CK2 Vs. CK4? What are the major differences???

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

weapon-X

CK2 Vs. CK4? What are the major differences???

Postby weapon-X » October 1st, 2009, 9:49 am

I searched the mitsu forum, but couldn't find any solid info.

So, what are the major differences between the CK2 and CK4 lancers????

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 1st, 2009, 11:22 am

ck4 is the local, it has the extractors and is 1600 engine, but is single cam, ck2 has no extractors and is double cam with 1500 engine, ck4 has two coil packs and ck2 has the distributor, something like that i had one.......

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » October 1st, 2009, 11:54 am

homeboy I hear yuh.

I was also makoin' some 2NR rides....

1996 lancer
[url]http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/garage.php?mode=view_gallery_item&type=garage_galleryâ„‘_id=3643[/url]

1998 lancer
[url]http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/garage.php?mode=view_gallery_item&type=garage_galleryâ„‘_id=4327[/url]

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 1st, 2009, 1:09 pm

yeh x.......i had ah sweet ck4 but she gone, ah sell to buy ah van and now i don't have any.......but ck4 for the lower class is the real machine....

xtech

Postby xtech » October 1st, 2009, 1:27 pm

CK1...........1.3l
CK2...........1.5l
CK4...........1.6l
CK6...........1.8l V6

and this is always so no matter the interior trim or the type of head lights/ tail lights, style of bumpers fogs or no fogs or tranny/box/tiptron or carb / injected, rear disc brakes or drums or what year it was built GLX or GLXi or GL local or imported.

When you open the bonnet the type of CK is determined by the size of the engine

so if you going to buy a Lancer an it says CK4 on the firewall an it gots a 4G15 inside you know is a engine swap one time

Small glass head lights mean it was 1st generation CK from 1996

Big plastic crystal headlights mean it is a face lift model built after 1997

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » October 1st, 2009, 2:22 pm

nice info there xtech. helps alot! BTW do you know what plate series the CK4 (1.6l) came locally?

Next question. which engine is more able (powerful) for mods? the 1.5 twin cam or the 1.6 single cam?

xtech

Postby xtech » October 1st, 2009, 2:35 pm

now if you did understand what i said you would not ask that question

if you want to know from what series the big crystal headlight CK appeared on the roads that would be from PBD

1.6l 4G92 best mods more powerful of the 2 here
1.5l 4G15 has a better flowing head an can rev higher

i rather the 4G15 cause i like the look of twin cam heads :lol:

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » October 1st, 2009, 3:16 pm

xtech nice info, nice. I would have guessed that the twin cam would rev higher, but still, the 4G92 has the capacity for a bigger bang.... right?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 1st, 2009, 8:17 pm

First set of CK4 1.6 local lancers came from late PBC models. Those were the small light cars... Distiguishing feature was the red reflectors on the trunk, whereas the local CK1/ CK2 did not come with them

The 98 larger light model the CK4 replaced the CK2 model locally.

The 4G15 DOHC revs to about 7000RPM and the 4G92 both rev to just about 6750 RPM or so...

Both carried the same BHP (108 -110) and both carried the same torque (100 -102 ft lbs)... though the 1.5 will reach peak torque sooner (3000 rpm) compared to the 1.6 (4000 -5000rpm)

benefit is that the 4G15 made same power at less cc's. There's no clear winner unless we're talking about fuel where the 1.5 will be somewhat better. Tuning wise, yes the 1.5 DOHC will respond better to intake and exhaust mods, but tell that to the 1.6 guys who have laid many a smackdown on other cars short of VTEC (and in "some" cases those too)

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 1st, 2009, 10:57 pm

my ck4 was the 98 model, this had the 4g92 engine and the only changes was a k&n filter, this had slower take off but top end was great, i did 200 kms on the creek more than one time, it really was a good car...

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » October 1st, 2009, 11:16 pm

they are ck4 with 1.3sohc efi . the ck came with all kinda engines im not sure but like new owners had choices cuz some ck4 came 1.3 cab like my father in law own so i guess the year of manufacture determines the model cuz d point with engine is very inconsistent

xtech

Postby xtech » October 2nd, 2009, 6:59 am

^^^ now that is an obvious engine swap down by the firm to use as a rental or something :roll: :roll: :lol:

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » October 2nd, 2009, 8:32 am

MISHI wrote:First set of CK4 1.6 local lancers came from late PBC models. Those were the small light cars... Distiguishing feature was the red reflectors on the trunk, whereas the local CK1/ CK2 did not come with them

The 98 larger light model the CK4 replaced the CK2 model locally.

The 4G15 DOHC revs to about 7000RPM and the 4G92 both rev to just about 6750 RPM or so...

Both carried the same BHP (108 -110) and both carried the same torque (100 -102 ft lbs)... though the 1.5 will reach peak torque sooner (3000 rpm) compared to the 1.6 (4000 -5000rpm)

benefit is that the 4G15 made same power at less cc's. There's no clear winner unless we're talking about fuel where the 1.5 will be somewhat better. Tuning wise, yes the 1.5 DOHC will respond better to intake and exhaust mods, but tell that to the 1.6 guys who have laid many a smackdown on other cars short of VTEC (and in "some" cases those too)

:lol: WORD!!

