man, I know this was a long time ago but did you ever get through with it? I'd also like to know which engines can work with the tiptronic vrg tranny bolt for bolt.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 16th, 2014, 4:37 pm

4g93t cm5a.
4g93 sohc ck.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 16th, 2014, 9:56 pm

^^ Thanks.

MISHI wrote:Basic small upgrade would be the 276mm discs with twin pots as the Evo 1-2-3 and 4, as those have the same bolt pattern you carry presently.
Guys about the Evo 1-4 twin pot calipers and 276mm discs, how easy are they to get? Anybody knows where to find them and the average price for the rotors and calipers?

MISHI wrote:If you do decide to upgrade your brakes, it may be a good idea to upgrade the booster and master cylinder as well
Which booster and master cylinder can work as an upgrade in the VRG Galant?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » August 31st, 2014, 9:52 am

NR8 wrote:^^ Thanks.

MISHI wrote:Basic small upgrade would be the 276mm discs with twin pots as the Evo 1-2-3 and 4, as those have the same bolt pattern you carry presently.
Guys about the Evo 1-4 twin pot calipers and 276mm discs, how easy are they to get? Anybody knows where to find them and the average price for the rotors and calipers?

MISHI wrote:If you do decide to upgrade your brakes, it may be a good idea to upgrade the booster and master cylinder as well
Which booster and master cylinder can work as an upgrade in the VRG Galant?

bump

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » October 30th, 2014, 10:52 pm

Bump

Return to “MITSUBISHI”