Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

altec

Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Postby altec » February 16th, 2004, 6:12 pm

*TOPIC RE NAMED*

I finally got the noise to go, at least temporary(fingers crossed no probs yet). the engine gdi 4g93, the problem noisy hydraulic tappets, the solution run-rite 4 stage treatment. It cost me $288.00 but it working good so far. You could checkout their site, just do a search for run rite. I got it done at auto labs in arouca.

FourG63 97GST

Postby FourG63 97GST » February 16th, 2004, 6:51 pm

well keep us updated.

seems like a temporary solution to me, mitsu hydraulic lifter loves to tick

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 16th, 2004, 10:24 pm

What was the exact product used???? The engine cleaning detergent?????

As FourG63 97GST said, keep us noisy lifter ppl updated 8)

altec

Postby altec » February 17th, 2004, 5:22 am

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 17th, 2004, 9:39 am

ok cool...........how long ago did you do the service????

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 17th, 2004, 11:01 am

need directions to auto labs

Postby Dave » February 17th, 2004, 11:07 am

d'abadie or arima, close to where we limed
the plastic repair ppl

altec

Postby altec » February 17th, 2004, 6:33 pm

did it 2 weeks ago, and as to direction take mausica road ( the lights by jai) to the eastern main road, go east as if to arima. It is on the left side with a large auto labs sign.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 27th, 2004, 1:08 am

arrite altec, is 10 days gone again.......what is de latest wrt the lifter noise????? 8)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 28th, 2004, 1:04 am

I giving it some more time altec.......then I'll decide......

Aye wagon r, I find my noise very very scarce these days..........I had run de shell helix(blue gallon one nah) last oil change.....ah remember you had said yuh using that.........Anyway, new oil change due so ah gonna try redline 15W50 and see if it any different from meh usual Mobil1.........it's supposed to "pour" like ah 10W30......recommended oil for we car ent?.........The mobil used to burn out kinda fast and nearing 5k kilos the lifters were quite noisy.........

Postby wagon r » March 1st, 2004, 7:17 am

^^ keep me updated pallie. i will be in Mayaro dis weekend. feel free to stop by. :D

i overdue for ah oil change. my "pan side" was having ah time. de oil was low so i top off ah bit and ah find now they only "singing" on cold start up. once engine temp. gets warm after about 5-10 mins., they quiet down.

doh know if it was the mixture of old and new oil, :?: :arrow: :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 1st, 2004, 10:21 pm

was because ah yuh low oil level.........same thing with mine.......I'll keep yuh updated wrt the redline.......supposed to change it weekend coming 8)

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 14th, 2004, 10:56 am

well guys , ah was advised that price smart have some 10w 30(Chevron) or to that effect that quiet these lifters, everytime ah go back it eh have none ,(rock salt ) I too like you all have this lifter problem, maybe dis treatment deserve a try , ah will do like vega and wait it out for the long term reselt , ah fed up try oil.

An Vega right that mobil is waste ah time. keep on posting info guys ah dying to hear d latest on that reatment .

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 14th, 2004, 1:18 pm

yeah altec, how yuh going???

Boy kalongi, right now I still using the blue gallon shell helix 15W50 and the lifter noise is only limited to a very short time during start up..........even when the oil change time was due, the lifters were quiet..........

Was gonna try the 15W50 redline, but the dealer didn't have that body in stock..........next change I'll be trying it for sure!

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 14th, 2004, 1:54 pm

well ah try to pm yuh but it say no user exist , beats me but ah will take yuh advice, marabella and when

anyways , ah man say he have ah solution to date , I think ah will try it , sometimes when d car real hot ah feel is dey weh daisy gone. LOL

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 14th, 2004, 1:59 pm

what is the costing to go form vrg o vr4

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 14th, 2004, 11:07 pm

marabella and when

stay tuned to the boards........... 8)

a vr-4 may be around 110k......buh I doubt yuh will find one under 4 years. Have you considered an engine swap?

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 15th, 2004, 6:00 am

that is what ah meant sorry , what would that cost

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 15th, 2004, 9:18 am

is your current car 4WD? if not then I'm not sure if the vr-4 motor would mate with your current 2wd tranny.......I honestly don't know. :?

