WTK: 4g93 engine horsepower

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

drftr

WTK: 4g93 engine horsepower

Postby drftr » November 14th, 2007, 10:20 pm

hey guys , recently put a 4g93 engine in my lancer wagon , does anyone know the horsepower?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 15th, 2007, 12:29 am

SOHC or DOHC turbo?

SOHC is roughly 115- 120 BHP.

DOHC turbo is roughly 194 - 215 BHP dependent on compression

Personally, I love the 4G93 SOHC. It's a lovely little engine and comes to life from 3500 RPM. The only sad thing about it is that the limit is 6750 RPM.

drftr

Postby drftr » November 15th, 2007, 8:59 pm

hi , well its a 4g93 sohc. so is it a good engine ? and does it have mods available for the engine ?

iamjack

Postby iamjack » November 16th, 2007, 9:38 pm

4g92 SOHC and 4g93 SOHC has about the same horsepower?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 18th, 2007, 9:21 am

and comes to life from 3500 RPM

darn right!!!!

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » November 18th, 2007, 12:24 pm

iamjack wrote:4g92 SOHC and 4g93 SOHC has about the same horsepower?

nah i dont think so.....teh 4g92's i think is 110hp

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 18th, 2007, 1:27 pm

^ correct. 110 -115 bhp

DEVI

Postby DEVI » November 18th, 2007, 9:09 pm

With a front mount inter cooler , a new K&N ,14PSI boost and 2.5 inch exhaust i dynoed at 183 WHP....cater for 17-20% loss through drive train and yuh somewhere around 220 HP.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » November 18th, 2007, 9:13 pm

Still.... came 5th overall at the VK stadium race with the 4G93T, embarassed some Evos....damn proud of that little engine :) :) :)

drftr

Postby drftr » November 18th, 2007, 10:05 pm

anyone know where i can get a 4g93 ecu installation guide?

Shaka

Postby Shaka » November 19th, 2007, 12:51 pm

Have this engine in my libero with FWD gearbox. Beautiful engine !!!!.

On this Forum, there is a few Sticky topics with some good info for you.

Shaka

Postby Shaka » November 19th, 2007, 12:53 pm

DEVI wrote:Still.... came 5th overall at the VK stadium race with the 4G93T, embarassed some Evos....damn proud of that little engine :) :) :)

Congrats DEVI, 4G93T Power !!!!!!!

DiGgA

Postby DiGgA » January 10th, 2008, 12:48 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
and comes to life from 3500 RPM

darn right!!!!

Oh yea! Jus got a CB3 with the SOHC version in it. I could mellow myself and be crusin below the 3500 RPM mark like any normal car... BUT! As soon as I rise over that, dat f**ker does tick! As I now get it, I haven't pushed it to 6750 RPM yet, but I'm getting level tyres in second with this thing. This is my first relatively fast car (had an accent before, go figure!), and I fully satisfied for de hour... until i ready to pop in the dohc turbo :twisted:
Last edited by DiGgA on January 10th, 2008, 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 10th, 2008, 2:08 pm

Whatever you do, don't keep it in the redline range too long... they don't like it too much...

But God, the sound's sweet especially around 4000 RPM up :twisted:

I miss that.. though I have a turbocharged 4G93

DiGgA

Postby DiGgA » January 10th, 2008, 4:22 pm

When i was in the market for one, i was lookin at yours... but i KNOW i couldn't afford it. got mine for $32,000 and i'm BROKE! it's worth it tho :mrgreen:

drftr

Postby drftr » September 10th, 2009, 2:53 am

i want to convert the 4g93 sohc to turbo in the future hopefully but i dont know where to start and how much to budget. :roll:

2nil

Postby 2nil » September 10th, 2009, 1:43 pm

4g93..hehehe......dat lil engine is like a angel sent from heaven..
it really astonishing to see wat dat lil engine capable of.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Last edited by 2nil on April 2nd, 2010, 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » March 31st, 2010, 3:18 pm

what is the most HP i could get out of a 4g93T.. its comes stock at 205bhp correct?

nes123

Postby nes123 » March 31st, 2010, 8:34 pm

^^ DAT depends on budget homie...W2J had a 4g92 SOHC 1.6 pushing 300-400hp and cutting real evo's asses...once ya have an iron block which it is in this case..ya can extract as much as ya want

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » April 1st, 2010, 1:11 pm

reason i asked is that i heard from someone how the block isnt strong and u cant get more than 250bhp...
thanks for the clarification

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 1st, 2010, 1:22 pm

The block is fine for most levels of tuning... even higher than stock Evo 4G63 output.

The first thing that needs an upgrade in 4G93Ts are ARP con-rods bolts for a slightly higher rpm level...
and then forged con-rods for higher torque (and power) output.
You can use forged pistons later for even higher output.

My $0.02¢

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » April 1st, 2010, 1:39 pm

Sanctifier, thanx for all your info man.. i tryin to sneak some power out of it.. it have a certain evo i want to beat

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 1st, 2010, 1:45 pm

^ ^ ^ No problem. Good luck hunting your Evo. :)

bolock13

Postby bolock13 » April 1st, 2010, 11:58 pm

I love my 4g93 and never stop amazing me what that little engine can do. here is a vid of what the guys from P.R are doing

[url]<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/BeVJccBQ1FM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/BeVJccBQ1FM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>[/url]

and thats a sohc

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » April 2nd, 2010, 12:20 am

i cant wait to embarrass some evo men... not to mention arc enemies suburu's n honda men!! WAR!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 2nd, 2010, 10:19 am

^ ^ ^ Yup... it's always possible... with enough $$$. Image

The 4G93T is an excellent and economical engine. I have one myself (btw not for sale!) :lol:
I might put it into a rwd Lancer GSR...if I can get the box to work with an adapter-plate.
But I don't intend to beat Evos with that combo... It will be stock... my back-up wheels... my "Grocery Getter."

Just keep this in mind... Sometimes it's not necessary to re-invent the wheel.
Sanctifier wrote:Walk softly... and carry a BIG stick
Sometimes it's necessary to buy a BIGGER stick :!: ... (Maybe a 4G63 if it's a 4wd car?!?)
That way you get more "bang for the buck"... sometimes for LESS $$$ too.

The better the base vehicle... the less money you have to spend for even better performance.
Ask W2J for his opinion about this.

My $0.02¢

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » April 2nd, 2010, 2:45 pm

yea i will in due time...
stock look = dreadful sleeper, they'll never see it comin

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 3rd, 2010, 9:30 am

bOOsTmaN, i hadda watch you den :twisted:

bOOsTmaN