But...... I have Seen and experienced the benefits of a good flowing single cam head... the main fault of the 1.6 sohc is the exhaust manifold and its crumpled pipe coming out of cylinder 2. Other gurus like W2J have suggested that 1 cylinder tends to run dry of oil under heavy load: simply fixed by 'shimming' the oil pump. i would think that for there to be a real benchmark of stock 4g15 vs 4g92, they'd have to be mated to identical boxes and both have same or similar exhaust setups

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 2nd, 2009, 8:39 am

SCHOLARS wrote:they are ck4 with 1.3sohc efi . the ck came with all kinda engines im not sure but like new owners had choices cuz some ck4 came 1.3 cab like my father in law own so i guess the year of manufacture determines the model cuz d point with engine is very inconsistent

There is no such thing as a CK4 1.3... CJ/ CK/ CM/ CN/ CP is body for cars done from 1996 - 2000... the number determines the engine capacity

1 = 1300cc 4cyl

2 = 1500cc 4 cyl

4 = 1600cc 4cyl

5 = 1800cc 4cyl

6 = 1800cc 6cyl

8 = 2000cc 4cyl (diesel)

9 = 2000cc 4cyl

So if you have a CK4 1.3 lancer then you've been severly ripped off...

xtech

Postby xtech » October 2nd, 2009, 8:53 am

what does confuse people is they think that the big crystal headlight CK is automatically a CK4

mitsu gets even more confusing when you move up to the sharkmouth

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » October 2nd, 2009, 1:22 pm

well explain meh bredrin ck1 from diamond motors... silver pbf... original car... never been stolen... never been tampered with... original plates... came with a 4g92 engine, sunroof, full flare and fogs...

i preach th same thing everyone says buh i've personaly seen some strange variations...

xtech

Postby xtech » October 2nd, 2009, 2:55 pm

QuickPc's wrote:well explain meh bredrin ck1 from diamond motors... silver pbf... original car... never been stolen... never been tampered with... original plates... came with a 4g92 engine, sunroof, full flare and fogs...

i preach th same thing everyone says buh i've personaly seen some strange variations...

well we ent we used to get box lancers with no options.

ent we paid extra to have it installed. Cars used to come in box and assembled without any extras

no cigarette lighter
no clock
no radio
no blower

So yuh friend must be wanted a CK4....

sales man pull up stock list on screen open he eye big run an inside stock room shouts out we have anymore CK4 or CK2 at least?!! All I seeing is CK1 ....... Mech comes an wispers into sales man ear....'we got a spare 4G92 an tranny in a box dey...

runs back inside an a sale is made.... collect in 1 week please

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 2nd, 2009, 4:15 pm

what does confuse people is they think that the big crystal headlight CK is automatically a CK4

^^That's it right there

QuickPc's wrote:
well explain meh bredrin ck1 from diamond motors... silver pbf... original car... never been stolen... never been tampered with... original plates... came with a 4g92 engine, sunroof, full flare and fogs...

well we ent we used to get box lancers with no options.

ent we paid extra to have it installed. Cars used to come in box and assembled without any extras

no cigarette lighter
no clock
no radio
no blower

So yuh friend must be wanted a CK4....

sales man pull up stock list on screen open he eye big run an inside stock room shouts out we have anymore CK4 or CK2 at least?!! All I seeing is CK1 ....... Mech comes an wispers into sales man ear....'we got a spare 4G92 an tranny in a box dey...

runs back inside an a sale is made.... collect in 1 week please

^^Very true. As funny as it sounds

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » October 2nd, 2009, 5:58 pm

i agree it could be true. cuz i see strange things

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 2nd, 2009, 8:08 pm

QuickPc's wrote:well explain meh bredrin ck1 from diamond motors... silver pbf... original car... never been stolen... never been tampered with... original plates... came with a 4g92 engine, sunroof, full flare and fogs...

Did the chassis come saying JMYSRCK1A?

there were CK1 efi versions of the facelifted models that came with fogs, flare kit and sunroof and all the bells & whistles of the higher models mind you

but if it is that you have a CK1 and it's a 1.6 engine in there something is terribly wrong.

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 2nd, 2009, 8:38 pm

there were CK1 efi versions of the facelifted models that came with fogs, flare kit and sunroof and all the bells & whistles of the higher models mind you

Yup. Yuh know how much ppl all my car a CK4 :|

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » October 2nd, 2009, 8:46 pm

if i get a chance i'll take a pic of th firewall for yall... cause th firewall says ck1a and th plate also says ck1a ans engine is 4g92 on th plate also... so as i support th fact that there are 1996-1997 models and 1997-2000 models but there are variations that occur locally...

Nixin

Postby Nixin » October 4th, 2009, 7:50 pm

looking at this I'd say the most distinguishing feature is the engine's cc rating.

http://www.cars-directory.net/specs/mitsubishi/lancer/1998_10/

spanky76

Re: CK2 Vs. CK4? What are the major differences???

Postby spanky76 » May 13th, 2015, 11:40 am

What about a 1600 cc Twin Cam (PBW) lancer ck4 ? whats your views on that (good buy or no?)

xtech

Postby xtech » May 13th, 2015, 11:42 am

U wanna buy a Mivec lancer

spanky76

Postby spanky76 » May 13th, 2015, 1:00 pm

i want to buy a car in good condition fem 25k -30k what are your views on the above
the 1600cc twin cam PBW lancer

JUS4SHO

Re:

Postby JUS4SHO » May 14th, 2015, 9:10 am

that must be a kia, because the CK1 Designation world wide is a 1.3, somebody not telling the truth about that car.

spanky76

Postby spanky76 » May 15th, 2015, 8:54 am

ck4 or ck2 (Performance, Reliability , Parts, maintenance ) wise??
the ck2 are cheaper like 20-25
but the ck4 is 25-30k :/

Return to “MITSUBISHI”