GDi 4G93T, How To Upgrade?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Menace3.0

Re: GDi 4G93T, How To Upgrade?

Postby Menace3.0 » July 2nd, 2012, 1:04 pm

Some tuning tips for GDI 4G93 & GDI 4G93T engines:

ECUflash or Evoscan - reflash of ECU or adjust timing and fuel maps

Water Meth kit - it works. Apart from lowering air intake temperatures...if your using 49/51 mix...octane rating improves and you can take advantage of this by advancing timing a few degrees. Its like using race gas. GDI engines supposed to use 100RON gas. Apart from this you won't have the nasty carbon build-up commonly found in our local engines because of the high sulphur content of our gas. Check Snow Performance for the kits. They do have applications specially suited for mitsubishi vehicles with MAF sensors. Nuff thanks to Dave for the research done on this.

Adjustable Cam pulleys - used in conjunction with OEM or aftermarket cams awa your water meth kit would definitely net you some gains by advancing timing. (DNA Motoring of HKS)

Exhaust tuning would net you some gains as well....2 1/4" for NA 4G93 with 4-2-1 headers and 2 1/2" for turbo charge apps.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 9th, 2012, 11:47 am

Waiting on money to come along now, already have the parts to dig in it.

Will be using a turbo from the RB26, since it should have similar spool with the high compression.

Reflashing will be done and will be at 10psi.

Water/Meth kit will be installed and will be spraying as soon as it hits 4psi and over.

Currently installed is:
Mishimoto intercooler kit
HKS SSQV3 BOV
2.25" Full HKS Exhaust System with RS-R Barrel(for quiet driving, the silencer for some reason has the car more peppy than without it and it holds in the middle of 4 and 5 psi boost stead)
Adjusted the regulator a bit(mechanic did it, so i dunno what was done)
5 Hole Conversion with Bigger Brakes Front and Rear Disc brakes
EVO 5 Enkei Rims

Currently im getting 350 km's for 100$ gas with hard driving. Im sure i can get 450kms if i just drive with the GDi ECO light on (BUT THATS NOT POSSIBLE LOL)

I just had a big hold back with the newborn girl so its still a little waiting til time comes and money.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 9th, 2012, 3:06 pm

sometimes you really sound like a drug dealer...is like money just comes to you lol

isn't 10 psi a little high? what is the compression ratio? 10:1?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 9th, 2012, 6:41 pm

Compression is 11 i think.

These are parts i had from my last car that i never sold. Thats why i said as money comes. Right now im broke, so gotta use it as is. Dont got money to pay for install and tuning altho i can install and get stuff made myself, i don't got the time. Plus i don't ever if i have to, pay full price or original price on things, i dig and get deals from people all over. Benefits of being in the car world nonstop for 12 years :twisted:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 10th, 2012, 7:52 am

well this website says otherwise about the GDI 4G93T's compression ratio

http://www.carinf.com/en/b4c0415174.html

if 10:1 is true then it isn't overly high for boost compared to the 12:1 ratio from the n/a 4G93...if someone wants to go to d extreme and run even more boost they could custom make lower compression pistons and give it more boost if you able to change ECU settings to allow more fuel
Last edited by turbo_beast369 on August 10th, 2012, 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » August 10th, 2012, 8:23 am

i wanna do some upgrades on my CS wagon as well...
Can anyone point me in the direction of someone who does the ecu flash?

PM me a contact number too pls if possible

thanks

Jimmae

Postby Jimmae » September 8th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Hi,

I am in Australia and the Lancer Cedia is an extremely rare vehicle here. I have a 4G93T GDI engine and am looking for anything regarding factory ECU ROM or maps.

I have a MoTeC ready to go on but I need to create a base map first.

Greatly appreciate any help

Thank you

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 8th, 2012, 11:03 pm

Heard an easier way for turbo upgrade and a 10psi is the td04 wrx turbos! Make manifold or adapters and thats that, leave it stock settings.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » September 10th, 2012, 11:39 am

the turbo unit from the 4g93t GSR is td04L, and should be a direct bolt up if up get one from the engine with the tranny on the left side.

so u saying the factory settings should run the 10psi without upgrading fuel???

