:::The Official CK4/CB MIVEC Thread:::

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: :::CK4/CB MIVEC and MIVEC Swap Thread:::

Postby Morpheus » May 26th, 2010, 2:03 am

Morpheus wrote:WHo's a good MIVEC mechanic? Who is dis Anil guy I keep hearing about. Any referrals?

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » May 28th, 2010, 9:33 pm

check bess... :D lol...

Postby Morpheus » May 28th, 2010, 11:58 pm

^^Who is bess??

I lost he number :?

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » May 29th, 2010, 9:14 am

hmmm... that is both sad and disappointing....

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » June 16th, 2010, 8:31 pm

it aint really have any mivec specialist out there i never deal with anil but i hear he has ok luck with evo (remember im just d messenger) i had ah issue with my mivec ah while back and no one knew what it was. i did my research and fix it myself that is because not much people understand mivec technology and how it works so what u will have to do is keep in contact with other mivec owners and talk about issues they encountered

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » June 16th, 2010, 8:33 pm

plus since when bess is ah mechanic???????????????????????????????

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » June 17th, 2010, 10:16 pm

Are the MIVEC engine mounts the same as the normal 4G92 mounts?

They look the same to me but then again i wear glasses

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » June 18th, 2010, 1:22 am

^^^ same mounts...

an SCHOLARS... yuh eh think is time yuh stop toating? yuh want back yuh money awa?

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » June 18th, 2010, 10:31 pm

yuh is meh padner i could give yuh ole talk

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » June 18th, 2010, 11:49 pm

i hear yuh de boss...

worries

Postby worries » June 20th, 2010, 3:19 pm

ah have ah 4g92 mivec in a cs2 looking to get somebody to tune she up

Postby Morpheus » June 28th, 2010, 1:09 am

Anyone upgraded/changed front rotors? Brand new or used? Solid or cross drilled and slotted?

I need to change soon as my front right side has some fine hairline cracks on it.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » June 28th, 2010, 9:00 pm

stock rotors will do jus fine

doh worry with that cross drilled and slotted nonsense unless u only running on a track

i believe the rotors are the same as the galant. Someone correct me if i'm wrong

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » June 30th, 2010, 3:53 pm

Nice thread guys...
The Galant VRG Rotors will work on the CK4/2 Mivec Lancers as I have swapped mine out with those already. I had the same hairline cracks on my front original rotors and had to change them out. Works perfectly. No complaints.
I was thinking of upgrading to the slotted ones but they are all aftermarket and am uncertain of the quality and endurance.

I am however looking to replace the front callipers if anyone knows where I an get them to buy...

Anyone knows where I can get some performance suspension for my application, original MR Lancer?...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » June 30th, 2010, 9:46 pm

You won't be able to buy specific aftermarket suspension parts for the MR

You'll have to rip parts out of an evo 4-6

What suspension mods specifically u looking at?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 29th, 2010, 9:26 am

i am looking for a mivec engine to replace the current one that i have ,any one knows where i can get one? its for a cb lancer

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » August 1st, 2010, 5:03 pm

Anyone here ever tried evoscan on a ck mivec?

I've heard its possible and i realise it's much cheaper than piggyback or standalone engine management

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » August 2nd, 2010, 4:03 am

[quote="Animal Pak"[/quote] Try it 1st nah & leh us no how it went? lol

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 2nd, 2010, 11:12 pm

has anyone hooked up an after market tach to there car? reason for asking my tach does not read right with the mivec engine.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 4th, 2010, 11:00 pm

just something i found while doing some research for my engine

. So here is another famous engine that most of the car enthusiasts would like to fit to their engine bay. What I am saying is the 4G92 MIVEC 1.6L engine. It is the first generation of the MIVEC system from Mitsubishi where they fitted to the Lancer, Cyborg R and Mirage Asti.

There are three types of engine specification throughout the entire life of the Mitsubishi MIVEC 4G92 first generation engine. There are the normal version MIVEC 170hp known as the silvertop, MIVEC-MD 170hp and the MIVEC RS 175hp(Rally Spec)also known as the blacktop.