Postby wagon r » March 15th, 2004, 1:40 pm

dat is ah real expense dey kalongi. engine alone w/box is about $10k. den yuh hadda study transfer case, diffs, driveline accessories, etc.

if yuh ride done 4wd, yuh might be saved, if not well....^^

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 16th, 2004, 10:26 pm

de only thing I find G, is that the engine lost some of the "freeness" that I used to get with the Mobil.........other than that the blue ting wukkin well....within a few seconds after startup lifter noise gone!!!!

When ah hit the redline I'll let you know of the pan side's attendance :wink: :mrgreen: 8)

Postby wagon r » March 17th, 2004, 8:23 am

glad yuh like it. and to think is jus because one day i stand in de auto shop lookin @ an oil chart and i watch all de grades. den i remember what de recommended oil for the car was @ de back of de manual (that i stole).

is only then i decided lemme meh try de shell. i have to say it works pretty well.

but i due for a change, so month end is de time. :D

Postby Dave » March 18th, 2004, 7:53 am

ok fellas, i was talking to some local and foreign ppl wrt those tappits.
one of two things wrong, sludge or wear.
if it is wear, then thas a replace scene or probably a heavy oil
for sludge, 2 things could happen. 1. try an engine cleaner that the engine could run on, meaning u could drive it and then flush it out and fill with new oil and filter.
2. those who frighten to use flushes, use the castrol/quaker petro based 10w-30 and run the engine for like a day, no more and then flush. this thin oil will also help with cleaning the sludge out. u could use the old filter and then after the running time fill with normal oil and new filter.
they are also engine tune up chemicals which aid in these type of situations, Vega will know what i talking about but there are others also.

Postby wagon r » March 18th, 2004, 5:32 pm

thanks dave. the shell blue is 10w-30 i believe. that why i told vega to try it. i use it and it worked for me.

i'm sure vega will find this info great and would love to hear what he has to say in the morning.

for de sludge part, dat second one kinda hard on de pocket. yuh talkin bout two sets of oil and @least one filter.

another thing, any engine cleaners you recommend that won't have me lookin for a new engine in a few weeks-month :?:

Postby Dave » March 19th, 2004, 7:37 am

ok the quaker state 10w-30 in curepe is $20 a qt and u need just under 4 so $80 not too bad sounding what u say?
Ok Wynn's has a engine oil cleaner which can be added to an engine and driven up to 50 miles. I used it in meh L28, 4G15/16 :wink: and meh SR and all with no probs to date. IMO, u need to use it twice to really get the crap out and also what I did was pour the 10W-30 down the engine and let that wash out. An overkill but sounds good to me and I will be willing to try would be to remove the tappit cover and use a paint brush and pour the same thin oil and "scrub" the head with the paint brush. This will really clean the head.
SOunds good to you?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 21st, 2004, 12:37 am

I will be willing to try would be to remove the tappit cover

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: Dave Dave Dave.........dat is ah day wuk by itself pallie.......yuh fuhget how the plenum come straight on top that......... :mrgreen:

the shell blue can is a 15W50 boy wagon...........the engine oil cleaner sounding like a ting to try..........buh my noise sooo scarce now........I eh troubling nutting :wink: :lol:

Postby wagon r » March 22nd, 2004, 7:27 am

^^ thanks boy vega, i couldn't remember the specs on de oil. but i will give de oil cleaner ah try, hopefully dis weekend.

with the driving i will do on sat., i could flush and change out by sunday. :|

will let you know how it works.

btw, told dave we don't really have any probs with the shell. but because i wasn't sure of the oil's weight, he told me to change the oil brand. i want to hear what he will say now... :|

Postby Dave » March 22nd, 2004, 7:57 am

well you guys have the engine and the problem, by all means if the shell makes it sound lower then go right ahead, different engines respond differently to other oils. let me know how it sounding.

Dave Dave Dave.........dat is ah day wuk by itself pallie.......yuh fuhget how the plenum come straight on top that.........

yeah ah know bro, ah sorry but once to try if sludge is the problem would go a long way but ah know PRESSURE :lol: , call me ah go bring the sleeping bag and some beverages for the fix :wink:

Postby wagon r » March 22nd, 2004, 10:16 am

dat soundin like ah great reason to lime oui...... :D

Postby Dave » March 22nd, 2004, 10:18 am

ah feel wagon want to camp too :lol:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”