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » September 10th, 2012, 3:57 pm

Question peeps: changing from auto to manual using a mivec gearbox; is it a straight swap. i hear that GDI engines dont convert easily some sorta extra wiring/electrical s is involve. can seem to find any resources concerning this but i heard it cud be done. Thx

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 10th, 2012, 6:53 pm

^^I've heard about that but no one has been able to confirm, so the only way is if someone actually does it. I was distracted by this same talk and never did it and now i don't have the gearbox.

To me, the only thing i can guess will work properly is to rewire the shifter electronics to have it think its in manual/tiptronic mode right through.

If its true, the RPM will be able to rev right out, and the talk i heard is if u just put a gearbox, u are limited to about 5500-6000rpm so thats my only guess, rewiring the electronics by shifter to make the ecu think its in manual/tiptronic mode right through.

Regarding the turbo upgrade, if you want a noticeable performance/boost upgrade, the turbo from a wrx needs to be used, not the gsr 4g93t.

mr.Fete

Postby mr.Fete » September 10th, 2012, 7:28 pm

Ok.how does the tiproninc run anyway?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 11th, 2012, 7:50 am

the sports edition and ralliart models that carry the GDI 93T use the tiptronic tranny and even has a different ECU because of that as opposed to a CVT transmission in the regular GDI 93T wagons

so I would assume it should be easier to fool the tiptronic ECU from the ralliart models

a padna I know had a ralliart wagon and he installed a gearbox and it ran normal, even with high boost (he eventually mashed up d engine and gearbox tho lol) I don't know what gearbox he used...

point is, it can be done...u just have to find the right electrician who knows how to do it...

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » September 11th, 2012, 1:07 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:the sports edition and ralliart models that carry the GDI 93T use the tiptronic tranny and even has a different ECU because of that as opposed to a CVT transmission in the regular GDI 93T wagons

so I would assume it should be easier to fool the tiptronic ECU from the ralliart models

a padna I know had a ralliart wagon and he installed a gearbox and it ran normal, even with high boost (he eventually mashed up d engine and gearbox tho lol) I don't know what gearbox he used...

point is, it can be done...u just have to find the right electrician who knows how to do it...

Cool thx for the info guys. I'll look into it.

Eswarah

Postby Eswarah » September 30th, 2012, 6:40 am

excuse me i have GDI 4g93t too.....im just new to use that engine...i need advise to upgrade from beginnin....m

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » October 1st, 2012, 9:33 pm

a WRX TD04 and manifold upgrade soundin like a plan for meh 93T CM5A... @ stock setting, wud i encounter any probs seeing that the stock PSI on a GSR is 7lbs?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 1st, 2012, 9:44 pm

If its non gdi, i would assume you have a higher pressure pump and a regulator. Raise the fuel pressure a bit or if you have a SAFC or something, you can adjust from there but will increase duty cycle of injectors, which is not recommended.

I've heard the wrx turbo is set at 10psi? Not sure but im guessing it should be at 12-14psi or i could be wrong. If its really 12-14psi, well i would really say a higher pressure pump and regulator should be there, and if you can put an SAFC

raybic

Postby raybic » January 28th, 2013, 7:28 am

fellas check lancermotoringclub.com it has a cs5 section where all they talk bout is 4g93t and all the mods done to it. they have tuning shops for the gdi engine
messaged some fellas on that forum and they said to take the td04 wrx turbo compressor side and bolt it on the exhaust side of our stock turbo. it bolts bolt for bolt. goes up to 10psi.... he did say our ecu is set to go up to 10psi. after 11.5psi. u get boost cut. but he said 7psi issafe.....

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/forum ... CS5-Corner

fras

Postby fras » February 5th, 2013, 3:01 pm

EXODUS wrote:a WRX TD04 and manifold upgrade soundin like a plan for meh 93T CM5A... @ stock setting, wud i encounter any probs seeing that the stock PSI on a GSR is 7lbs?