I do not want to talk much about the normal version MIVEC since I believe you will be more familiar than me. So let us talk about the MIVEC-MD. MD stand for Modulated Displacement, a form of variable displacement. Under a light throttle load, the intake and exhaust valves in two of the cylinders would remain closed, and the reduced pumping losses gave a claimed 10–20 percent improvement in fuel economy. Unfortunately, the Modulated Displacement was dropped around 1996.

So what is so special about the MIVEC RS as known as Rally Spec? The power of the engine is rated at 175hp at the flywheel and here are some of the specification of the MIVEC RS.

RS version has:
Titanium valves
Different cam profiles
Different air intake
40kg weight reduction
Heavy duty gearbox output shaft
Heavy duty clutch linings
Different 5th gear ratio
Lightened flywheel
Quick shifter
Strengthened lower suspension arms, front and back, with heavy duty bushes
Reinforcing plates on trailing arms to increase camber rigidity
High ratio steering rack (2.9 vs 3.1)
Increased steering pump flow with cooler
Larger proportioning valve in brake master cylinder
Modified fuel tank reservoir outlet to reduce surge
Double accelerator return springs
Water cooled oil cooler
50mm extractors
High flow catalytic converter & low pressure muffler
Thinner glass
No ABS
No central door locking
Manual windows
Manual door mirrors
No rear wiper
No clock
One speed intermitent wipers
Air conditioning as an option
30mm less ground clearance
Stiffer shock settings
Front 15 inch 2 pot ventilated disc brake option
Helical LSD option
Choice of about 4 different computers
White only body with black mirrors
Extra body spot welds
Different centre console
Flame resistant interior
No boot carpet
No underseal

There are few different kind of ECU being used by MIVEC as well.
Mivec Silvertop (Normal version) ecu - 4828
Mivec Blacktop (RS version) ecu - 7035
Mivec SSilvertop MD ecu - 4829
Mivec Blacktop MD ecu - 7036
Mivec Japan Ralliart ecu - 2910
Mivec Hongkong Ralliart ecu - 2264

Hope this information will help those who wish to convert their engine to MIVEC 4G92 first generation.

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » August 16th, 2010, 11:05 pm

I am interested in the Evoscan if anyone tries it let me know the gains...
I was also thinking about the Piggybacks out there but uncertain if it will be worth it...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » August 17th, 2010, 8:05 pm

right now on mornings i have very poor idling.

I recently did a full service i.e oil & filter, tranny fluid & filter, serviced injectors, changed plugs and engine treatment.

Still my idling sucks, but only when the engine is cold. My mech told me d plugs i have are too 'cold'

I recently serviced throttlebody and my ISC and still the same.

Do you think it could be the plugs? I've heard that mivec original plugs are the best.

Any thoughts would be helpful.

I drive a stock ck mivec and my plugs are NGK iridium

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 18th, 2010, 9:35 pm

Sparkplugs: NGK BKR7EIX-11 (Iridium)
Service interval: 50,000km or more
NGK BKR7ES standard plugs and also works fine but has shorter life span
- Perhaps try a '6' heatrange if your engine is fouling plugs or your mostly doing city driving.

Got it off the mivec forum

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 18th, 2010, 9:37 pm

is anil good with mivec engines

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » August 19th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Exactly!!!!! which is exactly what made me decide to change my plugs to those at my service....

But now it idles even worse.....

????????

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 20th, 2010, 8:11 am

check your plug wires one might be bad

Postby Morpheus » August 20th, 2010, 10:42 pm

Anybody do a rebuild yet?
My padna getting low compression in cylinders 3 and 4. Seems to be valves. Because compression test results hardly change between dry and wet tests. That normally indicates leaky valves.

Looking for a head or head and block if push come to shove. Any info?

Postby Morpheus » August 22nd, 2010, 12:00 am

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 22nd, 2010, 1:54 pm

anybody have another number for anil ramdeen the 743-7830 number not working

xpress

Postby xpress » August 23rd, 2010, 8:35 pm

i have done a complete rebuild of my car to mivec specs and more...done a complete engine rebuild as well and i have a spare head and block that i am willing to sell...

ali
378-1356

Return to “MITSUBISHI”