The stock boost on 93T GSR is 10psi!

edpzwf

Postby edpzwf » January 9th, 2014, 1:09 pm

HI, all...
I need CS5W 4G93 GDI TURBO ECU Pinout, the engine already upgrade to CAR, but have
some problem...the A/C open RPM not UP...palese help me, TKS!

send my email 34953022@qq.com

edpzwf

Postby edpzwf » January 9th, 2014, 1:16 pm

I have a 2.0 Tactrix cable...but ECUFLASH Can't into

select what car mode into ECUFLASH? palese tell me, TKS!

xtech

Postby xtech » January 11th, 2014, 10:36 am

if u did your research you would know that the tactrix dont work with that ECU

RedHit

Postby RedHit » June 30th, 2016, 9:09 am

I have imported an 4g93T GDI and use it together with an 5 gear manual transmission in my Mitsu Carisma. Problem is: I had to use the N/A loom and ECU, but the engine is running ways to lean with that setup.
Which different ecu could fit?

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 30th, 2016, 2:38 pm

Why did you have to use the N/A loom and brain?

RedHit

Postby RedHit » November 21st, 2016, 5:37 pm

The engine loom was cut; I have an working NA loom with metal ecu box, but It does not run like I would like it..^^
I have the original 4g93T GDI A/T ECU as well, but I am seeing no way of fitting it in.
There is also the way of using an evo 8 ECU and loom, have both at home. But the EVO 8 dont have 1000ccm injectors like the GDI have, and also dont use single ignition coils like the GDI does. Also the EGR system would not be usable.

If I would have the pinout for the Stock GDI Turbo ECU, that would be a big help (If it runs without its mated Gearbox ;)).
Or if somebody know the injection timing of the GDI, and is able to programm the evo 8 ECU a bit. I could use the single could ignition paired, as it was a doubled one like the evos have.. At least I hope so. Could solve the first problem.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 23rd, 2016, 10:32 am

RedHit wrote:The engine loom was cut; I have an working NA loom with metal ecu box, but It does not run like I would like it..^^
I have the original 4g93T GDI A/T ECU as well, but I am seeing no way of fitting it in.
There is also the way of using an evo 8 ECU and loom, have both at home. But the EVO 8 dont have 1000ccm injectors like the GDI have, and also dont use single ignition coils like the GDI does. Also the EGR system would not be usable.

If I would have the pinout for the Stock GDI Turbo ECU, that would be a big help (If it runs without its mated Gearbox ;)).
Or if somebody know the injection timing of the GDI, and is able to programm the evo 8 ECU a bit. I could use the single could ignition paired, as it was a doubled one like the evos have.. At least I hope so. Could solve the first problem.

what's the ECU part number?

RedHit

Postby RedHit » November 23rd, 2016, 1:07 pm

The 4g93T GDI Ecu should be the MR578746, the EVO stock is the MR578746, and the N/A GDI Stock is the MD355869 (Metal Case) or (a bit work to do, but thats possible) MR420361 in plastic case.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 25th, 2016, 1:52 pm

RedHit wrote:The 4g93T GDI Ecu should be the MR578746, the EVO stock is the MR578746, and the N/A GDI Stock is the MD355869 (Metal Case) or (a bit work to do, but thats possible) MR420361 in plastic case.

send your email address, I will send you a wiring diagram but it's in Japanese so you might get a hard time reading but it's worth a try.

jay1980

Postby jay1980 » December 6th, 2016, 12:11 pm

RedHit wrote:I have imported an 4g93T GDI and use it together with an 5 gear manual transmission in my Mitsu Carisma. Problem is: I had to use the N/A loom and ECU, but the engine is running ways to lean with that setup.
Which different ecu could fit?

Hi

could you let me know the gearbox code of the 5 speed Manual you have mounted to your 4g93 GDI turbo please?

many thanks

Return to “MITSUBISHI”